Star Wars - Episode III: Revenge of the Sith [Special Edition]

Updated
 
8.8 (21)
4496 0 1 0 4

User reviews

21 reviews
 
62%
 
33%
 
5%
3-5 stars
 
0%
1-3 stars
 
0%
Overall rating
 
8.8
Audio/Video Quality
 
9.0(4)
Visual Editing
 
8.6(5)
Audio Editing
 
8.5(4)
Narrative
 
9.0(4)
Enjoyment
 
8.8(21)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Back to Listing
21 results - showing 16 - 20
1 2 3 4 5
Ordering
(Updated: September 11, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
10.0
Review by geminigod — June 26, 2010 @ 7:09 pm

flyboy707 hit it on the head pretty well. I too have watched all or the vast majority of the ROTS edits on this site, to the point where it began to get exhausting. I kept waiting for somebody to get this movie right so I could complete my Star Wars collection. Editors like Spence and JasonN would get certain aspects right but drop the ball in other scenes.

This edit, I believe is as close to perfect as this movie can get. It is a solid, clean edit with no technical problems to speak of (I have watched it twice and watched carefully). The audio and video quality is as good as it gets. But more importantly it takes Lucas’s vision and executes the truest representation of what I believe to be the intended goals of the movie with the footage available to work with.

There are many noteworthy scenes that are much improved from other edits I have seen. The ending is the most fundamental and striking improvement, but there are many more subtle alterations that are brilliant. The Mace-Palpatine fight improved, the Obi-Grevious fight improved, the Anakin-Dooku fight improved. More important though perhaps than any of these major changes is the subtle change in my perception of the characters and story. For the first time ever watching this movie I found myself caring and believing what I was seeing. For the first time ever I was actually able to suspend my disbelief just enough to possibly believe that the Jedi could be perceived as the traitors and that Anakin could turn to the dark side. This change in my perception was unexpected and wonderful.

As it goes in Hollywood, so it goes with Fanedits. There are many people who have mastered the technical aspects of making cinema but so very few who have mastered the art of good storytelling.

Excellent work Stankpac, and thankyou for giving me a version that I can happily put in between the Phantom Edits and Adywan’s Revisited.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
(Updated: September 11, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
9.0
Review by pizzaguylol — August 14, 2010 @ 6:59 pm

I liked the fact that getting to the ship was trimmed. No more buzz droid silliness. Just a good straight up entrance to Greivous’s command ship. I liked how they got to the observation deck quicker and that the fight with Dooku was more abrupt. I didn’t like how the line about wanting revenge was cut because it makes for an awkward cut “It is only natural” jump cut “Now we must leave… etc.”. A minor gripe, but I am glad the sand people mention was gone, for sure. Really liked how you spliced in the Episode I footage of the destroyer droids coming out. It was pretty seamless and removed R2′s slapstick.

Shortening their conversation seemed a bit unnecessary but I didn’t mind it that much. The other cuts (Jedi conversation and whatnot) are all good. Redundant crap we already know or stuff we don’t need to know.

Loved the Seeds of the Rebellion scene being added. No idea why they cut this scene, it connects to Episode IV very well. Mon Mothma having a bigger part is great. Also liked the other scenes you added in this area. It amazes me they weren’t used but others were. Also removing midi-chlorians… thank you! THANK YOU! THANK YOU!!! If a fanedit has midi-chlorians in them I just can’t keep it. Thank you very much for removing that godawful pseudo-science crap. Keep the force mysterious!

I liked the cuts on Utapau, although it felt weird to have Obi-wan go so long without saying anything during the Greivous fight. Not saying I don’t like it, but it was odd how he didn’t speak during that entire exchange.

Definitely liked tightening up the whole arrest scene. Always thought that seemed overly long and I HATED Palpatine’s overacting and all of the “no’s” he spouted out when he was about to zap Mace. Very impressive editing of the whole fight scene too, I might add. I liked how Palpatine just immediately killed those two Jedi and made short work of Plo Koon much more quickly. He IS the Dark Lord of the SIth, after all! The whole scene is just much quicker, tighter, and flows better. Anakin’s turn is much quicker and more believable. I do, however, wish you could have cut the “UNLIMITED… POWER!!!!” line from Palpatine. Always hated that. Doesn’t take too much away from the scene, though. Wish there was a way to get rid of some of the bad acting on Christensen’s part but hey you can only do so much. ;)

Cutting the younglings scene… Kind of iffy on this one. I always thought it really cemented just how twisted and evil Anakin had really become. I can live without it, though.

Removing the “Welcome, Lord Vader” line caused a bad jump cut… I know the line isn’t the best but the cut is really obvious. Having said that, was there any way to remove the “The war is over! Lord Sidious promised us peace–” line before Vader ices that guy? Just annoyed me how he didn’t just kill him immediately like the other guys.

Getting rid of Yoda’s saber usage is good. Removing the fight with Palpatine is very good. It was a cool visual but it really made no sense and added nothing of substance to the story.

The Mustafar Duel is now much quicker and better paced. I really liked what you did here. It flows very well. I especially liked how there was no “From my point of view the JEDI are evil!” and “I have the high ground!”. It jumps right from the fight into Anakin’s defeat and incineration. Nicely done.

Cutting the “she has lost the will to live” thing made me happy. Always thought that was a dumb cop out. I would have left in more of the Birth of Darth Vader scene. I really enjoyed that scene as it was the final death of Anakin and the true birth of Darth Vader as he breathes his first breath. That’s one thing I’d really like to see back but it doesn’t hurt my enjoyment at all. Very glad the “NOOOOOO” is gone.

Overall this is my favorite edit of Episode III, and while it isn’t perfect in terms of certain jump cuts sticking out and a few other things, its going to be my definitive Episode III for now. Very well done!

9/10
P
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 11, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
10.0
Review by zeroxdash - August 11, 2010 @ 9:20 pm

*This rating was given before reviews were required*
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 11, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
10.0
Review by vuolevi - August 6, 2010 @ 3:41 pm

*This rating was given before reviews were required*
V
1 reviews
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 11, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
9.0
Review by havok1977 - July 15, 2010 @ 12:07 am

*This rating was given before reviews were required*
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
21 results - showing 16 - 20
1 2 3 4 5