Superman Redeemed

Updated
 
8.6 (42)
7377 0 1 0 7

User reviews

42 reviews
 
52%
 
33%
 
10%
 
5%
1-3 stars
 
0%
Overall rating
 
8.6
Audio/Video Quality
 
8.3(18)
Visual Editing
 
9.1(17)
Audio Editing
 
9.1(17)
Narrative
 
8.5(18)
Enjoyment
 
8.5(42)
Back to Listing
42 results - showing 26 - 30
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9
Ordering
(Updated: September 11, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
8.0
Review by joebshmoe — November 19, 2009 @ 3:39 am

*This rating was given before reviews were required*
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 11, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
9.0
Review by neuralclone — August 12, 2009 @ 5:26 am

*This rating was given before reviews were required*
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 11, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
9.0
Review by Ripplin — August 1, 2009 @ 1:07 am

Not a whole lot more to say that hasn’t been said, so I’ll just say that this is among my top 3 fanedits ever! ADM did some of his best work on this one, using two far from perfect movies. The way the movies were blended together so cleverly, keeping all the best stuff and trimming the fat, is quite a feat. It’s a really fun watch and of course, the contribution that [the hopefully not late, but still great] Darth Editous made to the project is a sight to behold! (or not to behold, in a way) Oh, and I definitely disagree with aarkus, who suggests cutting the majority of the Smallville scenes. What for? They are part of what makes this edit fun and I would never want to see them removed. Besides, how short do you want the movie anyway? :p

Even if, like many, you know what III and IV are like, you should definitely give this a try. I’m SO glad I did! I have shared it with many people and they are all very impressed, to the point where they’ve written more about it than I have in one case.

I love this edit and I give it a 9 out of 10. Cannot recommend it highly enough!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 11, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
4.0
Review by aarkus — June 4, 2009 @ 1:54 pm

Just watched Superman Redeemed. First, this was my first ever viewing of a fanedit, and I have got to say, that in terms of quality, this was bar none, fabulous. If I didn’t know better, I would have thought this was a whole new cut of Superman IV (with elements of Superman II and III).

That aside, I felt like a good deal of the movie lacked a central narrative. It seemed very disjointed. I don’t think this is due to my memory of where the different pieces came from (It’s been years since I sat down and watched Superman II, III and IV). I understand the over-arching story that superman goes home and reacquaints himself with Lana (and all the Smallville stuff). I further understand the over-arching story of the atomic bombs and Superman’s quest for piece, and the idea for Nuclear Man’s corruption of Superman. I get these. However, I rather felt that in a movie–which needs to deal with fewer ideas than a novel or season of a tv show–that the collision of these two themes did not work well.

I also felt that the movie Superman Redeemed was more of Superman IV than III (and the beginning of II), and so if you were going to make this film tighter, I would advise cutting the majority of the Smallville scenes. The scene with the factory, for example, adds nothing to the story of superman’s quest for peace. Ditto for the cornfield and the key to the city. Furthermore, while my favorite part of Superman III was always superman being evil and then fighting himself, it just doesn’t seem to work in terms of NuclearMan’s corruption of Superman. Not only do Superman’s bad antics seem rushed, but the touch is not so noticeable. Perhaps if you had rotoscoped superman so that the viewers discovered that all of him glowed for several seconds… maybe that would have made the transition smoother.

In terms of disjointedness, it did occur to me, however, that these two films may have worked better had they been cut as episodes of a tv season of Superman. With expert cutting, you may be able to get away with half a decent tv series that successfully integrates both story arcs.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 11, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
9.0
Review by Istvan6 — May 24, 2009 @ 3:30 pm

*This rating was given before reviews were required*
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
42 results - showing 26 - 30
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9