Indiana Jones and the Temple of Doom: The InfoDroid Edit

 
8.8 (24)
1644   0   1   0   2

User reviews

24 reviews

 
(15)
 
(7)
 
(2)
3-5 stars
 
(0)
1-3 stars
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
8.8
 
9.2  (7)
 
9.4  (7)
 
9.3  (7)
 
8.2  (5)
 
8.7  (24)
Back to Listing
24 results - showing 1 - 5  
1 2 3 4 5  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
9.9
Audio/Video Quality 
 
9.0
Visual Editing 
 
10.0
Audio Editing 
 
10.0
Narrative 
 
10.0
Enjoyment 
 
10.0

July 29, 2012

This is was a brilliant edit for me. The changes to the structure and characters made me enjoy Temple of Doom in a whole new light. No longer do I have to watch Temple of Doom first when doing a marathon so as to not feel so let down after Raiders.

Highlights – New opening sequence, dinner scene and the no-heart scene. I personally love the heart scene in ToD but the movie works just as well without it.

This is a classic edit for a good reason. Top notch editing here as InfoDroid turns Temple of Doom into classic Indy.

User Review

Do you recommend this edit?
Yes
Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: September 12, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
9.0
Enjoyment 
 
9.0

May 24, 2009

*This rating was given before reviews were required*

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: September 12, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
9.0
Enjoyment 
 
9.0

October 24, 2009

While I’m a big fan of Raiders and Crusade, Temple of Doom always left me cold. I actually enjoy Short Round, but Willie drove me up the wall, and the rest of the movie didn’t seem worth the bother. Infodroid has rescued this movie for me. The quality of this fanedit is top notch, and I thought just about everything was spot on. Goodbye official version, hello ID edit. On a scale of 1 to 10 Frinks, this edit gets 9 Frinks.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: September 12, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
9.0
Enjoyment 
 
9.0

October 24, 2009

This is the ultimate version of this movie, for sure! ID did a great job of trimming the fat. While it’s still my least favorite of the first three Indy films, I do like it, especially this version. Very well done, sir! I give it a 9/10 for overall execution.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: September 12, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
9.0
Enjoyment 
 
9.0

November 28, 2009

I’d like to give this edit a 10/10 but…. well it’s Temple of Doom and no matter how remarkable and outstanding this edit makes Temple it’s still… Temple of Doom

ID did a tremendous job in rearranging the first scenes: The opening scene with Indy and his comrades passing through the Jungle with no dialog adds an aura of mystery and leaves the viewer eager to uncover what happened and how Indy got there – it is similar to the opening of Raiders with the exception that this time we are told what happened. Not to mention that this gets rid of the most atrocious Indy-openings ever (yes even beating American Graffity chase across the gopher’s hill)
Granted the flasback runs pretty long for a flashback, but i did only notice that because i accidentially moved the mouse and the progress bar of the player came in sight which made me wondering: wow that’s a pretty long sequence – other than that the cuts are well placed and the indy feel keeps on going.

I didn’t even notice the removal of the “ripping-out-the-heart” scene in the beginning as nothing of the story or threat for the characters gets lost by this removal, quite the contrary: we don’t know what they plan for Indy so this uncertainty has a similar effect as knowing what terrible things will happen if they fail

of course shortround is not really an outstanding character and will always be … the jar jar binks of indiana jones but ID has done the best to reduce his campyness

the only thing that bugged me – and this is a fault of the original – was the constant red lighting, it would be nice if someone tried a color corrected version where the oversaturated red is toned down of this fabulous work

9/10

Was this review helpful to you? 
24 results - showing 1 - 5  
1 2 3 4 5