Indiana Jones and the Temple of Doom: The InfoDroid Edit

Updated
 
9.0 (24)
4232 0 1 0 4

User reviews

24 reviews
 
75%
 
17%
 
8%
3-5 stars
 
0%
1-3 stars
 
0%
Overall rating
 
9.0
Audio/Video Quality
 
9.2(7)
Audio Editing
 
9.3(7)
Visual Editing
 
9.4(7)
Narrative
 
8.2(5)
Enjoyment
 
8.7(24)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Back to Listing
24 results - showing 6 - 10
1 2 3 4 5
Ordering
(Updated: September 12, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
9.0
November 28, 2009

I’d like to give this edit a 10/10 but…. well it’s Temple of Doom and no matter how remarkable and outstanding this edit makes Temple it’s still… Temple of Doom

ID did a tremendous job in rearranging the first scenes: The opening scene with Indy and his comrades passing through the Jungle with no dialog adds an aura of mystery and leaves the viewer eager to uncover what happened and how Indy got there – it is similar to the opening of Raiders with the exception that this time we are told what happened. Not to mention that this gets rid of the most atrocious Indy-openings ever (yes even beating American Graffity chase across the gopher’s hill)
Granted the flasback runs pretty long for a flashback, but i did only notice that because i accidentially moved the mouse and the progress bar of the player came in sight which made me wondering: wow that’s a pretty long sequence – other than that the cuts are well placed and the indy feel keeps on going.

I didn’t even notice the removal of the “ripping-out-the-heart” scene in the beginning as nothing of the story or threat for the characters gets lost by this removal, quite the contrary: we don’t know what they plan for Indy so this uncertainty has a similar effect as knowing what terrible things will happen if they fail

of course shortround is not really an outstanding character and will always be … the jar jar binks of indiana jones but ID has done the best to reduce his campyness

the only thing that bugged me – and this is a fault of the original – was the constant red lighting, it would be nice if someone tried a color corrected version where the oversaturated red is toned down of this fabulous work

9/10
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 12, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
9.0
June 14, 2010

*This rating was given before reviews were required*
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 12, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
9.0
July 11, 2010

Really liked this version of Temple Of Doom.

Not many changes had to be made to improve the movie really, so not much for me to write about. I think the new opening was a great idea and I agree with the removal of a couple of the ‘gross-out’ scenes.
M
Top 500 Reviewer 12 reviews
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Overall rating
 
9.0
Audio/Video Quality
 
10.0
Audio Editing
 
10.0
Visual Editing
 
10.0
Narrative
 
8.0
Enjoyment
 
7.0
while the second indy film doesn't get much love i actually prefer this over the third film. perhaps it's because this film feels completely different from the previous film while crusade always felt more like a direct sequel to raiders. infodroid once again present another great fanedit, however some of the stuff that has been cut i rather enjoyed while short round and willie still have some annoying moments. not a fanedit to replace the original and a enjoyable watch overall

User Review

Do you recommend this edit?
Yes
Format Watched?
DVD
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 17, 2012)
Overall rating
 
9.0
Audio/Video Quality
 
8.0
Audio Editing
 
10.0
Visual Editing
 
10.0
Narrative
 
9.0
Enjoyment
 
8.0
November 29, 2011

All in all, nice work.

Technical quality – 8/10 – I don’t know if it’s just me, but it didn’t quite measure up to what I usually see on a FE. But it was still good enough not to detract from the viewing experience.

Editing – 10/10 – Absolutely seamless. One of the best edit jobs I’ve seen so far.

Presentation – 10/10 – Great. No issues.

Entertainment – 8/10 – I liked the start, although the flashback seemed just a little abrupt. I loved the way you trimmed the journey to Pankot, but some things could have used a little more trimming, like Willie and her elephant. The removal of the monkey brains and the heart was perfect; I thought it was great how the drums built up to the unveiling of the stones. But from then on out, I hardly noticed any changes. I’ve seen the film three or four times, but the scenes all seemed the same to me, maybe I just wasn’t paying close enough attention. Anyway, I think it’s a bit more entertaining than the original.

Overall – 9/10
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
24 results - showing 6 - 10
1 2 3 4 5