Superman: Son of Jor-El

Updated
 
9.1 (25)
7702 0 1 0 11

User reviews

25 reviews
 
80%
 
20%
5-7 stars
 
0%
3-5 stars
 
0%
1-3 stars
 
0%
Overall rating
 
9.1
Audio/Video Quality
 
9.4(14)
Audio Editing
 
9.5(10)
Visual Editing
 
9.1(11)
Narrative
 
8.5(10)
Enjoyment
 
8.9(25)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Back to Listing
25 results - showing 11 - 15
1 2 3 4 5
Ordering
(Updated: September 12, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
9.0
Review by tylerdurden389 — December 23, 2010 @ 11:32 pm

I’m watching SOJE so that I can give my comments as I watch. I personally prefer silence over the Chris Reeve dedication, like the dedication to Stuart Baird from the first film. I just didn’t like how both The Richard Donner Cut and Returns have the music of the film already playing, when the film hasn’t technically started yet.

Don’t care for the Returns shots of Krypton. The effects are too modern compared to everything else in the film. Again, personal preference. Not much to say about the Krypton scenes. I personally didn’t care for the extended dialogue. If the purpose of this edit was to combine the two films into one by trimming the fat, why put back in what was removed in the first place?

I must say I LOVE these opening credits. However, one little nitpick is, I don’t like how the letters seem to “come over us” before appearing in front. The letters “curve” before they come in. Whereas in S1 it’s like the letters come around the camera from all angles. Other than that, these new opening credits are great. Though on my crappy computer speakers the music wasn’t loud enough. It sounded like the sound effects were louder. I especially loved the ending where you timed the last fanfare with the crash (though the fanfare of the trumpets seemed to be cut short. Small audio cue mishap that only nitpickers like myself notice)

Nothing much to say about Smallville. I like that you took out the little girl being Lois Lane, but growing up on the theatrical version, I don’t feel it’s necessary for this extended scene at all.

Onto Metropolis. I never cared for the extended scene of Clark introducing himself to the worker next to him and Jimmy getting him a towel. That awkward moment of Clark and Lois staring at each other unnerved me. Plus, since the purpose of this edit was to have Lois figure it out much quicker, I think for the purpose of this cut we’re better off NOT seeing Clark introduce himself to other people. Again, nitpicking.

Gotta say, I love the new music cues for Superman launching the rocket into space. Though I do wish you had done something about the missile suddenly spinning out of control. I think it would’ve been so much better if Michael Thau had simply let the missile crash into the Phantom Zone.

Moon scene. I don’t like cutting out Ursa’s lines. I understand there’s no sound in space, but for a movie like this I’m able to suspend disbelief. Also, I would’ve moved this scene for after the interview/flight scene. Maybe do it this way:

- Superman’s first night
- Daily Planet
- Interview
- Missile Launch
- Villains freed
- Then go right to the moon scene.

The abrupt change in tone doesn’t work for me. It’s odd watching Superman talk to Lois when we just saw what happened on the moon. From a story perspective, I think this order works better. Also, instead of doing a fade cut to the next morning I would’ve simply done an establishing shot of Manhattan after Clark shuts the door.

I see I’m not the only one who dislikes Ursa pronouncing it “Hooston”. Blame Lester for that one, as I’m sure he had Sarah re-dub her lines just like Stamp for a more comedic effect (which of course doesn’t work). It’s funny how in the Donner Cut we got to hear some of the actor’s original readings of their lines, yet there’s still a lot of dubbed lines in the DC.

When I got to the screen test I initially thought it was bad to cut out a Superman scene, but of course, cutting out as much Lester scenes as possible helps with the overall tone to the film. Lois’ character is so different in Lester’s 2 scenes that it’s probably better to cut it.

Can’t comment on “skunksweat”, as it’s been beaten to death already.

I hate losing Superman explaining his past to Lois, but again, difference in character.

Nice job losing “The whole planet Hooston?”

I think I’m the only editor on S2 to notice that the Donner Cut version of the helicopter crashing has 3 frames that repeats right before the explosion. Of all the things Michael Thau did wrong editing the DC, that’s the one that bothers me the most. Amateur.

Ya know it’s funny, I forgot all about Lex until he showed up. Not gonna comment on Lex knowing of Jor-el, the FOS, and so on.

I would’ve cut Lois saying “Lex Luthor”, since they don’t know anything about him in this cut.

Bad audio cut for the reaction shot from Lois and Perry when Supes crashes into the air vent (after Non punches him). Also I never liked the cut of Ursa grabbing Supes by the neck but in the next shot she’s gone. Whether it’s the DC Supes punching Non, or LC of Non grabbing Supes from behind, neither work for me.

THANK YOU for cutting Reeve’s smirk when he says “Don’t do it!! The people!!” Of all the S2 edits here, I think this is now only the 3rd or 4th to do that.

I have no problem with Lois knowing his secret in the end (as my cut does the same), but leaving her in tears and then cutting to the Superman theme just seems morbid to me. Also, why show the beginning of the credits, then show the diner revenge scene? If anything, maybe an after-credits Easter egg would’ve worked.

So there’s my thoughts. Other than the little nitpicks pointed out (as well as my own feelings on DC footage in general), this was a damn fine edit. I gave it a 9 out of 10.
T
Top 500 Reviewer 13 reviews
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 12, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
9.0
Review by bionicbob — January 1, 2011 @ 11:33 pm

The following review is based upon my viewing of the Single Layer dvd release,
and be warned, if you have not seen the edit yet,
there will be SPOILERS in the review.

“Rocketed to Earth from the doomed planet Krypton, the baby Kal-el was found and raised by Jonathan and Martha Kent in Smallville, Kanas. Now an adult, Clark Kent fights for Truth, Justice and the American Way as SUPERMAN!!!”

We all know the legend.
But never before has a Fan Edit so perfectly captured and retold the core Superman story of his Kryptonian origins!

L8wrtr and Jelio have created a wonderfully entertaining tale in their merging of Superman One and Two.
I found the entire viewing experience to be highly enjoyable and engaging.

The newly created Opening Credits are fantastically done.
Kudos for putting Chris Reeve’s name up first, it is well deserved!

The transition from the Fortress of Solitude to the Metropolis cab ride (Otis who?) is perfect.

The making of the Missile Toss as just another part of Superman’s first day on the job is brilliant.
Having Superman fly into the Metropolis sunrise towards the daylight missile crisis is very clever.
Though one will have to assume Metropolis is somewhere on the West Coast since it is only dawn there
and clearly full morning at the missile launch. Which is no big deal since on the tv series Smallville,
Clark’s home town is clearly stated to be in Kanas, and Metropolis is only around an hour commute away,
and yet Metropolis is clearly built along an ocean coast line!
…. hhmmmm…. geography in the DC Universe is very different than that of our world!

The swapping out of the Daily Planet Newspaper headline of Superman defeating Luthor
with the “I Spent A Night With Superman” was a very smart edit.

The infamous Niagra Falls hotel scene….. I have gone on the record before that this scene bugs me.
It bugged me in the official Donner Cut and it bugged me in the Booshman edit.
I fully acknowledge the scene is better written and acted than the Lester version,
but continual switching of Clark’s hair, glasses and overall physique I find very distracting and
breaks the “reality” the scene for me.
That said, I will admit, of all the versions I have seen (both official and editted),
this the strongest and most effective use of the Donner Hotel scene.
And that is entirely because of how cleverly L8 and Jelio have reconstructed the narrative–
well done guys!

Regarding the Moon and First Date timeline, I can see why some viewers have brought up the issue.
It might have been nice if the Moon sequence had resumed after the date ended and before the Newspaper
headline scene, but I think the timeline works either way. Zod and his co-horts are so Evil, I can easily see them up there on the Moon teasing and torturing the poor astronauts for hours and days on end until they got bored.
It is a creative choice and as a viewer I had no real issue with it.

As to the whole Lex Luthor controversy.
I think both L8wrtr and Jelio have clearly stated their reasoning
for their creative choice in this matter, and I see no reason to debate it.
It is their edit and I respect choice.

The 28 Hours scene is a FANTASTIC and a BRILLIANT choice.
This scene alone truly clarifies and deepens Kal-el’s relationship with Jor-el
and makes Jor-el’s final embrace/sacrifice all that more powerful.
BRAVO!!!

In regards to the ending, I think (like Booshman) it was a smart move having Lois retain knowledge
of Kal-el’s duel identities, it adds both a sad and hopeful lyrical quality to the story. Nice music replacement during the Kiss too!!!

All in all, an excellent edit.
Technically, I did not notice any significant issues, though I did only watch it on my computer screen and not on a fullscreen tv with stereo sound.

I think the new narrative in regards to Kal-el’s relationships with both Lois and Jor-el is poignant
and by far the best rendition of it I have come across thus far.

If you are Superman Fan,
a definite must see.
Thumbs Up!

I would give it a final score of 8.5 out of 10!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 12, 2012)
Overall rating
 
9.0
Audio/Video Quality
 
9.0
Enjoyment
 
9.0
Review by Captain Khajiit — January 18, 2011 @ 8:37 pm

Bigger Superman fans that I have described the edit’s strengths and weaknesses. I very much like rather than love the original films, so perhaps I do not feel as strongly about what should and should not have gone in. The idea was interesting and the execution showed thought and care.

Video
The video was acceptable. The overall quality was above average. 8 out of 10

Audio
Very good! 9 out of 10

Presentation
Fantastic covers, a very nice static main menu, awful tiny scene selection preview boxes. 8 out of 10

Entertainment
I found this both interesting and entertaining. The faneditors had a consistent vision for the edit that they implemented successfully and showed good judgment in their selection of material. Like Brumous, I approve of the collaborative nature of the project. 9 out of 10

Overall 9 out of 10
Thank you for an immensely enjoyable edit! This is essential viewing for Superman fans and highly recommended to everyone else.
C
Top 500 Reviewer 33 reviews
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 12, 2012)
Overall rating
 
9.0
Audio/Video Quality
 
9.0
Enjoyment
 
9.0
Review by Wraith — January 27, 2011 @ 12:24 am

WELL WELL WELL….In the 1980s I pulled these two movies together on 2 VHS machines, and for 30 years refined the dream privately to 3.5hours… and then YOU GUYS came along and did the unthinkable….Goodbye Lex!!! Genius.

Video
The video was reasonable, clear and well reporoduced and rendered and certainly comparable to the better edits out ther so 8 out of 10

Audio
9 out of 10. Nothing really jarred appart from a couple of music segues which could be tweaked

Presentation
8 out of 10, crisp, professional and to the point

Entertainment
This will sound so silly, even “why bother commenting” but it is an area that is easy to ignore and some edits suffer from it….(but not this puppy)…AWESOME TITLE SEQUENCE…..of lord you kill me…The film was great and I can’t and wont add to the extensive positive comments above which I agree with 100%…BUt the TITLES WERE GREAT…AUTHENTIC< FLAWLESS AND PROFESSIONAL….It is one of the reasons I kept my clumsy version private…no credible opening…I have 20 or so edits that will never see the light of day for a varieth of reasons, but the one thing that will pull a viewr out of the experince is a poorly executed title sequence…GENIUS guys…(I rewatched them 3 time berfor the rest of the movie…how sad is that)….

so overall 9 out of 10
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 12, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
9.0
Review by baileym43 — March 4, 2011 @ 4:32 pm

So yeah, I watched this the other day and i loved it. That opening sequence was amazing. The missile thing was cool. just another thing he did to save the day. Sure you notice the image quality is a tad better, but who cares. All the annoying comedy is gone, except for Clark, but he’s supposed to be goofy. It makes sense Lois figured out the big mystery so soon because she’d had the most contact with them both. Lex, sure, was a bit abrupt and out of nowhere, he does have that small bit of throwaway dialog explaining himself, “I’m the best there is.”, but there could have been some small clips or glimpses at him earlier on. Not of him doing anything, but just to show us that he’s there and is watching Superman. Then we assume he’s doing his own background research. In fact, the way it is, Lex has almost been set up as a fanedit sequel villain.


Now as said earlier how it’s logical that Zod’s gang spent so much time on the moon tormenting the astronauts, I thought they were up there way to long. There was to much cutting back to them still on the moon. But that’s it. My only two gripes. You put two entire movies together and it turned out amazing, better than the two movies by themselves. The ending was great, entirely believable and poignant, and dramatic. They became people instead of just characters. The easter egg diner scene was cool too, though would have been better placed at the end of the credits.

Technically flawless as far as I noticed, (except for the missile thing earlier). The dvd extras were really fun too. I love the extra effort with those.

9 from 10 for me. It never once made me look at the clock.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
25 results - showing 11 - 15
1 2 3 4 5