Silent Hill: Red God Remix

 
5.2 (7)
1084   0   1   0   0

User reviews

7 reviews

 
(3)
 
(1)
 
(2)
3-5 stars
 
(0)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
5.2
 
4.0  (1)
 
5.0  (1)
 
2.0  (1)
 
2.0  (1)
 
7.3  (7)
Back to Listing
7 results - showing 1 - 5  
1 2  
Ordering 
 
(Updated: September 13, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
8.0
Enjoyment 
 
8.0

Review by kboy930 — January 22, 2009 @ 3:33 am

*This rating was given before reviews were required*

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: September 13, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
6.0
Enjoyment 
 
6.0

Review by joebshmoe — November 29, 2009 @ 8:13 am

*This rating was given before reviews were required*

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: September 13, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
6.0
Enjoyment 
 
6.0

Review by havok1977 — June 14, 2010 @ 8:49 pm

*This rating was given before reviews were required*

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: November 20, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
2.0
Audio/Video Quality 
 
4.0
Visual Editing 
 
5.0
Audio Editing 
 
2.0
Narrative 
 
2.0
Enjoyment 
 
1.0

Review by ThrowgnCpr — August 4, 2009 @ 3:26 pm

It seems as though I may have seen a different edit than white43, because my experience was completely different. I will start off by saying that my DVD copy came directly from the faneditor, so I know I didnt have a bad burn or anything. Also I want to state that while I have a copy of the original, I have yet to watch it. If the edit sounds promising, I try to watch it before the theatrical version so I am not spoiled as much.

video: 6/10 – This seemed like a poor encode. The blacks were noticeably pixelated and light, and the letterboxing was really noisy. Distracting at times.

audio: 2/10 – While I didn’t notice any hard cuts, the audio needed a lot of work still. As I mentioned above, I have not gotten around to watching the original yet, so my first complaint may be present in the original (needs attention though). The score was really loud choppy and overbearing. It seemed chaotic and overpowered the film. Again this may be in the original, but it was quite distracting. Also about 25 minutes into the movie the audio went out of sync. It was quite noticeable and I am amazed that no one else commented on it. It was distracting enough that I had to turn the DVD off.

entertainment: 1/10 – The beginning of the film really makes no sense if you are not completely familiar with the original or the video game. Its really jumpy and poorly set up. The original may be like that, but fanedit or original, it certainly doesnt make for a good movie. Between the poorly mixed score, the jumpy beginning, and sync issues I had to shut the DVD off. I know JasonN has gotten some very nice reviews for his work, so I was looking forward to this. However I was really disappointed. It will be hard for me to get the courage to pop in the original DVD now.

I do recommend that the editor take another look at this. The technical problems (primarily the audio sync) really needs to be addressed.

overall rating: 3/10. Not recommended

User Review

Do you recommend this edit?
No
Format Watched?
DVD
Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: September 13, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
10.0
Enjoyment 
 
10.0

Review by white43 — February 3, 2009 @ 12:44 am

The last time I saw Silent Hill was some awful TS version where half the time I couldn’t see what was going on – because of this, I could barely remember the plotline – so this is somewhat fresh. I do remember it being slightly convoluted in places regarding the storyline.

First up – the picture is nice and clean and images sharp.
The sound seemed fine to me, but I don’t have a 5.1 or anything just your standard 2.0.

The editing – well, I didn’t notice a single thing. Not a single thing, no audio out of place or harsh cuts. Nothing there. I had to come back here to read what Jason had chopped. So seamless.

I enjoyed the film immensely and it all made perfect sense.

A few things worth considering.

- The very start of the film is still intact which means – Sean Bean is still intact. That entire scene for me is redundant and better left on the cutting floor. We don’t then get Sean Bean and a clue as to what’s going on. And as Sean is NOT in the rest of the film, the start feels a bit wrong. IMPO, start it with Rose and Sharon in the field.

- Now I don’t know if this was in the original (and it might have been) but there did seem to be a couple plot holes:
* – Rose locks herself in the bathroom, but then seemingly runs out without unlocking.
* – Rose is outside, runs away from anvil-head thing and is suddenly in a corridor.
* – How does the policewoman know her name is Rose?

It could be that these holes were in the original – so clarification would be good.

Overall – I really enjoyed this – I didn’t miss Sean Bean at all, which goes to prove how bolted on he was. No real problems except the above. 5/5

Was this review helpful to you? 
7 results - showing 1 - 5  
1 2