Quantum of Solace: Bond’s Revenge

 
8.3 (17)
3168   0   1   0   3

User reviews

17 reviews

 
(2)
 
(13)
 
(2)
3-5 stars
 
(0)
1-3 stars
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
8.3
 
9.2  (12)
 
8.6  (11)
 
9.5  (8)
 
8.2  (9)
 
7.8  (17)
Back to Listing
12 results - showing 1 - 5  
1 2 3  
Ordering 
 
(Updated: February 12, 2014)
Overall rating 
 
8.6
Audio/Video Quality 
 
10.0
Visual Editing 
 
10.0
Audio Editing 
 
10.0
Narrative 
 
8.0
Enjoyment 
 
8.0

i was a fan of solace i thought it was a good entry in the series, i think people give it a bad name because it come out after casino royale.
it had some really good action that Danial Graig put his body threw hell for.
Dominic green had an evil look in his eyes but a geeky look to him.
it had an evil corporation (solace). it was just made in a writers strike.

i really liked this edit.
but i think the intro car chase could have been left in and had the vaspar scenes in the full version of the car chase, and i would not have slowed down the rooftop chase (it was the first time i heard my wife make noises and getting in to a movie as much as me), this is one of my wife's faverate bond movies. i think the remembering vaspar scenes were a little to long in the intro.

now that the bad is out of the way, i will say the good.
the new title song works great its a perfect fit, all the other scenes cut and trimmed and slow downs work excellent.
the editing is topnotch could not tell that they were taken out or cut.
this is a perfect edit of a bond movie people hate and for those people they will love this edit, i will watch this edit most of the time. it is that good.
but me and the wife we love the theatrical cut just as much.

good work lastsurvivor this is another perfect edit from a master editor.
i look forward to your next edit.

User Review

Do you recommend this edit?
Yes
Format Watched?
DVD
Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: September 12, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Audio/Video Quality 
 
10.0
Enjoyment 
 
4.0

Review by Phlegmbot — November 19, 2011 @ 12:23 am

The opening montage/re-cap was an obvious and necessary addition that, as we all agree, was a bizarre thing to leave out of the original. My problem with your re-cap, however, was that it started off with a linear telling of what happened and moved to a parallel re-telling — which was confusing. Perhaps you were trying to ape some of the techniques used by Forster later in the film? I dunno, but removing that would’ve made it shorter which is a complaint of several others.

I haven’t watched QOS since it first came out on DVD, so I can’t say I fully recall what was changed scene for scene, but this version is FAR more clear in its storytelling. There’s an actual plot for one, and not just random action-scene after action-scene. Whereas the QOS in the theaters felt like just a mish-mash of unnecessary action scenes, this feels like a Bond movie. Which is amazing.

I wasn’t thrilled w/the slow-mo action sequence at the opera. While I liked its creativity — and agree that it was necessary to differentiate it from the other fast-paced action scenes we’d already seen — using different music was jarring and not showing the shot that frustrated M until he was on the phone w/M was, structurally, an error in storytelling. I agree with a critique above which states there were a few too many flashbacks in the scene as well.

However, nearly all of act 1 and act 2 were perfect. You really did a great job of clarifying the action sequences and making it feel like a great spy movie — something sorely missing from the original QOS.

I don’t recall how much slo-mo — if any — was in the actual film, but by the THIRD use of the slo-mo here, I was starting to think I was watching a ’70s B-movie.

In act 3, it completely fell apart when you interrupted the CLIMAX to self-indulge in further slo-mo and sepia-tone and a flashback (in the middle of the climax?!). It seemed like a snub, not just to your audience, but to proper storytelling and story structure. It just didn’t work as those were simply choices that made no sense. To stop the action for an artistic moment, and one that was not related to Bond directly, is just not how a climax works.

Technically, this was a 10. Audio and video, and the great song by Pink, were top-notch. I think there were 3 jarring edits, and it’s possible two of those weren’t even yours (again, I’ve not watched the DVD since it came out, but I do not recall having that reaction to any edits). So kudos on all that! Storytelling/structure issues are a VERY common problem among FanEdits, but this one was closer to getting it right than most others.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: September 12, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
8.3
Audio/Video Quality 
 
10.0
Enjoyment 
 
8.0

Review by QuickCut — February 1, 2012 @ 12:30 am

Nice job! This isn’t quite my preferred version of QoS, but it’s still a great edition.

Technical quality – 10/10 – I didn’t notice any audio problems, and the video was perfect. Unlike Aztek463, I didn’t notice any frame rate problems, but maybe I’m just not looking close enough. Either way, it didn’t detract from the entertainment at all.

Presentation – 10/10 – the cover art is nice and the menus are really good – lots of pictures and some good soundtracks.

Entertainment – 8/10 – what I liked: the Vesper flashbacks (ESPECIALLY in the opening sequence), the new title song, and the trimming of the action sequences. The Vesper flashbacks alone are enough to make this a great edit. The new title song is amazing as well. There are, however, a few things I didn’t like as much: first of all, the gun barrel cutting to Bond and Camille in the desert. I know it could be hard to put a new scene in there, but if it could be done, it really would help this edit. Next, the title sequence should have come after “Bond, James Bond.” Not a real big deal, but it would have been the more natural place. The flashbacks in the opera house with Bond thinking about Vesper in the shower would have been better placed when Mathis is talking about forgiveness. The black-and-white at the end was a little too abrupt and somewhat unnecessary. And the original version of Greene’s fate was better. Although I’ve spent most of this paragraph pointing out things that could be changed, most of them aren’t big deals and thus I still give this 8/10 for entertainment because there are many parts that improved over the original. For people who haven’t seen Casino Royale, this is perfect.

Overall – 8/10

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: September 12, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
8.9
Audio/Video Quality 
 
10.0
Visual Editing 
 
7.0
Enjoyment 
 
9.0

Review by havok1977 — May 27, 2011 @ 5:34 am

So I felt in the mood for some Bond tonight, and of my pending fanedit queue i decided to go with this release from LastSurvivor; whom I’ve gotten a bit acquainted with lately due to his feedback of my work in progress.

Bearing in mind that these are just my personal opinions with no other intent than expressing myself, lets dive right…

VIDEO quality: Very good. I could not notice any significant difference between this and most of the SD discs that I own.

I see that Aztek mentions an issue with different speeds which are not noticeable to me, PAL to NTSC conversion is something I have not personally dealt with and can not really make a proper assessment. In full disclosure I watch DVDs using an upscaling stand alone player which does some nice signal cleaning, which could be a mitigating factor.
With this present I still give video a 9/10

AUDIO quality: Again it is great, this being made off fairly recent and high profile/budget movies means that the audio sources should and are of prime quality. The editing is flawless with no noticeable issues even thou there are some significant replacement of dialogue lines at many spots in the edit. Much effort and patience goes into accomplishing this level of polish and so: 10/10

EDITING / ENJOYMENT : LastSurvivor took on a movie which I hoped someone would fix and I have to say that his labors yielded quite a good final product. Here are some points i would like to highlight:

- The whole reason for this movie to exist is Vesper and Bond’s truncated relationship, his subsequent grief and the way he deals with what happened. It is a good thing to bring this to the foreground, and I felt that the new pre-credits sequence does a great job at this (the use of B&W and color was quite effective here)

And yet I felt the hammer falling on my head too often hitting me with the same point during the rest of the edit than I think is good – specially the flashback at the Opera house, which in turned made the escape feel non existent.

- Still about the opening sequence, I felt some more of the actual car chase was missing, just a tad. And a small thing that should also be mentioned is that during one of Vesper’s voice overs she is actually in frame with her lips out of sync, and it just felt a bit off.

- Fine choice with the theme song, it fits very well; kudos to the person whom you mentioned suggested it. To be honest I walked in biased here because I have never cared for the pop singer behind it, expecting to hate it; guess it would have been one of those cases of better off not knowing

- A great job was made to tone down the speed of the many action sequences that are present in the original release by using a clever choice of music and a semi slow camera that makes things feel somehow more real, yet I felt that the last one did not need so much of this treatment and therefore did not have the impact i would have expected, and the small flashback for Camille in there felt out of place to me.

- As it was surely planned, by consequence of the action sequence rearrangement the rest of the movie has a much better pace and the actual spying is properly showcased now. Very well done.

- There is a change in the final act that was honestly not to my liking: Greene’s fate. I understand that this is a matter of personal preference, but I have to say that I preferred the original version.

Because of these opinions, for me this is a 7/10.

DVD Authoring: efficient and right up my alley

Final score for me: 8.5/10. Original: 6.5/10
All in all I did quite enjoy the new take and the disc will have a place on my fanedits shelf

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
8.8
Audio/Video Quality 
 
10.0
Visual Editing 
 
10.0
Audio Editing 
 
10.0
Narrative 
 
9.0
Enjoyment 
 
8.0

THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS
(none of my comments are meant as a personal attack on the faneditor, these are simply my opinions and feedback)

So I finally watched LastSurvivor’s fanedit: Quantum of Solace: Bond’s Revenge. Let me start off by saying some things about Daniel Craig as Bond and my impressions of the original Quantum of Solace. I first saw Daniel Craig in Layer Cake. When I heard he was casted as the new Bond I was frankly a little disappointed as I felt a perfect candidate for the new Bond was Clive Owen. However, I saw Casino Royale in theaters and really enjoyed. There was the great opening. Lots of good action, and a grittier less refined Bond which was refreshing. Casino Royale was not without its flaws (Faneditor Kerr’s Casino Royale: Straight Flush Edition addressed many of these flaws IMO).

So then I watched Quantum of Solace. Hmmm no gun barrel Bond opening. A parallel action sequence of a horse race in Italy with an interrogation of Mr. White and a chase scene (which i found kind of unneeded, I would have rather that parts with the horse race been taken out all together). The horrible opening credits song. The Bourne style action sequences which were often to fast to follow and left you quite dizzy. This was clearly not a great follow-up to Casino Royale. So i finished the movie feeling that it was ok. Not great, not awful.

Enter Quantum of Solace: Bond’s Revenge. As usual, I did not read the cutlist before watching. But I did read the intention for the edit so had some idea of what i was in for. First off Gun Barrel opening! Yes! If nothing else, this fanedit is worth watching to see the revamped opening scene and the new opening credits song. LastSurvivor picked a great choice of song, the tempo and mood really fits the mold of previous Bond songs. The new opening sequence was good. The flashbacks give a good recap. Although in my opinion, it was a bit long. Other than that I liked the sequence. I think LastSurvivor picked the perfect place to insert the opening credits and song. As I was watching the original i thought to myself as Bond was hanging on the rope and looked up and fired the gun “this would be a great spot to end the intro and start the song and opening credits” LastSurvivor must have read my mind. The climax with the fight scenes with Bond versus Green and Camille versus the General were. Well done. 1) it was nice to see the slo-mo so you could see what was going on 2) the inserts of flashbacks reminded the viewer of the emotional motivations for both Bond and Camille (which was part of LS’s intention with this edit).

There were some interesting choices made with slow motion such as the parachute scene which if IIRC was not slo-mo in the original. The insertion of the brief Vesper flashback, in the scene where Bond is leaving the opera after interrupting the meeting of the Quantum group, was a little out of place. I guess Bond briefly staring down Green and knowing Green had some part in Vesper’s death warranted a flashback but my personal opinion was that it didn’t quite fit. The choice to not directly show Bond dropping the bodyguard off the rough and instead do it in split screen wth M talking to Bond on the phone, that worked quite well. Finally, the cutting out of Bond driving Green out into the dessert and leaving him the cannister and driving away. I definitely didn’t miss this scene, and the little cut necessary to take out M’s allusion to it in her conversation with Bond at the end of the movie was expertly done.

Overall I found this an enjoyable fanedit, in my opinion better than the original, but still I find something lacking in Quantum of Solace even after being fanedited.

Video and Audio quality were great, no jarring cuts, no audio drops outs.


LastSurivor, good work on this edit! You had a plan and clear idea of what you wanted to accomplish and in my opinion you definitely achieved your goal. Congrats!

Was this review helpful to you? 
12 results - showing 1 - 5  
1 2 3