Lord of the Rings, The: Book I - The Return of the Shadow

Updated
 
9.4 (43)
7276 0 1 0 11

User reviews

10 reviews with 7-9 stars
43 reviews
 
72%
 
23%
 
5%
3-5 stars
 
0%
1-3 stars
 
0%
Overall rating
 
9.4
Audio/Video Quality
 
9.5(9)
Visual Editing
 
9.9(9)
Audio Editing
 
9.7(9)
Narrative
 
9.7(9)
Enjoyment
 
9.1(43)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Back to Listing
10 results - showing 1 - 5
1 2
Ordering
(Updated: September 16, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
7.0
Review by brauventura1 — December 17, 2009 @ 12:41 am

*This rating was given before reviews were required*
B
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 16, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
8.0
Review by stubbs20 — June 21, 2009 @ 9:17 am

*This rating was given before reviews were required*
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 16, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
8.0
Review by GeneralNerd — September 3, 2010 @ 1:19 am

I’ve watched all 6 parts now and I really liked a lot of what you did to change it. Here’s a simple list of what I liked and didn’t like.

Liked:
The improved pacing. Watching my extended edition, I usually find myself bored, distracted, or falling asleep by the time Arwen is trying to escape the Black Riders on horseback. With your version, I was riveted.

The Black Riders seemed more threatening. It was mostly the small cuts you made that achieved this; they came across as more mysterious and harder to beat. It really made the whole thing feel more tense.

I was worried about how Arwen would come across when you’ve downplayed her more action filled moments, but it actually worked out fairly well.

Disliked:
The length. This isn’t really long enough to be its own movie. Not really your fault, though. You didn’t have much to work with in that regard.

The climax felt a bit too understated to me.

There’s a bit too much humor cut out. I know you were going for increased tension, but this really was one of the more lighthearted parts of the book, especially Pippin.

That said, I really liked it. I give it an 8/10.
G
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 16, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
7.0
Review by Istvan6 — May 24, 2009 @ 2:59 pm

*This rating was given before reviews were required*
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 16, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
8.0
Review by Adabisi — March 7, 2009 @ 9:44 pm

*This rating was given before reviews were required*
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
10 results - showing 1 - 5
1 2