Dune (1984) – The Alternative Edition

 
9.3 (29)
4730   0   1   0   0

User reviews

29 reviews

 
(21)
 
(4)
 
(3)
3-5 stars
 
(0)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
9.3
 
9.0  (2)
 
9.5  (2)
 
10.0  (2)
 
10.0  (2)
 
8.9  (29)
Back to Listing
29 results - showing 1 - 5  
1 2 3 4 5 6  
Ordering 
 
(Updated: October 13, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
9.7
Audio/Video Quality 
 
8.0
Visual Editing 
 
9.0
Audio Editing 
 
10.0
Narrative 
 
10.0
Enjoyment 
 
10.0

I've been a fan of Lynch's Dune my whole life. I can remember seeing commercials for it when it was first released and being totally taken with the visuals. I was too young to see it in theatres sadly, but a few years later I finally saw it on video. A strange, wonderful, creepy and somehow unbalanced film. Years after I first saw the film I finally read the book and came to understand how far the film had diverged from the source material.

SpiceDiver's edit is nothing short of revelatory. The new book structure, the incorporation of extended and deleted scenes bring the film more in line with the book. I loved it. As a fan of both the original film and the novel I have no hesitation in saying that that this is now my definitive version of the film. SpiceDiver has turned Dune from a cinematic oddity and turned it into a film worthy to carry the title Dune.

Well done sir.

User Review

Do you recommend this edit?
Yes
Format Watched?
DVD
Owner's reply

Thanks for reviewing my edit.

The version you watched is actually not this older version, but the more recent "Dune The Alternative Edition Redux" which is listed here: http://www.fanedit.org/ifdb/412-dune-the-alternative-edition-redux

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: September 02, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
10.0
Enjoyment 
 
10.0

January 21, 2011

I liked this movie so much since childhood that I play it at least once or twice each months since 20 years ;) and I love what you did with the V.2 version!

Your edit gave me a much more complete experience, all these little so important details changed my perspective on many important key points of the story-line.

THANK YOU!

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: September 02, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
10.0
Enjoyment 
 
10.0

July 9, 2010

At 3 hours I must admit my trepidation at sitting down and watching this one. But boy, am I glad I did. This Dune edit is a great piece work and a real lesson in the art of storytelling through editing.

I like the first 3 books although it was the original version of Lynch’s movie that actually got me into Dune. When I first saw it I liked a few elements like the creative art direction but I was pretty annoyed and confused and had to read the novel afterwards to understand what the hell was going on! I’ve watched the extended ‘TV’ edition on DVD a few times and I think its intriguing but I agree with Spicediver: what an amateur mess it is.

I really enjoyed the alternative edition. It’s extremely well thought out and technically very nicely edited and mixed. The extra deleted footage is rough, yes but the stuff that was chosen belongs there and there’s not too much of it. Another thing: only after watching this edit did I realize how much of the ‘voiced thoughts’ had been erased from the soundtrack. Then I had flashbacks: god, those voices were annoying weren’t they? So, great call there by the editor: it’s a device that belongs in the novel, not the movie!

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: September 02, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
10.0
Enjoyment 
 
10.0

February 16, 2010

I love this edition. Not since I have seen the original in the theaters as a little girl has this great story given me goosebumps….Spicediver, you are a genius! please keep up the good work!

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: September 02, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
10.0
Enjoyment 
 
10.0

November 27, 2009

Greetings All,

New to the forum but not new fanedits or Fanedit.org.

I have been a fan of “Dune” (both the books and the various incarnations of the commecrically-released movies) for years. I have seen all the commercially available versions of the movie (even the SciFi channel mini-series) and even an early attempt by a friend of mine to do an “edit” using three connected vcrs.

Not until I downloaded and watched Spicediver’s “Dune” have I been more happy with this movie. A great edit, much better pacing than any version I have ever seen and an outstanding use of source material. I take no issue with Spicediver’s choice in using some of the lower-quality deleted scenes – they definitely progress the plot/pace of the movie. This version absolutely replaces my commercially bought version. I plan on burning this version to DVD and giving several as gifts to my freinds!

SPICEDIVER: You sent the becnhmark for fanedits/extended version not seen since Phantom Editor’s “The Phantom Menance”. My question to you: what’s next? ;-)

Was this review helpful to you? 
29 results - showing 1 - 5  
1 2 3 4 5 6