Dune (1984) – The Alternative Edition

 
9.3 (29)
4730   0   1   0   0

User reviews

21 reviews with 9-10 stars

29 reviews

 
(21)
 
(4)
 
(3)
3-5 stars
 
(0)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
9.3
 
9.0  (2)
 
9.5  (2)
 
10.0  (2)
 
10.0  (2)
 
8.9  (29)
Back to Listing
21 results - showing 1 - 5  
1 2 3 4 5  
Ordering 
 
(Updated: October 13, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
9.7
Audio/Video Quality 
 
8.0
Visual Editing 
 
9.0
Audio Editing 
 
10.0
Narrative 
 
10.0
Enjoyment 
 
10.0

I've been a fan of Lynch's Dune my whole life. I can remember seeing commercials for it when it was first released and being totally taken with the visuals. I was too young to see it in theatres sadly, but a few years later I finally saw it on video. A strange, wonderful, creepy and somehow unbalanced film. Years after I first saw the film I finally read the book and came to understand how far the film had diverged from the source material.

SpiceDiver's edit is nothing short of revelatory. The new book structure, the incorporation of extended and deleted scenes bring the film more in line with the book. I loved it. As a fan of both the original film and the novel I have no hesitation in saying that that this is now my definitive version of the film. SpiceDiver has turned Dune from a cinematic oddity and turned it into a film worthy to carry the title Dune.

Well done sir.

User Review

Do you recommend this edit?
Yes
Format Watched?
DVD
Owner's reply

Thanks for reviewing my edit.

The version you watched is actually not this older version, but the more recent "Dune The Alternative Edition Redux" which is listed here: http://www.fanedit.org/ifdb/412-dune-the-alternative-edition-redux

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: September 02, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
9.0
Enjoyment 
 
9.0

February 21, 2011

Sir this is a might fine piece of work and I commend you for it! Thank you so much for making this, it is spectacular!

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: September 02, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
10.0
Enjoyment 
 
10.0

January 21, 2011

I liked this movie so much since childhood that I play it at least once or twice each months since 20 years ;) and I love what you did with the V.2 version!

Your edit gave me a much more complete experience, all these little so important details changed my perspective on many important key points of the story-line.

THANK YOU!

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: September 02, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
10.0
Enjoyment 
 
10.0

July 9, 2010

At 3 hours I must admit my trepidation at sitting down and watching this one. But boy, am I glad I did. This Dune edit is a great piece work and a real lesson in the art of storytelling through editing.

I like the first 3 books although it was the original version of Lynch’s movie that actually got me into Dune. When I first saw it I liked a few elements like the creative art direction but I was pretty annoyed and confused and had to read the novel afterwards to understand what the hell was going on! I’ve watched the extended ‘TV’ edition on DVD a few times and I think its intriguing but I agree with Spicediver: what an amateur mess it is.

I really enjoyed the alternative edition. It’s extremely well thought out and technically very nicely edited and mixed. The extra deleted footage is rough, yes but the stuff that was chosen belongs there and there’s not too much of it. Another thing: only after watching this edit did I realize how much of the ‘voiced thoughts’ had been erased from the soundtrack. Then I had flashbacks: god, those voices were annoying weren’t they? So, great call there by the editor: it’s a device that belongs in the novel, not the movie!

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: September 09, 2017)
Overall rating 
 
9.5
Audio/Video Quality 
 
10.0
Visual Editing 
 
10.0
Audio Editing 
 
10.0
Narrative 
 
10.0
Enjoyment 
 
9.0

This is Frank Herbert's Dune as is should have been released back in the 80s.

There is a bit of source material that isn't as well preserved as the rest of the available footage, yet its inclusion is most welcome as it helps the narrative greatly.

Perfectly edited and presented.

Was this review helpful to you? 
21 results - showing 1 - 5  
1 2 3 4 5