Conan the Destroyer - Serious Edition

 
8.6 (8)
1770   0   1   0   1

User reviews

4 reviews with 7-9 stars

8 reviews

 
(2)
 
(4)
 
(2)
3-5 stars
 
(0)
1-3 stars
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
8.6
 
9.0  (1)
 
9.7  (3)
 
9.7  (3)
 
9.0  (2)
 
7.9  (8)
Back to Listing
4 results - showing 1 - 4  
 
Ordering 
 
(Updated: August 29, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
7.6
Visual Editing 
 
9.0
Audio Editing 
 
9.0
Enjoyment 
 
7.0

june 12, 2010

The actual editing is good. But, sorry, I still didn’t like it.

This edit takes out a lot of the campy humor that plagued the sequel to the terrific Conan The Barbarian. Sadly, doing that alone still doesn’t make the film feel like a good follow-up. What it does is make it sequel watchable, so that’s always a plus. But, I think taking out the humor is just the first step to fully polishing this movie up. A couple things that I think would help work would be to trim Arnold’s dialogue. In Conan the Barbarian, he hardly speaks. Here, he speaks much more frequently. He doesn’t feel like the stone cold bad ass barbarian anymore. Secondly, any successful attempt to integrate the music from Conan the Barbarian would be tremendous. That film had such a identifiable and great soundtrack, that adding some of it in here would make leaps and bounds to making Conan the Destroyer “feel” like the first.

editing 9/10
film 6.5/10 (original is 4/10)

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: August 29, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
8.0
Enjoyment 
 
8.0

TMBTM Aug 6 2009

That is a movie that screamed for a fanedit.
Leoncut did a great job (some little rough sound cuts to my ears, but nothing too distracting, really).
The movie is still boring, mostly because of his uninteresting story, but no more bad jokes and less bad acting makes it watchable;
and THAT is a tour de force.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: August 29, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
8.5
Visual Editing 
 
10.0
Audio Editing 
 
10.0
Narrative 
 
8.0
Enjoyment 
 
8.0

Joebshmoe Feb 13 2009

serious edition is right! wow, what a huge difference. the movie tone is completely changed and now you have an *almost* respectable follow-up to barbarian. i shall not doubt your ability again!

entertainment 4/5
fanediting 5/5
original 2/5
fanedit 4/5

4/5

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: August 29, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
8.9
Audio/Video Quality 
 
9.0
Visual Editing 
 
10.0
Audio Editing 
 
10.0
Narrative 
 
10.0
Enjoyment 
 
8.0

boon23 Dec 11 2007

The edit:
Great. Never before have I enjoyed Conan The Destroyer more. I am thankful for each and every scene you cut from it, without destroying the flow or the pacing. Of course this does not turn Conan 2 into a masterpiece, the movie is still campy, embarrassing, badly acted, has terrible sets, unworthy action scenes, lame special effects and so on, BUT as it is now, it is for a completely enjoyable sequel to Conan. It has all the charme of a cheap 80s fantasy movie. The fanediting job was masterfully exercised.
editing: 5 of 5,
entertainment: 5 of 5

Image quality:
The image quality is perfect, given the quality of the original.
video quality: 5 of 5

Audio quality:
There is one hard cut, where the music suddenly breaks, when Conan is in the town (where the rich guy hides the amulet). Besides that I did not notice any flaw.
audio: 4 of 5

The DVD:
The DVD comes with an acceptable menu with pink links. There is a main menu, still (and very basic) scene selection and an info menu. All without audio. As an extra there are some of the deleted scenes, which are really worth watching, especially considering the faneditor’s warning about them. Of course the DVD setting could have been more beautiful, but with the nice extra included, it’s more than sufficient.
DVD: 4 of 5

resulting in a 4 of 5 overall rating from me. This is a great fanedit and an extreme improvement over the original movie, which now is just an old movie. I will rather watch this version than ever touching my original again.
I recommend everyone who has a heart for Conan to watch this.

Was this review helpful to you? 
4 results - showing 1 - 4