V For Vendetta: The FanEdit

Updated
 
8.2 (19)
3050 0 1 0 1

User reviews

19 reviews
 
37%
 
47%
 
16%
3-5 stars
 
0%
1-3 stars
 
0%
Overall rating
 
8.2
Audio/Video Quality
 
7.5(2)
Visual Editing
 
8.5(2)
Audio Editing
 
9.5(2)
Narrative
 
8.0(1)
Enjoyment
 
8.2(19)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Back to Listing
19 results - showing 1 - 5
1 2 3 4
Ordering
(Updated: September 01, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
9.0
March 4, 2009 @ 3:40 am

*This rating was given before reviews were required*
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 01, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
9.0
November 11, 2008 @ 1:04 am

let me preface this short review by saying that I own and have seen the original version once back when it was first released to DVD.
I enjoyed parts of the original film but didn’t really know what to make of it. I didn’t hate it but I didn’t love it. I have never read the graphic novel so my only prior exposure to this film was when I watched it once a few years ago.

That said, I loved this fanedit. I cant tell though if I enjoyed it because the fanedit was so good or if sufficient time had p[assed and I just enjoyed the film more on my second viewing (something that often happens to me with films that arent “bad” but just catch me offguard and I may not be ready for them)
regardless of why I enjoyed it, I did.

I don’t have much to say about editing technique but (other than the obviously added material in the beginning) the edits are seamless and the story flows (IMO) better than the original with this viewer not noticing the removals of scenes and characters. many other scenes such as evy dancing w/ V and the musical montages made certain scenes more powerful than I remember.

I did miss the images of the people turning up at the end at Parliament wearing V masks because I thought it looked cool (and it better explained where all the people that weren’t watching the TV’s at the end were) but I suppose that was cut due to not being part of the graphic novel.

4.5/5

I always enjoy Mollo’s edits and this is no exception. I will rewatch the original version to see if it still doesn’t sit well with me but whether it does or doesn’t Mollo’s version sits just fine.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 01, 2012)
Overall rating
 
8.3
Audio/Video Quality
 
8.0
Visual Editing
 
8.0
Audio Editing
 
10.0
Enjoyment
 
8.0
Review by boon23 — May 8, 2008 @ 1:55 pm

V for Vendetta: the fanedit by Nick Mollo

review by boon23

Prologue:
Having just finished my review for ELEVEN I found myself in the mood to watch more from this promising faneditor and continued with his V for Vendetta fanedit. It is quite a long time ago, since I watched the original movie and my remembrance is not th every best, because most of all the movie left me kind of unimpressed. I remembered some details like the 1000s of Vs in the end and the roses, that strange Superhero creature that comes out of the flames and of course the strange mask.
So it was actually kind of a new movie and I could enter it open mindedly and was really impressed with what I got.

As for all my reviews: this is just my personal opinion of this fanedit. I cannot tell anybody else, if he or she will experience it in the same way or the opposite. So my review is not objective and does not reflect the opinion of fanedit.org.

!!!!This review contains heavy spoilers!!!

The edit:
This fanedit cuts quite a lot of scenes from the original movie, but also features additional footage from other movies as well as some compositions created by the faneditor, which results in a 10 minutes longer runtime. Still the chnages are sometimes radical and most of all for the better.
The introduction gives a clearer picture of what happened to change the UK to a dictatorship and is really well done. With some of the endless narrations gone, the beginning has a way better flow to it and works like a charm combining plot and pacing for a great watching atmosphere. The appearance of V and his strange way of talking is still irritating though, but I got used to it pretty soon. The idea of including chapter cards is a wonderful one.
The relationship of Evey and V is is much improved in this version and all that crap about Evey wanting to escape is so easily solved in the fanedit, whereas it is so unbelievable in the original movie. Even the torture scenes work kind of well. Unfortunately the cutting of the flashbacks of Valerie doe snot work well, feels chopped and again, like in his ELEVEN fanedit, the usage of fadeouts got a bit too much with a bad peak at a slow motion scene of Evey being drowned, that really looks artificial and not like a part from the movie, because this technique was never again used.
The killings work really well and so does the investigation of Finch.
The TV studio part is an example of great editing, because it works wonderfully. Everything that was unnecessary was removed. There is one striking thing, which the faneditor already mentioned. Finch’s assistant seems to successfully stop V and the scene would have needed an outcome. It feels incomplete.
The showdown would have worked better for me with the metal armor being still existent. Ideas are bulletproof, yeah, but people aren’t. I always like to believe what I see and in this case I couldn’t. Removing the revolution with the 1000s of Vs was a courageous move. It worked though. I am not sure it did for the better, but it did and the entire ending composition is real nice and ends the movie satisfying to the watcher, which is a great and rare thing for an extreme fanedit. It felt a bit strange to see V (who was already dead) in this composition, but it was still ok as a remembrance of him.

This fanedit is a huge improvement over the original, especially in the overall atmosphere. The annoying John Hurt is much less annoying and a lot of needless babbling is so well removed, making this a real good movie to watch. The chapter cards add well to the flow and the atmosphere and with only some minor flaws present the entertainment does not get spoiled. I liked it a lot and recommend it to be watched by everyone. The editing was almost perfectly executed.
editing: 4 of 5,
entertainment: 5 of 5

Image quality:
The image is clear and kind of sharp. However, the PCM audio takes away too much from the video bitrate.
Video quality: 4 of 5

Audio editing and audio quality:
The audio editing was flawless and a lot was done to make this possible. The audio comes in 48000Hz PCM stereo. With the original 5.1 this is not a perfect support for surround systems, but still very good.
audio editing: 5 of 5
audio quality: 4 of 5

DVD:
The DVD comes in the same style as the previous one (ELEVEN), which is great, because it feels comfortable, besides looking really good. All menus are animated with sound playing. There are no extras this time. Cover art is included, there is no disc art.
This results in a 4 of 5 rating from me for DVD authoring and Extras.

Final result: 4 of 5. This is a great fanedit. You should watch it!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Overall rating
 
8.1
Audio/Video Quality
 
7.0
Visual Editing
 
9.0
Audio Editing
 
9.0
Narrative
 
8.0
Enjoyment
 
8.0
There were some rough transitions and awkward fades but nothing too bad. The new intro works well but I wasn’t crazy about the other montages. It’s been a bit since I’ve watched this movie so I can’t remember all that was cut. There were times when I felt like I had missed something and the pacing felt off, especially in Part One. But once we got into Part Two it was smooth sailing.

Overall it was an interesting watch, very artistic and different.

A/V Quality - 7
Editing - 9
Narrative - 8
Enjoyment - 8 (original 8)

Recommended drink: November Rain (Bacardi, Jack & fruit punch)

User Review

Format Watched?
Digital
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 01, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
8.0
December 3, 2008 @ 6:47 pm

*This rating was given before reviews were required*
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
19 results - showing 1 - 5
1 2 3 4