V For Vendetta: The FanEdit

Updated
 
8.2 (19)
3100 0 1 0 1

User reviews

7 reviews with 9-10 stars
19 reviews
 
37%
 
47%
 
16%
3-5 stars
 
0%
1-3 stars
 
0%
Overall rating
 
8.2
Audio/Video Quality
 
7.5(2)
Visual Editing
 
8.5(2)
Audio Editing
 
9.5(2)
Narrative
 
8.0(1)
Enjoyment
 
8.2(19)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Back to Listing
7 results - showing 1 - 5
1 2
Ordering
(Updated: August 31, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
10.0
August 8, 2008 @ 11:32 am

Absolutely in awe is all I can muster up for this edit. 5 out of 5 for the flawless cuts and sheer amount of work that must’ve gone into planning them. It turns a standard Hollywood crowd-bait into a genuine “art” film much closer in tone to the book. I am completely floored by the quality of this edit and the bold choices made by Nick – in terms of scene additions and music changes- and will spread the gospel of this version as the REAL one. Good work mate!
F
1 reviews
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: August 31, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
10.0
August 4, 2008 @ 4:30 pm

*This rating was given before reviews were required*
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 01, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
9.0
November 11, 2008 @ 1:04 am

let me preface this short review by saying that I own and have seen the original version once back when it was first released to DVD.
I enjoyed parts of the original film but didn’t really know what to make of it. I didn’t hate it but I didn’t love it. I have never read the graphic novel so my only prior exposure to this film was when I watched it once a few years ago.

That said, I loved this fanedit. I cant tell though if I enjoyed it because the fanedit was so good or if sufficient time had p[assed and I just enjoyed the film more on my second viewing (something that often happens to me with films that arent “bad” but just catch me offguard and I may not be ready for them)
regardless of why I enjoyed it, I did.

I don’t have much to say about editing technique but (other than the obviously added material in the beginning) the edits are seamless and the story flows (IMO) better than the original with this viewer not noticing the removals of scenes and characters. many other scenes such as evy dancing w/ V and the musical montages made certain scenes more powerful than I remember.

I did miss the images of the people turning up at the end at Parliament wearing V masks because I thought it looked cool (and it better explained where all the people that weren’t watching the TV’s at the end were) but I suppose that was cut due to not being part of the graphic novel.

4.5/5

I always enjoy Mollo’s edits and this is no exception. I will rewatch the original version to see if it still doesn’t sit well with me but whether it does or doesn’t Mollo’s version sits just fine.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 01, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
10.0
February 22, 2009 @ 3:04 am

*This rating was given before reviews were required*
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 01, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
9.0
March 4, 2009 @ 3:40 am

*This rating was given before reviews were required*
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
7 results - showing 1 - 5
1 2