Transformers (UA Edit)

 
8.9 (31)
2598   0   1   0   3

User reviews

31 reviews

 
(17)
 
(13)
 
(1)
3-5 stars
 
(0)
1-3 stars
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
8.9
 
9.1  (12)
 
9.7  (14)
 
9.9  (12)
 
8.5  (8)
 
8.7  (31)
Back to Listing
12 results - showing 1 - 5  
1 2 3  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
9.6
Audio/Video Quality 
 
10.0
Visual Editing 
 
10.0
Audio Editing 
 
10.0
Narrative 
 
8.0
Enjoyment 
 
10.0

uncanny antman does it again with another fantastic edit.the movie has had most of the useless talking and forced exposition removed. the movie now focuses on the decepticons searching for the last person to see the cube and megatron sams grandfather.they hyjack air force bases and even air force one until they realize samhis his grandfathers glasses,unknown to them bumblebee has secretly been tasked to be sams protector .
the movie flows nicely from begining to end and is only slowed down by some bad dialogue.

*there are a couple of scenes i would have removed just because they felt out of place.
1.@the car dealers they are checking out bumblebee ,then bobby(car dealer)says to mechanic that he hasnt seen car before and that its not one of his,very next scene he gives them details about the car and asks $5000(sam and dad had to have heard they are standing right next to him)
2.transformer in alley saying whats ups bitches or something like that.
3.awkwark scene where sams parents walk into his room sams mom starts asking him if he was masterbating.

other than that a fine edit.deifinately worth a watch

User Review

Do you recommend this edit?
Yes
Format Watched?
MP4/AVI/etc. (HD)
Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: March 08, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
9.3
Audio/Video Quality 
 
10.0
Visual Editing 
 
10.0
Audio Editing 
 
10.0
Narrative 
 
9.0
Enjoyment 
 
9.0

September 18, 2011 @ 6:54 am

An incredibly enjoyable version of Transformers. Everything on the tech side was perfect and the movie worked wonders for me.

User Review

Do you recommend this edit?
Yes
Format Watched?
DVD
Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: September 02, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
9.3
Audio/Video Quality 
 
10.0
Visual Editing 
 
9.0
Audio Editing 
 
10.0
Enjoyment 
 
9.0

April 16, 2010 @ 3:49 pm

Transformer (UA edit) by Uncanny Antman

review by boon23

Prologue:
I have been wanting to watch this fanedit for a long time, but somehow never got to it. Finally I did. As for all edits by Uncanny Antman, my expectations were pretty high, because he almost always delivers outstanding quality.
The original movie was not bad IMO, but never really good. It was superficial, had way too much stupid humor and the plot seemed to be the thing the movie cared not much about. Of course it wanted to show Transformers to an audience that grew up with the Hasbro toys – and that it totally did. Unfortunately I am not part of this generation. I never had a Transformer and other than knowing they exist and are toys, I knew nothing before I watched the movie.

As for all my reviews: this is just my personal opinion of this fanedit. I cannot tell anybody else, if he or she will experience it in the same way or the opposite. So my review is not objective and does not reflect the opinion of fanedit.org.

!!!!This review contains heavy spoilers!!!

The edit:
The fanedit started with what I did not like. The song in the beginning was a variation of the one from the main menu, obviously from some classic Transformers thing that I don’t know. I take it, this is a cool thing for the fans, but for someone unfamiliar with it, it just does not fit at all. The title credits are also not great.

But this is about all the bad stuff I can say about an otherwise great fanedit. We get a condensed, action-packed version of Transformers, where most of the stupid humor and the distractions are gone.

The characters and their changes:

Sam: It seemed impossible, but the Antman made me like Shia LaBeouf in this movie. By losing such an incredible mas of bad scenes and concentrating on the important parts he seems like just the type of anti-hero to like. Awesome achievement. Improvement factor: 100%

Mikaela: The relationship between Sam and Mikaela loses a lot of depth by deleting the sidetracks. In fact, Mikaela loses almost everything she ever had. we never learn why she is skilled with tools and cars or what she thinks of Sam and why. The original, although deeply flawed, took a lot more care about the relationship and to make it believable. It also presented Mikaela as a much more important and real person. Mikaela is the loser of this fanedit. Decrement factor: 90%

Captain Lennox: losing his back story he is now a true war hero. It feels a bit odd that he is presented as important when we get to know nothing about him, but still he is a lot more convincing in his role now. Improvement factor: 50%

Defense Secretary John Keller: he was really annoying at times int he original from what I recall. Now he is most of all helpful. We see him running around a lot. Not a great performance, but he is much more bearable now. Improvement factor: 50%

Agent Simmons: the major pain in the movie. His stupidity was just annoying. The movie could not 100% save him from being stupid, but he was so much believable as a weird expert of a super secret organization. In fact, he is not really a pain anymore. Incredible achievement. Improvement factor: 100%

Bumblebee: he is more likable and less childish. Big Improvement, especially for not pissing on Simmons. Improvement factor: 50%

Optimus Prime: He seems smarter, wiser and more like a true a leader. Thanks for deleting the final speech (although it felt like something was missing. Improvement factor: 50%

Back to the edit:
The streamlined action plot works really well, with a few exceptions: the Witwicky back garden scene and the autobots hiding is still akward and I think this should have been even more trimmed. The decepticon still turns into the Nokia cell, but this part is never continued. Other than that I was highly entertained and enjoyed all the cool changes. The new score worked great, the more mysterious all-spark was a wonderful idea. Sector 7 was much more serious and believable. all the worst parts of Transformers were masterfully addressed and turned into a magnificent improvement over the original.

editing: 9 of 10 (great and very creative editing decisions, no hard cuts, good plot development, but unfortunately we lose too much of Mikaela.)

entertainment: 8 of 10 (it was a good watching experience. Still not great, but far improved – the original got a 6 of 10 from me on imdb )

Image and video quality:
Perfect.

Audio editing and audio quality:
audio quality was perfect.
audio editing: 10 of 10
sound quality: 10 of 10
resulting in a 10 of 10 for overall audio

presentation:
The fanedit has no custom title. I did not like the menu music and the title score. The main menu and the extras menu look great and have awesome transitions. There is no chapter menu. The fanedit had quite some extras, most are additional internet videos with the outstanding and funny “no” video. Some sort of making of would have been great. The starting and end credits were self made but do not inform about the editor. The fanedit comes with nice cover art.
Overall: a nice package!
Great!
8 of 10 for overall presentation

Final result: 9 of 10
While it still is a superficial action movie, this is a highly entertaining and very improved version of Transformers. A huge achievement and I can definitely recommend this fanedit to anyone being in the mood to watch Transformers. It totally replaces my original.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: September 02, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
8.8
Audio/Video Quality 
 
10.0
Visual Editing 
 
10.0
Audio Editing 
 
10.0
Enjoyment 
 
8.0

December 13, 2009 @ 1:12 pm

Transformers wasn’t a great movie, but UA’s edits are usually top notch, so I decided to take a look at this one. And as usual seemless editing, great audio, 10/10 for both. So entertainment wise, well it will never be a great movie but your cuts in my view made it more watchable, most of the stupidity is gone, And lets be honest this is a movie about living robots not a teenage love story so I was glad to see that dumped. Overall 10 for video 10 for audio 8 for entertainment.
still gets a 10 from me great edit UA.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: September 02, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
8.1
Audio/Video Quality 
 
10.0
Visual Editing 
 
10.0
Audio Editing 
 
10.0
Enjoyment 
 
7.0

November 19, 2009 @ 1:47 pm

I wasn’t sure which version of this film to go for, as there are several cuts out there – Reaves – which after reading some of the reviews doesn’t seem to go far enough, JasonNs and Uncanny Antmans. I noted UC had cut a good 40 mins out, so given I enjoy Bay humour as much as Emmerich humour :roll: , I opted for UC.

Only watched Transformers once and was never a Transformers fan. I did however get a friend to watch who was a TF fan and had watched the original a good few weeks back.

From the word go, it’s obvious we’re dealing with a much more serious film. 95% of comedy and silly little redundant subplots are all gone. My friend was picking up all over the place where dialogue was missing and/or scenes. The start of the film is much more enjoyable from this perspective. Some rather slick custom titles are used as well.

Audio and Visual are top notch, as well as the editing as well. No flaws whatsoever that we could detect. 10/10.

Now the film itself, with so much material removed comes across as rather cold and devoid of any sort of character development, which is of course is the price you pay for editing a Bay film to be more serious. Same thing happened to me with my Godzilla : Zilla edit. You’re left with a film almost devoid of any emotion and entirely action. Whilst left with a serious film, you’re also left with a film that’s not quite as much fun as the original. Now I use ‘fun’ a little loosely, as the whole point is to remove Bay’s fun and make it a bit more digestible. But has it gone too far? Horses for courses, some people will love this edit, others will miss the funnier elements – my friend certainly did.

Two things we noted seemed a little odd. The early chase with Bumblebee and Barricade seem twice to get into a position where they’re right in near proximity to each other, we cut to another scene, come back and now they’re miles apart again. So, was there some fighting cut out? When Barricade is interrogating Sam, what happened to Bumblebee? When they both screech into a Warehouse, the next time we see – Bumblebee is exiting and way ahead again…..?

My most hated scene in the film is the Autobots hiding around the parents house. We think you chopped this down and I justified the necessity of it – Mikhaela meets the parents?

Anyway, so I’m a little torn on this. I don’t like the original, but this version feels a little too bare bones for me. On the entertainment level, I’m giving this 7/10.

So averaging out – 10 Audio, 10 Video, 10 Editing and 7 for entertainment – you’ll find the average is still a healthy 9/10. :-)

Was this review helpful to you? 
12 results - showing 1 - 5  
1 2 3