Star Trek 1 “The V'Ger Incident”

Updated
 
8.9 (24)
6548 0 1 0 1

User reviews

10 reviews with 7-9 stars
24 reviews
 
54%
 
42%
 
4%
3-5 stars
 
0%
1-3 stars
 
0%
Overall rating
 
8.9
Audio/Video Quality
 
8.7(14)
Audio Editing
 
8.9(12)
Visual Editing
 
9.3(13)
Narrative
 
8.9(11)
Enjoyment
 
8.4(24)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Back to Listing
10 results - showing 6 - 10
1 2
Ordering
(Updated: September 15, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
8.0
Review by havok1977 — June 26, 2010 @ 8:30 pm

*This rating was given before reviews were required*
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 15, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
7.0
Review by ThunderVamp9 — July 25, 2010 @ 6:29 am

Just finished watching this edit, and have to echo the comments regarding the fluctuating sound levels. Most dialogue was ridiculously low level, requiring an increase in volume and as soon as any effects were introduced (i.e. V’Ger firing it’s weapons) I was blown back in my seat and scrambling for the sound remote.

Also, it’s been mentioned before but heavy pixelation in reds. Even my wife commented on this, and she generally never mentions things like this.

Lastly, there was way too much black space at the top and bottom of my screen, and the image itself looked “squashed” due to the 4:3 letterboxing.

In all, though, this was a great version of the film, and made what I always felt was the worst of the series a very enjoyable film. I’d give it a 7/10
T
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 15, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
7.0
Review by TMBTM — June 26, 2010 @ 3:38 pm

This is also a 7/10 to me, and could have been a lot more if not for some technical aspects: 4:3 letterboxed (2.35:1), pixelate red color, dialogue lower than sound effects/music and some added flash light coming over the black bars.
But as some already said, this is a GREAT firstling fanedit, and each fan of Star Trek should watch this one.
The nice new “twist” in the end is very well thought, the pace of the movie is great, the new music and “TV’ series cliffhangers like” are a nice touch.
The DVD menus are beautiful too.
I really wished I could rate this fanedit more but it’s mostly the 4:3 letterboxed (2.35:1) issue that stoped me to do it.
Anyway, Bionicbob is a faneditor to follow, for sure! :)
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 15, 2012)
Overall rating
 
7.5
Audio/Video Quality
 
7.0
Audio Editing
 
8.0
Visual Editing
 
8.0
Enjoyment
 
7.0
Review by Captain Khajiit — June 12, 2010 @ 2:07 pm

Star Trek: The V’ger Incident by bionicbob

Review by Captain Khajiit

This review contains mild spoilers.

The beginning – in the style of the Original Series – is thoroughly entertaining. There are many clever cuts that help the pace greatly, and the added music helps to give the edit a different feel to that of the original film. As others have noted, the issue of the Enterprise refit needs to be better addressed, and the Kirk-Decker antagonism is incompletely removed. One cannot help feeling that the editor has overlooked some fairly obvious deletions that would have helped the edit greatly.

While the edit starts at a terrific pace, it seems to falter towards the end. It is testament to the truly awful pacing of much of the original material that sections of it still seem to drag when part of an eighty-minute edit. This is not the fault of the faneditor, but as the end approached I would have welcomed more of the clever editing that was shown earlier on. As it stands, the latter part of the edit feels like watching The Motion Picture, which is a little bit of a let down after the exceptional beginning.

The ending was intriguing, but it does seem rather hard to follow even for Star Trek fans. It could certainly be made clearer.

Editing: 8 out of 10 The editing itself was done well, but some of the editing choices were questionable.

Entertainment: 7 out of 10 (theatrical - 6 out of 10; director's cut – 7out of 10)

Image and video quality: The video is non-anamorphic widescreen, which is not good. Otherwise, the picture quality is acceptable, and the new effects were generally very well done. 7 out of 10

Audio editing and audio quality: A variety of Star Trek music was implemented successfully, and it was great to hear many original sound effects in The Motion Picture. I did find that the audio level fluctuated throughout the edit though, which was somewhat irritating. 8 out of 10

Presentation: I do not care for menus, but Bionicbob's screens look like the work of a highly accomplished editor. Those who like cover art might have expected the fan editor to make some to complement the rest of the presentation. 8 out of 10

Overall: 7 out of 10 This is the most promising firstling I have seen in a long time. I hope for a second version, and look forward to more edits from bionicbob.
C
Top 500 Reviewer 33 reviews
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 15, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
8.0
Review by Ripplin — June 4, 2010 @ 8:47 am

Growing up, I was not an avid TOS watcher. I appreciated it, and saw a fair number of episodes, but I was not yet really into sci-fi in general. Every time I saw TMP, I found it dragged on and on at parts (Spock’s flight in the spacesuit is mercifully short in this edit, which is appreciated) and didn’t have the sense of excitement that the sequels had. But now, I’m a big fan of TOS and have seen every episode at least once, many multiple times. Watching this edit, even without the TOS additions, I must say that in some ways, it felt the most like TOS among all of the Star Trek movies! Amazing. :p I never would’ve thought it.

Bob’s additions are well thought out and not intrusive or jarring. Towards the last third to quarter of the movie, I actually wished there were more of them. I’m a little undecided about the new twist ending. It makes sense, considering what is said about V’Ger’s “people” and planet and whatnot, but…still felt strange. Plus, you have to ignore what was brought out in Star Trek: Enterprise about those people, too. Haha. ;)

Overall, I quite liked this. I would say it is THE version to watch. I have a much bigger appreciation for the movie now because of this edit. Doesn’t make me want to watch the original version, but I would certainly watch this one again sometime. I will give this fine effort 8/10. Well done!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
10 results - showing 6 - 10
1 2