Star Wars - Episode VI: Return of the Jedi – The Spence Edit

Updated
 
7.3 (15)
2250 0 1 0 1

User reviews

7 reviews with 5-7 stars
15 reviews
 
13%
 
40%
 
47%
3-5 stars
 
0%
1-3 stars
 
0%
Overall rating
 
7.3
Audio/Video Quality
 
9.0(1)
Visual Editing
 
6.0(1)
Enjoyment
 
7.2(15)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Back to Listing
7 results - showing 1 - 5
1 2
Ordering
(Updated: September 09, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
6.0
Review by Link — February 22, 2009 @ 2:59 am

*This rating was given before reviews were required*
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 09, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
6.0
Review by joebshmoe — February 13, 2009 @ 6:25 pm

(In reference to the 1.0 cut)

This was entertaining, but did not feel like an improvement. The pacing suffers from the editing choices. A great idea that may or may not be improved? 3/5
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 09, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
6.0
Review by spelledaren — December 30, 2008 @ 9:41 am

*This rating was given before reviews were required*
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 09, 2012)
Overall rating
 
6.4
Audio/Video Quality
 
9.0
Visual Editing
 
6.0
Enjoyment
 
6.0
Review by gaith1 — November 29, 2008 @ 9:48 am

The edit:
I’ve no doubt that this is a better cut than the theatrical. We’re off of Tatooine in 35 minutes, which improves the flow greatly. I didn’t really notice where the Ewok stuff had been toned down, but it worked.

Still – just my personal opinion – Jedi needs even more editing. Han has lots of corny lines, especially in the first half, which it would be well to cut. Vader says “give yourself to the Dark Side” way too often; a mere twenty-six times would suffice. And there’s lots of bits and pieces here and there – Yoda doesn’t have to say that Luke’s training is complete, for instance, and how could it be?

On the technical side, there were some jarring cuts, maybe six or so. Many were seamless, and the rest aren’t too bad, but they’re visible.

editing: 3 of 5,
entertainment: 3 of 5

Image quality:
Looked dvd-quality to me.
video quality: 5 of 5

Audio quality:
Again, there were some jarring audio/visual cuts. And the new ending, while cute for sure, sounds a bit rough. I know that SW dvds are tricky like that, but I must report the facts, especially in the OT’s final scene.
audio: 3.5 of 5

Overall (not an average):
I’m still waiting for a definitive Jedi, one that will, I hope, feature a new intro crawl and begin as the sail barge makes its journey, bringing the Tatooine sequence to an absolute minimum, and that will trim the general flab further. And I think that FEers should do a commentary whenever possible. :wink:
Still, this is a definite improvement over the theatrical. A hearty cheer to Spence for blazing a path to a better Ep. 6!
3.5
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 09, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
6.0
Review by dop — November 17, 2008 @ 4:42 pm

*This rating was given before reviews were required*
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
7 results - showing 1 - 5
1 2