James Bond 007: Never Say McClory Again

Updated
 
8.1 (19)
4869 0 1 0 0

User reviews

19 reviews
 
42%
 
32%
 
21%
 
5%
1-3 stars
 
0%
Overall rating
 
8.1
Audio/Video Quality
 
7.4(7)
Visual Editing
 
8.3(9)
Audio Editing
 
8.3(9)
Narrative
 
8.4(8)
Enjoyment
 
8.0(19)
Back to Listing
19 results - showing 1 - 5
1 2 3 4
Ordering
Overall rating
 
7.3
Audio/Video Quality
 
8.0
Visual Editing
 
8.0
Audio Editing
 
8.0
Narrative
 
7.0
Enjoyment
 
7.0
Never Say McClory Again by Blofeld’s Cat

Hands down, my least favorite 007 film. Connery simply too old.
He was 53 at this stage, and could better have played M (Lee began at 52).
When this came out theatrically, I had such hopes for it.
Likewise this edit.

Did not like the audio work.
Quite distracting trying to place one theme with another movie.
Absolutely no idea of what was cut from the video aside from the wry comment about “endorsements.”
It seemed like all the other asinine humor jokes were left in the movie.
Video game battle with Largo remained, along with Fox’s foppish portrayal of M.
Carrera still smokin’ and still a ridiculous, pitiful caricature.
This edit should have / could have been so much better.

User Review

Do you recommend this edit?
Yes
Format Watched?
DVD
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
(Updated: September 12, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
5.0
May 27, 2010

I like the idea, and I like most of the new music selection used and the way it all developed (if some of it is not perfectly timed). Yet the technical quality of the DVD authoring was sorely lacking. A motion blur-like “effect” was present all through it, no doubt courtesy of Canopus ProCoder, and the end credits fail, interrupt, and mix themselves with a defective menu screen.

As for the video edit, pretty well done overall, but I felt that some character aspects could have been “EONized” as well. I mean, cutting the lines of “buddy” Q saying he missed Bond, or “dumb” Moneypenny’s “Ooh!” in her first scene (thankfully we lost her “be careful”), and the likes. Also, I detested what you did to the motorcycle chase, cutting back and forth from the car to the bike again and again and again. Looked like the work of a kid who had just discovered Windows Movie Maker and was trying to show off, sorry. Everything else, I liked fine.

With a better DVD, this might have been a 7, or even an 8. Due to technical issues, I can’t rate it higher than a 5.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
(Updated: September 12, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.6
Visual Editing
 
6.0
Audio Editing
 
6.0
Enjoyment
 
4.0
May 23, 2009

Finally got a chance to see this after a few past failed attempts. JDownloader made it very easy. I had heard a lot about this FanEdit and was eager to see if somehow this Bond abortion could be brought back into the cannon of the official movies.

The DVD is simple and to the point, so I go straight to the feature. The iconic Bond barrel logo has been added but feels slightly dated as a younger Connery sporting a trilby does the honors. This I suppose could not be helped.

The idea of using original Bond scores is a good one and in the opening action scene the music is inserted very well. As the story unwinds the John Barry score works exceptionally well. It gives the flavor of a true Bond movie. Unfortunately, some musical choices are completely wrong, as in the case of the fight in the hospital and the introduction to the villains boat. Also the volume of some music is to far too loud in the mix.

I think keeping the scores to an certain era and composer would have helped a great deal in tying this project together. As it is the differences in the selected music are a huge distraction.

There are no real hard cuts but certainly awkward moments. Also some shots are very soft as if zoomed or scaled too much. I also noticed slight stuttering especially during panning shots. Entertainment value is the same as the original.

DVD 4, Editing 3, Audio Editing 3, Entertainment 2

6/10
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
(Updated: September 12, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
10.0
December 27, 2007

An absolutely incredible, professional edit. My basic pet peeve from the first time I ever saw this film was the lack of “Bond” music–and that was pretty much it. Blofeld’s Cat has gone the extra step of adding the gun barrel and pre-credit sequences! And all done seamlessly. Now if only someone would do the same quality job on “The Enforcer,” the only Dirty Harry movie with the wrong music. Thank you very much, BC.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
(Updated: September 12, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
10.0
March 11, 2008

You, sir, are a GENIUS ! This is the fist FAN EDIT I have seen. (I recently listened to an episode of the “The Hollywood Saloon” Podcast that was dedictaed to Fan Edits).

Whilst still an awful Bond film, at least now it does feel like a BOND film. I thoroughly enjoyed your version, and thank you for now enabling me to watch it without entirely hating it.

You should so have a go at Die Another Day, now.

Now choices, choices, what ones to go for next.
S
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
19 results - showing 1 - 5
1 2 3 4

Leave a Reply