Friday The 13th: The Legend Of Crystal Lake

Updated
 
7.8 (15)
3940 0 1 0 2

User reviews

15 reviews
 
20%
 
60%
 
20%
3-5 stars
 
0%
1-3 stars
 
0%
Overall rating
 
7.8
Audio/Video Quality
 
8.5(2)
Visual Editing
 
9.0(2)
Audio Editing
 
9.0(2)
Narrative
 
6.5(2)
Enjoyment
 
7.7(15)
Back to Listing
15 results - showing 11 - 15
1 2 3
Ordering
(Updated: September 06, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
8.0
boon23 aug 28 2008

*This rating was given before reviews were required*
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 06, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
6.0
fyte87 may 30 2009

Great project and very good edit but a bit frustating because you removed the most blood scenes. The most shocking for me was the Annie’s death loss in the beginning of the film and the rated Jack’s death. No rough cuts but sometimes strange transitions.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 06, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
8.0
rmania may 28 2009

I enjoyed this fanedit, Combining both and making a different movie worked great. I just had to forget everything I watched from the 1st 2 movies and went with your flow. Good job
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 06, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
8.0
jokersmailbag apr 8 2009

Although I enjoy an occasional slasher movie, I am by no means an expert. Put it this way: I had no idea Jason wasn’t even really in the original FTT13th and didn’t even wear the hockey mask until part 3. Basically I remember some very small bits of Part 1, that’s it. And my feeling about what I did remember what that it was a bit dull. My girlfriend, though, owns and loves all of these guy’s movies: Freddy, Jason, Micheal Myers. So I thought this would be a good opportunity for a two pronged review for this edit.

I should mention that this is the SL version created by Boon , I believe. Cool static menu, nice picture quality. Thank you very much for creating it, or I would have been unable to watch it. Very much appreciated.

Opens with a title card with the editors name, fits the look of the film well, suits the purpose. Minor complaint that the Main title does not include the Fanedit’s subtitle- would have been nice. Story-wise it is a lot zippier than I remember, moves at a good clip. I cannot detect any plot holes. I quiz my girlfriend and she knows there have been things cut out, but cannot place them. So obviously nothing that needed to stay for this edit. And the killings happen much quicker, which I liked. Thumbs up there. Great blending of the first and second parts also. We both found it convincing. Part 1 actually becomes a sort of prologue in this cut, Jason’s backstory. This was a very good approach and really nice work condensing it too. I easily followed the whole story the whole way through and was engaged by it, something I could not say previously. My girlfriend really enjoyed it as well. She said it would not replace her originals (of course) but she thought it was really cool. Me too.

One more minor complaint about titles: The end credits were not custom, merely part 1 and 2 credits shown chronologically. This works fine actually, the music flowed and they were cut seamlessly- but I always like to see the custom ones, they always earn an extra point from me if done well.

I did not wear headphones when watching this one (my usual method- hey I am an audio guy, sorry!) but I did not notice any blending weirdness, volume trouble or hard cuts on the tv speakers. The video cuts were unnoticeable.

Overall, great work! It looks like one that both casual and rabid slasher film fans can enjoy.
J
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 06, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
5.0
spicedver mar 13 2009

Technically very good I agree, I just didn’t enjoy this very much.

That’s not because of the actual fanediting, but becuase I find the orginal movies are so ordinary.

I used to think Part 2 in the series was quite scary and the films did inspire loads of imitations in the 80′s and 90′s. Looking back now, I feel differently. John Carpenter’s Halloween (1978), for example, is still a brilliant body count flick but I think Friday The 13th was influential only because of its huge box office reputation.

My two cents.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
15 results - showing 11 - 15
1 2 3