Star Wars - Episode II: Attack of the Clones: The Super 8 Cut

 
9.4 (16)
1636   0   1   0   4

User reviews

16 reviews

 
(12)
 
(3)
 
(1)
3-5 stars
 
(0)
1-3 stars
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
9.4
 
10.0  (5)
 
9.8  (6)
 
10.0  (6)
 
9.2  (5)
 
9.2  (16)
Back to Listing
16 results - showing 1 - 5  
1 2 3 4  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
10.0
Visual Editing 
 
10.0
Audio Editing 
 
10.0
Narrative 
 
10.0
Enjoyment 
 
10.0

I got to see this online. It's absolutely wonderful. I agree with the other reviewers' praise. One thing I'd like to add is that even though the hyper-paced cutting is intended to be choppy and awkward, I found most of the editing to efficiently cut through Episode II's runarounds and extended downtime. Many of the cuts--even the extreme ones--could easily be considered for a more conventional editing approach as well.

I loved every moment of this edit and look forward to the complete trilogy.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: November 03, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
10.0
Audio/Video Quality 
 
10.0
Visual Editing 
 
10.0
Audio Editing 
 
10.0
Narrative 
 
10.0
Enjoyment 
 
10.0

Review by QuickCut — November 28, 2011 @ 5:15 am

This was an amazing edit!

A/V Quality – 10/10 – Audio was supposed to have pops and video was supposed to have grain/scratches/hair/flicker, so I can’t comment on the clarity.

Editing – 10/10 –The color correction worked most of the time, although I found it annoying in scenes where ships were landing – too bright. Gorgeous job making everything look old.

Narrative – 10/10 – A few sequences seemed rather rushed, but I think that’s nearly unavoidable for an edit like this. The fact that Rogue-theX was able to cut a 2 1/2 hour movie down to about a half an hour is incredible.

Entertainment – 10/10 – This is easily my favorite version of AOTC, since I didn't care for the original at all. Absolutely splendid!

User Review

Do you recommend this edit?
Yes
Format Watched?
DVD
Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: September 10, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
10.0
Enjoyment 
 
10.0

Review by L8wrtr — July 2, 2011 @ 8:05 pm

I avoided watching too many Episode II edits while I worked on my own, and I purposefully avoided this edit as I wanted to be able to simply sit back and enjoy it. Finally this morning I sat down with my two boys and took this in.

Normally I divide a review into various categories of video, audio etc.. but this is no ordinary edit.

Simply put, this is just hands-down, grin-inducing fun. Is it perfect? No. And it shouldn’t be. Rogue’s vision was perfect and his execution of that vision was even better. His use of the aged look, jump-cut splicing, audio imperfections etc allowed him to make editing choices simply not possible with a traditional edit.

The only comprable edit I can think of is The Man Behind the Mask’s War of the Stars. Never intended as a replacement edit, this is another example of the power and potential of fanediting as an artform. By ignoring the boundaries of creating a ‘traditional’ edit, Rogue has crafted something fun, original and FAST out of a completely pre-existing work of art (insert snicker here about referring to Attack of the Clones as art).

From a story standpoint, what’s truly fascinating about this edit is that it also works as a commentary on Episode II itself. The editor himself describes the chunks of deleted footage as contributing to plot holes, however really, that is not the case. The missing footage creates some continuity errors, but really, the critical plot points of Episode II are told in roughly a half hour. While the nuance of the story only makes sense if you’ve seen the original, a first-time watcher would get the basics of the story, and that is quite a feat.

So all-in-all, this is a resounding 10/10 for me. Amazing work Rogue, well-done.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: September 10, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
10.0
Enjoyment 
 
10.0

Review by kaine23 — March 9, 2011 @ 4:24 pm

Review from Kaine23.

Video: Great vintage feel to this edit. Love the Super 8 look and the added grain effects on the “film”.

Audio: No hard cuts, great use of the SW theme during scenes where there was no music (like the asteroid chase). Also enjoyed the sound of the spinning reels at the start of both parts of this edit.

Entertainment: This edit turned AOTC into a watchable 44 minute film. Love how the useless and unneeded scenes and the humor were cut out and only the important points were kept. Missing scenes were missed but fit the Super 8 MO…and no speaking jar-jar!

Editing: Great choices for points to edit. Love the new opening credits for both reels, and enjoyed how reel 2 starts after reel 1 finishes without any problems.

DVD: Great vintage trailers. Great look for the dvd menus and they look amazing.

Overall: A highly recommended fanedit that everyone should watch and add to their collections. 10 out of 10.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: September 10, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
10.0
Enjoyment 
 
10.0

Review by DwightFry78 — March 6, 2011 @ 7:52 pm

*This rating was given before reviews were required*

Was this review helpful to you? 
16 results - showing 1 - 5  
1 2 3 4