Star Trek: Bugs

 
7.7 (19)
1236   0   1   0   2

User reviews

19 reviews

 
(6)
 
(11)
 
(1)
 
(1)
1-3 stars
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
7.7
 
7.3  (3)
 
7.0  (3)
 
7.7  (3)
 
7.0  (3)
 
8.2  (19)
Back to Listing
19 results - showing 1 - 5  
1 2 3 4  
Ordering 
 
(Updated: September 15, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
9.0
Enjoyment 
 
9.0

Review by tranzor — April 2, 2008 @ 10:44 pm

I thought this edit was mind blowing, just for the sole reason that everying blended together so damn well.

Hats off to you Nick!

Sure some of the outfits change, but you could take this as time passing by (it works that way as well). In all honesty who cares? I did not even notice any of it. I was having way too much fun enjoying this edit

Sure some of the bug shots are repeated. So what? A ton of shows back in the 60′s would do similar acts to save on the budget cost. If anything it makes this even more 60′s authentic

If i had to pick one downside it was this: Towards the end, one of the bug shots still apears in a letterboxed format rather than full frame (dvd version)

I am giving this 4 1/2 fan edit stars–

Even if you are not a star trek fan (of which some of the people I showed this to are not) you can still have a good time watching this on a friday or Saturday night with friends–

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: September 15, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
9.0
Enjoyment 
 
9.0

Review by Uncanny Antman — June 26, 2010 @ 5:24 am

I have three minor gripes. Repeated shots, costume/prop discontinuity, edge cropping.

And that’s all I’ll say for the negative, because none of that really matters. The edit is just flat-out fun, and you really just have to let go and enjoy it. I knew I would when Mollo used the one of my favorite little moments from TOS…Kirk’s sore back.

So what are you waiting for? Download and have a breezy half hour with the Trek episode you never knew existed. Don’t wait as long as I did.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
8.9
Audio/Video Quality 
 
8.0
Visual Editing 
 
6.0
Audio Editing 
 
7.0
Narrative 
 
9.0
Enjoyment 
 
10.0

This was fun. It wasn't perfect, it was obviously edited. It was still fun. You should watch it.

It would be awesome if someone could revisit this with the new/remastered HD sources and a bit of modern technical sensibilities. I imagine that some of the more glaring visual issues could be easily remedied. (Those issues are completely forgivable for this edit, but knowing they could be fixed today makes me want to see it with them fixed, you know?)


The narrative is surprisingly coherent, the cuts make sense and work, by and large. Aside from cutting the two sources together, no real video editing was done. This isn't surprising as this edit is 5+ years old.



Honestly, great edit. Lots of fun. It is inspiring. It took me far too long to hunt down a copy, but it was worth the effort.

Thanks,

User Review

Do you recommend this edit?
Yes
Format Watched?
DVD
Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: September 15, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
8.0
Enjoyment 
 
8.0

Review by miketava — August 27, 2008 @ 9:59 pm

I was quite surprised by this. Although I thought the Star Trek footage would have been pulled from some out of nowhere episode (too much to ask for obviously), the pacing works great for this one. The only things that nagged me is in comparison with the 40 year Star Trek clips, the Starship Troopers clips were far too clean, maybe aging the clips would’ve added to the authenticity. Also the extensive bug scene reuse was glaring, maybe sampling from all 3 Starship Trooper films would remedy this issue. (though the SFX in the 2 sequels are terrible in comparison, which might work better with ST:TOS – oh well).

EXTRAS SPOILERS BELOW!!

But seriously what was up with the extras? I was completely baffled by the Space Nazis clip

END SPOILERS ABOVE!!

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: September 15, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
8.0
Enjoyment 
 
8.0

Review by Istvan6 — May 24, 2009 @ 3:12 pm

*This rating was given before reviews were required*

Was this review helpful to you? 
19 results - showing 1 - 5  
1 2 3 4