Zombie Consecution: The True Fanedit Chronicles

Updated
 
8.0 (17)
3268 0 1 0 1

User reviews

7 reviews with 5-7 stars
17 reviews
 
41%
 
18%
 
41%
3-5 stars
 
0%
1-3 stars
 
0%
Enjoyment
 
8.0(0)
Back to Listing
7 results - showing 1 - 5
1 2
Ordering
(Updated: September 25, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
6.0
February 6, 2009

*This rating was given before reviews were required*
J
1 reviews
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 25, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
6.0
January 25, 2009

*This rating was given before reviews were required*
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 25, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
6.0
January 21, 2009

my review:

3raz0r – diary of a dying man – I did not care for this very much. The editing and sound are fine; however the basic plot was not conveyed well. The 2004 dawn of the dead footage does not match the other film sources and it should have been over dubbed (with better fitting music, no music or just something more atmospheric to fit), Instead you still hear the scenes somewhat uppity music.
I understand what the edits intentions were, I just do not think it was pulled off successfully. If the clips were arranged in a better order (like the news first, then Andy for a bit then back to the news, the end), and with some kind of better transition between the news and Andy then maybe. The switching between news footage and Andy kept making me think of a viewer just changing the channel on a tv. Great effort and idea, but not executed as well as it could have been – 2 stars

Horrorgrind – the virus – I got a kick out of the high camp factor and because I know how cheesy without any added effects this film already was. What I did not like about this short was that it felt like it ended in the middle of the story without a real good conclusion or even a final narration to sum it up before the credits rolled. – 2 stars

Mollo – das zombie – I am not sure why other people did not like this edit? This made sense to me and I love the way it was all put together nicely by mixing various film clips (and possible chromakey?). Very clever. 4 stars

CBB – voodoo island I liked this edit quite a bit. A very truncated edition of the
film classic ZOMBIE. In this edit, voodoo is blamed for a zombie outbreak. However what I did not like is the scene with the woman in the shower. For this particular edit it seemed to slow down the pace a bit. If that scene was shortend we would have had a better flow. 3 stars

Blueyoda – dead awake – Absolutely amazing edit that successfully combines the film Aliens with a number of other films to bring you Ripley fighting the living dead. I also recall Blueyoda getting some minor flack in the forums for ever presenting this idea. This totally blew my mind and in my view was the saving grace of this project – 5 stars

Aztek463 – school’s in session . Nicely done resident evil edit. This short worked well and played out nicely 4 stars

Tranzor- in 20 seconds I cannot review my own edit

Throwgncpr – dawn of the millennium – This was not a bad edit, but obviously to really enjoy this you need some kind of background or familiarity with the older tv show Millennium which I do not have. You get the general idea of what is going on but if you are not a fan of the show you would not fully “get” the edit

Stomachworm – 2 against the world – a very shortened version of planet terror. The only problem is that it is too short and feels very disjointed. It feels more like those old super 8 films where they took a 90 plus feature and had to sum it up in 8 mins. Not terrible, but if you never saw planet terror you would kind of be left in the dust 2 stars

Uncanny antman – surviving an undead uprising – Brilliant, short feature and everything that the Marx Brook’s zombie survival guide novel tried to accomplish and this edit does it in under 5 mins. Very enjoyable and a very fitting song to go with it. The second best edit for this project – 5 stars

The bonus shorts are great. I loved the fan made Marvel Zombies and I got a kick out of Ghostcut’s visit to ravenholm . The menu work done by Messenjah came out very nice.

Overall I am giving this disc a 3
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 25, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
6.0
January 20, 2009

*This rating was given before reviews were required*
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 25, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
6.0
January 19, 2009

Here’s my review for the 2nd True Fanedit project: Zombie Consecution.

:) As always I mean no personal disrespect or bias to the editor if I present a unfavorable review. I just like what I like, and dislike what I dont… :)

3Raz0r – Diary of a dying man : (3 stars) I liked the concept, but found the scenes from the movie distracting when compared to the “dairy” scenes. (3 stars)

Horrorgrind – The Virus: I loved the campyness of the source material but the second half feels tacked on and doesnt add much continuity to the short other than showing the virus has spread. (3 star)

Mollo – Das Zombie: I liked the visual effects/sound work but was very confused by this one as well there was too much jumping around and IMO Gabriel Byrne’s character could have easily been omitted (2 star)

CBB – Vodoo Island: I just didnt care for this one very much. Nothing was particularly wrong with it but other than the classic eye gouge scene this one bored me. (2 stars).

Blueyoda – Dead Awake: This was one of the standouts for me, so many different sources combined to make a thrilling new experience that was both coherent and entertaining (5 stars)

Aztek463 – School’s in Session: a fun subplot from RE2. well edited (3 stars)

ThrowgnCpr – Dawn of the Millennium: interesting but having never watched the show millenium i was a little confused. (2 stars)

Tranzor – In 20 Seconds: Another one that I was unfamiliar with the source material as well as the short story. Interesting but not my cup of tea (2 stars)

Stomachworm – 2 Against the World: I didnt have any problems with the editing because of the grainy/choppy source material. I am a fan of planet terror so I enjoyed this one even if it didnt surprise me at all. (3 star)

Uncanny Antman – Surviving an Undead Uprising: The second gem in this collection. Well edited and highly entertaining. It didnt hurt that I am a huge ‘Harvey Danger’ fan either! (5 stars)


Overall Score: 3/5



The 3 bonus materials were a nice addition to a stellar DVD package. The DVD art, layout and menu work really looks great. Kudos to ThrowgnCpr’s and Mollo’s hard work.

Like Boon mentioned in his review, after Batman Consecution I expected more from this one. Many of the edits presented here were just re-edited subplots taken from single films which really wasnt very impressive. I liked them all but preferred the edits that drew from multiple sources to make something new.

Regardless of my personal views and opinions I was still entertained by this project and appreciate and applaud every participants hard work. I never like to criticize things that I myself cannot do half as well, but honesty is the best policy. Hopefully I can churn something semi-respectable out for Consecution 3. :)
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
7 results - showing 1 - 5
1 2