Ugly West, The

 
9.0 (10)
1032   0   1   0   1

User reviews

10 reviews

 
(8)
 
(2)
5-7 stars
 
(0)
3-5 stars
 
(0)
1-3 stars
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
9.0
 
9.0  (3)
 
9.7  (3)
 
8.7  (3)
 
8.7  (3)
 
9.0  (10)
Back to Listing
10 results - showing 1 - 5  
1 2  
Ordering 
 
(Updated: March 08, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
9.7
Audio/Video Quality 
 
10.0
Visual Editing 
 
10.0
Audio Editing 
 
9.0
Narrative 
 
9.0
Enjoyment 
 
10.0

January 3, 2012 @ 6:02 am

I rewatched this recently and realized I hadn’t rated it or written a review. I’ll make it short and sweet.

Harmonica: Perfect. Loved it. The story flowed greatly considering all the major cuts TMBTM made. 10/10

Two Glorious Bastards: Amazing editing by Boon. Not only did he delete one of the three title characters with ease he did some incredible sound work. Sure, not all the Cash songs work well, but it was really well done. The only complaint about this one is the audio levels on a couple of the songs seemed a little high for my ears (sorry I don’t know the names of which songs). 9/10

EDITED TO ADD: I watched the "Making of" clip that details the sound editing work done. I wish I could give it a 9.5, a lot of work went into editing Two Glorious Bastards.

DVD: Awesome work. Menus are beautiful. Special Features are great, especially Boon’s explanation of the audio editing he did. And I always get a kick out of seeing a BlueYoda mashup. 10/10

Overall score: 9/10, Almost Perfect.

User Review

Do you recommend this edit?
Yes
Format Watched?
DVD
Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: September 03, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
10.0
Enjoyment 
 
10.0

February 23, 2011 @ 9:36 pm

Being a big fan of the TGTBTU full length movie and watched this with an open mind, as the cuts listed appeared to make it unwatchable, how wrong was I!

I really enjoyed the edit, it’s paced just right, you would never know that there’s any edits, even when you know there should be others in the scenes. It’s an 100% Eli & Clint movie, and I really like/admire these two actors. The sound track is good, however i thought the fade out on a couple of the tracks was too quick at fading out, and maybe should have been faded out much slower. Having said that the soundtrack is very well constucted, and a lot of work has been done to create it, and sounds great. Maybe a fan edit soundtrack release?

Really enjoyed it and I will watch it again, it’s a cracking take on the classic film, going to watch ‘Once Upon A Time In The West’ edit later and review shortly.

Review by chancer127 — February 27, 2011 @ 10:24 am

Having only seen Once Upon A Time In The West once many years ago i have very little recall of the original story.

First let me say that Henry Fonda plays one mean SOB and is truely menacing in this, due to the edit length he’s on screen quite a lot,he’s an actor that I never really thought about, he’s at the top of his game in this, well worth the veiwing to see him.

The two main actors Bronson and Fonda share most of the screen time in this edit, I enjoyed it very much, it played out like a TV western show (-the black fades outs i was expecting an advert to come on-)and purely because of it’s running time it felt like an episode of an old western tv show, to me anyway.(But far better content!)

I got a little confused in the last 10 minutes but once the edit played out and I worked out what had happened it’s genuis and very clever the way the edit has been constructed, but i did have to ‘think’ about it to work it out.

Enjoyed the movie and soundtrack THANKS.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
9.0
Audio/Video Quality 
 
8.0
Visual Editing 
 
10.0
Audio Editing 
 
9.0
Narrative 
 
9.0
Enjoyment 
 
9.0

Thank you Boon and TMBTM! :]X

User Review

Do you recommend this edit?
Yes
Format Watched?
DVD
Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: September 03, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
9.0
Enjoyment 
 
9.0

October 14, 2011 @ 4:36 pm

*This rating was given before reviews were required*

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: September 03, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
9.0
Enjoyment 
 
9.0

April 3, 2011 @ 2:52 am

*This rating was given before reviews were required*

Was this review helpful to you? 
10 results - showing 1 - 5  
1 2