Transformers (UA Edit)

Updated
 
8.9 (31)
2967 0 1 0 5

User reviews

31 reviews
 
55%
 
42%
 
3%
3-5 stars
 
0%
1-3 stars
 
0%
Overall rating
 
8.9
Audio/Video Quality
 
9.1(12)
Visual Editing
 
9.7(14)
Audio Editing
 
9.9(12)
Narrative
 
8.5(8)
Enjoyment
 
8.7(31)
Back to Listing
31 results - showing 11 - 15
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Ordering
(Updated: March 08, 2013)
Overall rating
 
9.3
Audio/Video Quality
 
10.0
Visual Editing
 
10.0
Audio Editing
 
10.0
Narrative
 
9.0
Enjoyment
 
9.0
September 18, 2011 @ 6:54 am

An incredibly enjoyable version of Transformers. Everything on the tech side was perfect and the movie worked wonders for me.

User Review

Do you recommend this edit?
Yes
Format Watched?
DVD
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 02, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
10.0
April 18, 2011 @ 5:23 pm

I’m an unapologetic Michael Bay fan. I own and enjoy every single one of his movies but that’s not to say that I think he’s a perfect director. His films (with maybe the exception of BAD BOYS and THE ROCK) are films that I love despite there being a lot of unnecessary crap in them. I’m able to look past said crap because the stuff that works really works for me. For a lot of people, it’s the exact opposite.

Uncanny Antman has tackled Bay before, with ECHO, his fanedit of THE ISLAND. With that, he took a movie that I thought was one of Bay’s strongest and excised the fat that just didn’t work. His treatment of TRANSFORMERS is very similar but much more agressive. He’s taken what is, admittedly, bloated action spectacle and turned it into a lean, mean, bit of destructive action filmmaking.

UA focuses solely on the story and this could’ve alternately been called “TRANSFORMERS: The ‘Get to the Point’ Edit”. The stupid humor is gone. Weird character tics and moments are excised. A lot of what passes for “character development” is gone. This will surely be a bone of contention for some people but it didn’t bother me. Mikaela is the victim of the brunt of these cuts but her role is essentially still the same: she’s the damsel in distress.

There are still a few humor moments here and there that still don’t work but I assume they couldn’t be cut for continuity reasons within the scene. The infamous “Transformers in the backyard” scene is still there too but, once again, I feel like this scene would be next-to-impossible to edit around. I like the fact that Optimus’s superfluous end speech has been removed but the shot seems kind of awkward without it. It reminds me of the scene extensions from BLADE RUNNER that were added for Deckard’s narration. In the Director’s Cut, they seemed awkward with the narration removed. All in all, I think this is the ultimate edit of TRANSFORMERS. I hope that UA will some day tackle REVENGE OF THE FALLEN.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 02, 2012)
Overall rating
 
6.5
Visual Editing
 
9.0
Enjoyment
 
6.0
March 14, 2011 @ 2:52 am

This movie stayed as ridiculous as I thought it would be, though the editor surely toned that down remarkably. I didn’t notice any crap editing, no problems that caught my attention, and the editing was all done well, but the movie still didn’t win me over.

Editing: 9/10, Fanedit Movie: 6/10 (and only because of the source material, which would probably rate as a 2 or 3 out of 10)
Well done, UncannyAntman!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 02, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
8.0
June 8, 2010 @ 1:35 am

*This rating was given before reviews were required*
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 02, 2012)
Overall rating
 
9.3
Audio/Video Quality
 
10.0
Visual Editing
 
9.0
Audio Editing
 
10.0
Enjoyment
 
9.0
April 16, 2010 @ 3:49 pm

Transformer (UA edit) by Uncanny Antman

review by boon23

Prologue:
I have been wanting to watch this fanedit for a long time, but somehow never got to it. Finally I did. As for all edits by Uncanny Antman, my expectations were pretty high, because he almost always delivers outstanding quality.
The original movie was not bad IMO, but never really good. It was superficial, had way too much stupid humor and the plot seemed to be the thing the movie cared not much about. Of course it wanted to show Transformers to an audience that grew up with the Hasbro toys – and that it totally did. Unfortunately I am not part of this generation. I never had a Transformer and other than knowing they exist and are toys, I knew nothing before I watched the movie.

As for all my reviews: this is just my personal opinion of this fanedit. I cannot tell anybody else, if he or she will experience it in the same way or the opposite. So my review is not objective and does not reflect the opinion of fanedit.org.

!!!!This review contains heavy spoilers!!!

The edit:
The fanedit started with what I did not like. The song in the beginning was a variation of the one from the main menu, obviously from some classic Transformers thing that I don’t know. I take it, this is a cool thing for the fans, but for someone unfamiliar with it, it just does not fit at all. The title credits are also not great.

But this is about all the bad stuff I can say about an otherwise great fanedit. We get a condensed, action-packed version of Transformers, where most of the stupid humor and the distractions are gone.

The characters and their changes:

Sam: It seemed impossible, but the Antman made me like Shia LaBeouf in this movie. By losing such an incredible mas of bad scenes and concentrating on the important parts he seems like just the type of anti-hero to like. Awesome achievement. Improvement factor: 100%

Mikaela: The relationship between Sam and Mikaela loses a lot of depth by deleting the sidetracks. In fact, Mikaela loses almost everything she ever had. we never learn why she is skilled with tools and cars or what she thinks of Sam and why. The original, although deeply flawed, took a lot more care about the relationship and to make it believable. It also presented Mikaela as a much more important and real person. Mikaela is the loser of this fanedit. Decrement factor: 90%

Captain Lennox: losing his back story he is now a true war hero. It feels a bit odd that he is presented as important when we get to know nothing about him, but still he is a lot more convincing in his role now. Improvement factor: 50%

Defense Secretary John Keller: he was really annoying at times int he original from what I recall. Now he is most of all helpful. We see him running around a lot. Not a great performance, but he is much more bearable now. Improvement factor: 50%

Agent Simmons: the major pain in the movie. His stupidity was just annoying. The movie could not 100% save him from being stupid, but he was so much believable as a weird expert of a super secret organization. In fact, he is not really a pain anymore. Incredible achievement. Improvement factor: 100%

Bumblebee: he is more likable and less childish. Big Improvement, especially for not pissing on Simmons. Improvement factor: 50%

Optimus Prime: He seems smarter, wiser and more like a true a leader. Thanks for deleting the final speech (although it felt like something was missing. Improvement factor: 50%

Back to the edit:
The streamlined action plot works really well, with a few exceptions: the Witwicky back garden scene and the autobots hiding is still akward and I think this should have been even more trimmed. The decepticon still turns into the Nokia cell, but this part is never continued. Other than that I was highly entertained and enjoyed all the cool changes. The new score worked great, the more mysterious all-spark was a wonderful idea. Sector 7 was much more serious and believable. all the worst parts of Transformers were masterfully addressed and turned into a magnificent improvement over the original.

editing: 9 of 10 (great and very creative editing decisions, no hard cuts, good plot development, but unfortunately we lose too much of Mikaela.)

entertainment: 8 of 10 (it was a good watching experience. Still not great, but far improved – the original got a 6 of 10 from me on imdb )

Image and video quality:
Perfect.

Audio editing and audio quality:
audio quality was perfect.
audio editing: 10 of 10
sound quality: 10 of 10
resulting in a 10 of 10 for overall audio

presentation:
The fanedit has no custom title. I did not like the menu music and the title score. The main menu and the extras menu look great and have awesome transitions. There is no chapter menu. The fanedit had quite some extras, most are additional internet videos with the outstanding and funny “no” video. Some sort of making of would have been great. The starting and end credits were self made but do not inform about the editor. The fanedit comes with nice cover art.
Overall: a nice package!
Great!
8 of 10 for overall presentation

Final result: 9 of 10
While it still is a superficial action movie, this is a highly entertaining and very improved version of Transformers. A huge achievement and I can definitely recommend this fanedit to anyone being in the mood to watch Transformers. It totally replaces my original.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
31 results - showing 11 - 15
1 2 3 4 5 6 7

Leave a Reply