Terminator Salvation: The Essential Edition

Updated
 
8.7 (18)
2635 0 1 0 6

User reviews

18 reviews
 
39%
 
56%
 
6%
3-5 stars
 
0%
1-3 stars
 
0%
Overall rating
 
8.7
Audio/Video Quality
 
9.6(7)
Visual Editing
 
9.8(6)
Audio Editing
 
9.8(6)
Narrative
 
8.0(6)
Enjoyment
 
8.4(18)
Back to Listing
18 results - showing 1 - 5
1 2 3 4
Ordering
(Updated: September 05, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
8.0
August 28, 2010 @ 10:44 pm

I find Terminator Salvation to be an odd movie – not nearly as bad as many of the reviews I’ve read, but not as good as it could have been. I find it to be a entertaining movie for the most part, providing a neat view of the post-Judgment Day world we’ve only seen hinted at.

Q2′s edit is not a terribly radical cut, but I find it works very well in removing some the stuff that didn’t work, mainly the Marcus introduction and the heart transplant. I also like spots where the machines now fail to recognize Kyle, especially in the Skynet Processing line.

I did have a few minor quibbles with the edits.
-When Marcus/Kyle/Star are fleeing the flying machine in their jeep, there’s a shot of Kyle clearly speaking but his dialogue is cut
-As others have noted, I found the transition to the attempted rape of Blair came to fast.
-Although the machines no longer recognize Kyle out in the field, when Marcus accesses the Skynet computer to find Kyle, his name is there clear as day.

As I said, these are minor quibbles only. It’s still a much better version to watch.

Tech is fantastic, per usual with a Q2 release. Video is very good on the DVD-5 and the AVCHD looks fantastic. Audio is consistently well done as well. The only issue I have with the tech is the lack of chapter stops – it would be nice to get some on future Q2 edits.

I will be watching this one again in the future.

Oops, forgot a score – 8/10.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
(Updated: September 05, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
8.0
August 19, 2012 @ 3:55 am

Q2′s work has served as an introduction to fan edits for me. I’ve always wanted to make one myself, but didn’t find this community until recently.

My first exposure to fan edit was Q2′s Phantom Menace. An amazing job technically (the pod race was an exceptional improvement), but unfortunately that movie just has a poor story line. I had high hopes but was moderately let down, due in no fault to the work of Q2.

Terminator Salvation, however, is a movie that exists for no other reason then balls to the wall action. Bale is psycho status in this one. For me, that’s a good thing. The film runs on pure adrenaline, and story comes second. All it needed to do was stay out of the way of the action. Leave it to McG to mess up a sure thing.

Yet now, somehow, this film has been redeemed. It would be impossible to remove every single cliché, wink/nudge, or poorly delivered line of dialog, but what Q2 has created is a VASTLY SUPERIOR film to the one I first saw in theaters 3 years ago.

The edit is absolutely seamless. The pacing perfect. At no point was I bored. Eye rolling was at a minimum. The new intro set the tone and clip perfectly for the rest of the film. And the new conclusion works better then I could have imagined it.

The only complaints I have left are aimed at the original film makers more then anything else. I still wish Helena Bonham Carter’s character could be completely eliminated. But I realize this would be extremely difficult to pull off (impossible?). And Anton Yelchin was horribly miscast. He becomes Michael Biehn? I think not.

Addressing other reviewers concerns:
I suppose the inability of Skynet to properly identify and handle Kyle Reese is a bit of a hole. It would make more sense if they never knew they even had him. Q2 addressed this somewhat, but there is still that one scene where it shows what cell Kyle is in.

I think the canceled attack of Skynet was handled beautifully. It cuts out an over the top speech (didn’t we already have enough of those?) and honestly, it was redundant in the first place. The commander on the sub explains it for us when he blatantly says “They wont attack unless Connor gives the order” If your dialog is unabashed exposition, at least don’t make it repetitive exposition.

Finally, the transition to the attempted rape of Moon Bloodgood’s character seemed totally fluid to me. Not really sure where people’s complaints are coming from on this one.

Wrapping up, I’d give the original movie a 6/10. I’d give Q2s version an 8/10.
I’ll be burning this copy for all my friends. (Yes they own the original) And I cant wait to see what else this community has to offer me. Cheers!
D
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Overall rating
 
9.3
Audio/Video Quality
 
10.0
Visual Editing
 
10.0
Audio Editing
 
10.0
Narrative
 
9.0
Enjoyment
 
9.0
Although I never really disliked this movie as so many others did, it was still not as good as it could have been. Q2 has turned it into a vastly superior film to the original, the editing is perfect and the pacing is much improved and at no point was I bored like a few times in the original. The new intro set the tone perfectly for the rest of the film and the new conclusion also works better then the original. So thanks Q2 for improving this movie and turning it into how a Terminator should be and a worthy inclusion into the series.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 05, 2012)
Overall rating
 
9.2
Audio/Video Quality
 
10.0
Enjoyment
 
9.0
August 25, 2010 @ 4:21 am

This edit was, technically speaking, perfect. No hard audio cuts, no flash frames, audio levels were even throughout, video was absolutely beautiful for a DVD5, hell, even for a DVD period.

As for the edit, great as well. One comment, though. First was the cutting of the scenes before John goes out to scope out Skynet. While it worked, we’re left with the small issue that the Resistance cells suddenly just refuse to attack. Why was this? Cutting the scene was fine as far as pacing, but left a gap in the story. Where is Connor going? Do his men know he’s putting himself on the line? Why isn’t the Resistance attacking?

At any rate, a minor quibble. Well done. So very well done. Video was great, audio was great. Edits were seamless. This is definitely worthy of its fanedit of the month title.

9/10
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 05, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
9.0
July 4, 2010 @ 9:07 pm

*This rating was given before reviews were required*
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
18 results - showing 1 - 5
1 2 3 4

Leave a Reply