Superman: Son of Jor-El

Updated
 
9.1 (25)
7698 0 1 0 11

User reviews

25 reviews
 
80%
 
20%
5-7 stars
 
0%
3-5 stars
 
0%
1-3 stars
 
0%
Overall rating
 
9.1
Audio/Video Quality
 
9.4(14)
Audio Editing
 
9.5(10)
Visual Editing
 
9.1(11)
Narrative
 
8.5(10)
Enjoyment
 
8.9(25)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Back to Listing
25 results - showing 11 - 15
1 2 3 4 5
Ordering
(Updated: September 12, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
9.0
Review by geminigod — August 25, 2011 @ 8:07 pm

Nicely done. The focus on father son story is great. Unfortunately Lex Luthor is an inescapable detraction from this new story. He is necessary and yet totally unnecessary now. It seems like there needs to be at least one or two scenes with him earlier and with him discovering Supermans fortress of solitude.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 12, 2012)
Overall rating
 
9.0
Audio/Video Quality
 
10.0
Enjoyment
 
8.0
Review by Kal-El — August 18, 2011 @ 1:10 am

Being a huge fan of everything Superman related, I already downloaded this upon release, but failed to watch it ever since. Now the time has finally come, and I hereby present my review.
_____________________________________
TECHNICAL ASPECTS

VIDEO:
No rough cuts or anything of that kind, whatsoever. Flawlessly executed.
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars

AUDIO:
Didn’t notice anything out of the ordinary.
Overall:
5 out of 5 stars

PRESENTATION:
Clean and simple. Effective too. Quite funny to see the \CapedWonder\ logo on the Special Features menu. I instinctively knew where that came from :-)
Overall: 4 out of 5 stars

THE EDIT ITSELF:
A few mishaps caught my eye, so I’ll detail them all below:

During the rogue rocket scene, Superman’s fly by scene starts at night,
and immediately shifts to daytime when he’s on to the rocket.

The front page of the newspaper Lois is holding first shows the \How I Spent the Night With Superman\ article, but in the next shot (from Superman II), the front page shows \Lex Luthor’s Scheme Bombs, Superman Saves Nation\.

The first encounter on the moon was also over 20 minutes before the second encounter, where they destroyed the lunar lander. It’s not that big a thing, but it was kind of odd to jump back to the moon all of a sudden, after all that time on Earth.

I’m glad Lois’ second try to plunge herself into revealing Clark has been removed, in favour of her plot to reveal Superman’s identity through use of blank bullets. The obvious fault of Richard Donner footage remains (Reeve’s hairline), but that doesn’t make any difference. It’s material of epic proportions. Nevertheless, as mentioned by Stankpac, it all happens too fast. She \knew all along\, when only a single day had passed. I was pleased to see Lois figuring it out so fast, but this was a tad too much. It still beats Superman Returns though. Stupid broad.

The baffled fisherman has been removed from the Kryptonian’s entrance onto Earth. Perfect.

To my horror, the one scene I had hoped removed, was not only intact, but the wrong version as well… Superman slept with Lois BEFORE losing his powers. That leads straight into Superman Return’s events, and we all know how I feel about that one. Oh well…

The guy who was standing in the corner of the diner, near the flower pot above a beaten Clark, disappeared from the following angle when Lois helped Clark up. L8 and Jelio couldn’t have possibly fixed this, but I just noticed it. That’s all. No biggie.

Seeing Luthor appear out of nowhere is both funny and awkward. He sort of introduces himself anyway, so that clears the air a bit, but it remains faintly odd nonetheless. Nothing I can’t live with.

Although that unfortunately all changed in the minutes to come. Having trimmed Luthor down to an extended cameo does bring up other issues. Luthor not only reveals Superman’s origins to Zod, but also knows the location of the Fortress of Solitude. He also knows Superman and Lois are an item. If you thought Lois was quick in revealing Superman, check out Luthor! What did he do? Read the newspaper article of Lois’ night with Supes, and read between the lines? These are some big plotholes. If it weren’t for his presence in the Fortress however, Luthor could have easily been left out altogether. During those Fortress scenes, Superman and Luthor’s conversations also indicated a shared history, which in this edit, they haven’t.

Also, in both instances Superman steps into the chamber, the person inside looks nothing like Christopher Reeve, especially the first time. Can anyone confirm this? What’s up with that?

Ahh, no memory-wiping kiss, or no turning back time. Lois knows… Just like in the comics. Sweet justice.
_____________________________________
FINAL SCORE: 4 out of 5 stars
_____________________________________
For this edit: 8 out of 10 stars. It’s a far better Superman movie than Lex Luthor’s obsession with soil could have ever been, but there are some holes in that cheese that just don’t cut it. It could have been 9, or even 10, but that ball has left the park. Too bad.
DEFINITELY RECOMMENDABLE THOUGH!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 12, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
10.0
Review by Sunarep — August 14, 2011 @ 10:58 pm

Three letters to describe this edit: WOW

I have rarely been that impressed with an edit. Seeing as there will very soon be a great version of Superman Returns I was looking for good versions of the original seeing as Superman was the thing that brought me into fanediting. I really enjoy Superman I and II, but there is a lot of camp that can’t be taken with a straight face anymore and sadly seeing as we haven’t yet had an updated good version of Superman the originals are the ones to show to the uninitiated and they provoke smiles more than awe most of the time.

The reason is that we fans see behind the flaws, see the fantastic ideas of heroism and all the things that make superman the definitive Superhero, but even the most diehard fans can defend many of the scenes.

Having downloaded this just to watch a new take on superman I was not only taken by surprise but awe. Going 2.5 hours this edit is not only good, it is outstanding. It takes everything that is great of the original and shows us why these movies are so beloved, why they keep get referenced by the likes of Christopher Nolan and Sam Raimi as the example of how to adapt a comic.

Technically the edit is almost flawless except one audio glitch when Vito Corleone starts to explain the universe to Superman. The editing fits, the story is fantastic and adding Lois’s realization that Clark is Superman right after the interview makes everything more awesome (basically this edit takes the only good idea of the trainwreck that was Green Lantern and insterts it right into Superman).
Others have pointed out that the bad guys stay some time on the moon and I was bothered with that for only a few moments, when I realized that they might just be toying with their powers and starting it slow.

Now to the problem almost all the reviews have mentioned: Lex Luthor. His sudden reveal is a bit drastic I must admit and yeah it is strange that he knows everything about Superman… but frankly I can take this over Luthor’s prison hologram and any of his escapes any day. Truth is, there will never be a definitive version of Superman and there is a reason why after Star Wars Superman is the most often fanedited franchise (I guess it is): there will always be problems.

But seeing as how much bad things there are in the originals, or how unsatisfying some other fanedits of Superman are, Lex Luthor is such a minor problem, I can’t begrudge anything. This edit has thrilled me so much it will be the fourth edit I will eagerly show to friends, to convince them of Superman. If any movie can make cynics believe that a man can fly it will be this one.

Fantastic work to both editors, keep it up, this edit is an outstanding example of what fanediting can do. 10/10

On a technical note, the customized titles just show the love at work, customary titles is something we rarely see, especially not very complex ones, so I appreciate the time L8 took after he was already finished to give us the best possible experience. Even more, Zack Snyder’s reboot would only need to adapt this edit with better effects minus Luthor and it would be a smash hit.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 12, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
10.0
Review by steelio2006 — June 21, 2011 @ 3:29 pm

*This rating was given before reviews were required*
S
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 12, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
9.0
Review by veggieguy12 — March 14, 2011 @ 3:11 am

*This rating was given before reviews were required*
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
25 results - showing 11 - 15
1 2 3 4 5