Star Trek Review Extravaganza

Updated
 
8.8 (12)
2154 0 1 0 1

User reviews

12 reviews
 
42%
 
58%
5-7 stars
 
0%
3-5 stars
 
0%
1-3 stars
 
0%
Overall rating
 
8.8
Audio/Video Quality
 
7.7(3)
Visual Editing
 
9.7(3)
Audio Editing
 
9.7(3)
Narrative
 
9.7(3)
Enjoyment
 
8.3(12)
Back to Listing
12 results - showing 6 - 10
1 2 3
Ordering
(Updated: September 15, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
8.0
Review by Sunarep — September 26, 2010 @ 2:55 pm

*This rating was given before reviews were required*
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 15, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
8.0
Review by flyboy707 — January 11, 2010 @ 8:49 pm

I rated this FE an “8″ not for the edit itself, but for the content. I absolutely loved the Star Wars review from RedLetterMedia. The SW version was as hilarious as it was a true de-construction of cinema. The Star Trek version isn’t that. At a point in the SW version, the narrator mentions his Star Trek review version. Since watching that segment, I had been really looking forward to watching the Star Trek version. To me, the star trek version isn’t as funny – it’s still funny, but not hilarious. Of course, die-hard star tek fans will probably enjoy it more than I did.

On the technical side of the FE, it’s fine Nothing extravagant, but a good solid cut with all the material accessible from a static menu.

Although I wasn’t as happy with the star trek version, I am still hoping that the RedLetterMedia gang will continue with prooducing reviews.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Overall rating
 
8.2
Audio/Video Quality
 
7.0
Visual Editing
 
10.0
Audio Editing
 
10.0
Narrative
 
10.0
Enjoyment
 
7.0
Redlettermedia have made quite a name for themselves over the years...especially in the wake of ever growing criticism of the Star Wars brand, so it's interesting to take a look at some of their earlier work with the TNG Star Trek movies, four very flawed films which seemed to delight in deconstructing everything grand about the Next Generation tv series in favor of Hollywood action shlock.

Redlettermedia, via character critic "Mr. Plinkett", a man who thinks these movies are the biggest disappointment since his son, examines the movies in a darkly subversive comedic fashion, which aligns with just how bleak and depressing most of the TNG movies are.

Not even the most light hearted of them, Insurrection, is spared as it's special effects are compared to that of Babylon 5, it's cheap locations and fashions given a pecking, and there's an erection joke aimed at Picard's youthful exuberance on the planet. Of all the reviews, the ones with the most energy put into taking them apart are First Contact and Insurrection...and they are by far the most fun. By the time we get to Nemesis, you're as depressed as Plinkett is and you''re left reflecting on just bleak Trek movies have mostly been since then
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 15, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
7.0
Review by Matt_Jensen — April 12, 2010 @ 4:20 pm

*This rating was given before reviews were required*
M
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 15, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
7.0
Review by joebshmoe — April 12, 2010 @ 7:00 am

*This rating was given before reviews were required*
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
12 results - showing 6 - 10
1 2 3

Leave a Reply