Star Trek 3 “Resurrection”

Updated
 
8.9 (15)
3240 0 1 0 2

User reviews

5 reviews with 7-9 stars
15 reviews
 
67%
 
33%
5-7 stars
 
0%
3-5 stars
 
0%
1-3 stars
 
0%
Overall rating
 
8.9
Audio/Video Quality
 
8.6(5)
Visual Editing
 
9.0(5)
Audio Editing
 
9.3(4)
Narrative
 
8.8(5)
Enjoyment
 
8.8(15)
Back to Listing
5 results - showing 1 - 5
Ordering
(Updated: August 03, 2016)
Overall rating
 
8.3
Audio/Video Quality
 
9.0
Visual Editing
 
9.0
Audio Editing
 
9.0
Narrative
 
8.0
Enjoyment
 
8.0
Review by Neglify — August 2, 2012 @ 8:25 am

Bob doesn’t fully resurrect Star Trek 3 but it’s a heck of a lot better. Another enjoyable Bionically Enhanced Trek movie!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 15, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
8.0
Review by UnkwnFactor — January 11, 2011 @ 12:04 am

A great edit making a very mediocre “phoned-in” performance movie watchable.

The original movie is #2 of my most loathed Trek movies (ST V being #1 and ST IX tying with ST V) and Bob made it watchable for me. This is another great turn in his trek series and Bob does his best to make it work.

I simply loved the re-ordering of the two story lines – the movie as a whole is now so much more exciting and comprehensible and really shows how determined Kirk and crew are to get Spock. I would have to say, in my humble newbie opinion, that there is just no other way to make some of the other characters (namely the Capts) any better. Bob does his best, but they are just too weak to really do much.

and…THANK you for removing the Bones earthbound sub-plot. I have always thought it was just too silly and poorly written to ever work for me.

Like L8wrtr, I will only watch this version of ST 3, never will I reach for the original again. I hate to echo L8wrtr, but he made a very good point about BionicBob’s series: he has run the gamut of FE for me too.

(Okay, so the video still suffers from quality issues, but as i have said in my other reviews: it didn’t bother me because the edit is so engaging.)
U
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 15, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
8.0
Review by DwightFry78 — October 27, 2010 @ 6:16 pm

So far this is probably the best of the Bionic Trek series! Both The V’Ger Incident and Perdition’s Flames were good, but I ultimately preferred the originals. However, Star Trek: Resurrection leaves me with no reason to ever watch The Search for Spock again. The original Star Trek III is, for my tastes, the weakest of the movies starring the original cast, and while BionicBob’s version retains some of the problems -namely having the worst acting in the whole saga (except for McCoy, I really like McCoy in this one); Klingons, and also Vulcans, speaking English to each other; a villain that isn’t threatening enough (the part called for a sinister Christopher *Lee* type, not the always likable and therefore wrongly cast Christopher *Lloyd*); and Kirk being so slow as to have to check the video log to find out who’s hosting Spock’s mind AFTER seeing McCoy behaving Spockly- but thanks to this very talented faneditor I no longer get the feeling that virtually nothing happens in the whole movie, and the pacing improves 500%. It went from quite boring to a lot of fun, I never thought I could enjoy ST III so much! This is the version that’s canon for me from now on.

Unfortunately, as with the rest of the Bionic Trek edits, the video is not anamorphic, and also it turns “combed” (as in interlaced) whenever TOS footage is used. Too bad, these technical flaws prevent me from giving it a higher rating. Video and audio are otherwise very good. On the other hand, I liked the self-destruct sequences comparison in the DVD extras, a nice featurette, and kudos to Nimoy and Harve Bennett for being consistent with TOS.

This is overall a very good fanedit that almost reaches excellency. Make it anamorphic, lose the video log part, and fix the combing, and this would have gotten a 10/10 from me. As it is, it’s an 8/10. I’m eagerly awaiting Full Circle!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 15, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
8.0
Review by havok1977 — October 25, 2010 @ 5:47 pm

*This rating was given before reviews were required*
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Overall rating
 
7.9
Audio/Video Quality
 
7.0
Visual Editing
 
8.0
Audio Editing
 
8.0
Narrative
 
8.0
Enjoyment
 
8.0
Review by Sunarep — October 27, 2010 @ 5:58 PM

It’s been a while since I watched search for spock, so it’s not that fresh in my head.

anywho, this edit like the other two bionicbob edits is a fun quick ride. I always liked Search for Spock but I was never a fan of spock’s “puberty” and with that thing gone in the edit it really becomes more enjoyable, similar to perdition’s flames we spend most time with Kirk and Co and where Perdition’s Flames felt like a Season Finale Episode, this edit is the Season Opener, bringing back the Crew and Spock, it hurt a little thinking how awesome a series like this could have been… well…

Presenting it in the frame of a TV series also has it’s advantages, the death scene of the antagonist looks bad by today’s standards (maybe even back then) but with the TV-theme in mind this looks totally intentional, like the bad video quality of TMBTM’s war of the stars, so the special effects enhance the TV-feeling a lot
Also the fact that in Perdition’s Flames we never saw the scene with McCoy adds to the TV-feeling. If only these edits would exist it would feel as if they killed of Spock at the end of Season 4 to shock us and when the new series rolled they had to come up with something that was never hinted at, why Spock is now back – works really funny (in a good way). Also everything fits, the story (like perdition’s flames) works tremendously well even without many cool scenes from the original

The only thing I didn’t like was the ending montage of spock’s memory, the idea of playing it reverse the second time. The idea per-se is not bad, i just don’t like the fact that they are static images, which makes it look more like a picture compilation than a montage for a movie… but i understand that it’s quite the work to get all those specific scenes together, so i don’t wanna be too harsh

At the end of the movie it says: To be concluded… i hope not, I hope that Bob will also tackle Star Trek V and VI… hell I’d be curious if he could turn Star Trek XI in a TV-Movie like the rest

Where does it stand in Bob’s Trilogy?

I’d rank Bob’s edits like this:

3) V’ger Incident – 7/10
2) Ressurection – 8/10
1) Perdition’s Flames – 8/10

Flames had the best overall balance, the fades to black worked so well. They are still cool in Ressurection but Flames was just perfect timing, also Flames had the best opening, like a classical star trek episode, which got me immediately hooked, but Ressurection is recommendable as well
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
5 results - showing 1 - 5