Star Trek 2 “Perdition’s Flames”

Updated
 
8.9 (17)
1916 0 1 0 0

User reviews

7 reviews with 7-9 stars
17 reviews
 
59%
 
41%
5-7 stars
 
0%
3-5 stars
 
0%
1-3 stars
 
0%
Overall rating
 
8.9
Audio/Video Quality
 
8.2(9)
Visual Editing
 
9.2(9)
Audio Editing
 
9.0(7)
Narrative
 
9.0(8)
Enjoyment
 
8.9(17)
Back to Listing
7 results - showing 1 - 5
1 2
Ordering
Overall rating
 
8.6
Audio/Video Quality
 
7.0
Visual Editing
 
8.0
Audio Editing
 
8.0
Narrative
 
9.0
Enjoyment
 
9.0
The bad:
DVD is not anamorphic, Image looks funny on widescreen TVs. (I ended up ripping the DVD, cropping the image, and re-encoding a disc of my own.)

The good:
Apparently, everyone loves wrath of Khan. It's supposed to be the film that saved star trek. I was born after the classic Trek era. I grew up with TNG. The first Star Trek movie I remember seeing in theatres was First Contact.

Compared to First Contact, WOK is slow and boring (with a glaring continuity error right in the opening). It's not a bad film, it has a lot of redeeming qualities. There is a lot of dramatic irony, the plot is good, the characters are dynamic. It makes for an excellent study in technically proficient storytelling, but it was never a lot of fun for me. (Also, Ricardo Montalbán is the biggest Ham in the universe, right?)

This edit... well it made the film fun. The story moves more quickly, there is mystery and tension. Shatner seems like a great actor. What little we se of Khan makes him tolerable (even enjoyable). Also, the continuity problems have been amended.


On the whole, a fantastic edit. My go to copy of WOK.

User Review

Do you recommend this edit?
Yes
Format Watched?
DVD
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 15, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
7.0
Review by DwightFry78 — October 5, 2010 @ 8:38 am

*This rating was given before reviews were required*
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 15, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
8.0
Review by jelio — September 3, 2010 @ 1:51 am

*This rating was given before reviews were required*
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 15, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
8.0
Review by tranzor — September 28, 2010 @ 1:08 am

I really enjoyed this edit and it was a great send off for me since I just finished watching all of the episodes from the original series.

I have not seen Khan in years, but the creative editing take to keep it the focal point from Kirk’s view as much as possible worked pretty darn well.
Though I do believe (as well as many others) Khan as the best of the Star trek film’s I really need to watch it again in whole with consideration to the vast jump in age since I had previously seen it.

I think many will find your edit very interesting.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 15, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
8.0
Review by TMBTM — September 21, 2010 @ 10:41 pm\

I agree with most of Rogue-theX review.
I never was a Trek fan but this edit did it to me. I can understand that less Khan can be a letdown to some but to me it was nice. I prefer the story to reveal bit by bit what happened. Hitchcock said that suspens is when the audience knows more than the protagonists, but sometime I just prefer to be in the characters shoes and discovering things along with them. That was the point of view of most of the original series episodes IIRC and I think it is well done here.
(and to be frank, even if Ricardo Montalban is an awesome actor and plays Khan in a very “high in color” way, I never took his character too seriously to be a really good vilain, but it’s just me)
The funeral was quite touching, new music along the edit works quite good (and stay after the end credit: nice little found here!)
The edit could have been even shorter though, I think.
My only major problem is technical and deals once again with the 4:3 letterboxed (2.35:1) ratio, but as the first “V’ger” edit also was presented this way I guess I need to take it as a continuity thing and just thanks bionicbob for making once again a Trek edit that I liked!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
7 results - showing 1 - 5
1 2

Leave a Reply