Star Trek Nemesis – Recut

 
8.4 (6)
1825   0   1   0   0

User reviews

6 reviews

 
(3)
 
(3)
5-7 stars
 
(0)
3-5 stars
 
(0)
1-3 stars
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
8.4
 
8.5  (2)
 
9.5  (2)
 
9.0  (1)
 
8.0  (1)
 
8.2  (6)
Back to Listing
6 results - showing 1 - 5  
1 2  
Ordering 
 
(Updated: September 15, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
9.0
Enjoyment 
 
9.0

Review by mullholland665 — July 5, 2010 @ 12:57 pm

Great stuff.The story is now super tight and the cuts are well chosen. By removing the nonsense, the editor has turned a mediocre Star Trek flick into what feels like a tense double episode of Next Generation. The time really flies by – I didn’t find the pace was inappropriate at any stage of the movie.

Nemesis was far from the best way for Piccard’s crew to farewell the Star Trek franchise, but I think the editor has done everything possible to improve it here.

One negative: a bit disappointed at the video resolution of the DVD disc. Looked a bit too compressed to me!

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: September 15, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
9.0
Enjoyment 
 
9.0

Review by havok1977 — July 9, 2010 @ 4:19 am

*This rating was given before reviews were required*

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: September 15, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
9.0
Enjoyment 
 
9.0

Review by jelio — August 23, 2010 @ 5:04 am

*This rating was given before reviews were required*

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: September 15, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
8.6
Audio/Video Quality 
 
10.0
Visual Editing 
 
10.0
Enjoyment 
 
8.0

Review by flyboy707 — June 24, 2010 @ 10:35 pm

I consider this movie (not the edit, but the original) to be the “Star Trek V” of the Next Generation movies. It’s chock full of silly humor, poor acting and dialogue, actions not in line with the established characters. I really was not sure if a regular “scene edit” of this movie was really going to make it any better.

Having said that, I completely agree with every single edit that El Diablo Suizo has made. It is as though he personally asked me what should be removed from this movie. Gone is nearly everything that irritated me about ST Nemesis. In fact, I might have removed a little bit more.

Unfortunately, removal of so much of the silliness, bad jokes and goofy action, has made this movie very slow. With the exception of a few short scenes, this edit somewhat drags on in mediocrity and slow exposition for the first 41 minutes. El Diablo Suizo is spot on with his edits, but because the source material is so weak, the edit tends to be slow paced initially. Contradictorily, I still prefer this edit to the original.

Technically, El Diablo Suizo has created a great edit. Perfect cuts. Excellent scene to scene cohesion and the audio (dialogue, effects etc) follows it perfectly. Only one small spot, about 27 minutes into the edit, was there a very small “hard audio” cut. It is the scene with Data, Picard, Geordi and the Doctor discussion the theleron (sp?) particles. Data looks at a med screen with the particles displayed, for about 3 seconds, and then the scene cuts to Shinzon (sp?) on his ship. It seemed like the music kicked in a little abruptly. A minor contention. Everything else is perfect.

Audio 5/5 Video 5/5 Edit skills 5/5

I gave this edit 8 stars only because the movie is so slow paced that first 41 minutes. Again, not truly the fault of El Diablo Suizo. He cut what I as an audience wanted. The source material is just that weak and he wasn’t left with much to work with. Still, this edit is well worth the D/L because I found it to much more watchable than the original. I didn’t “wince” once through the entire edit.

***After thought: maybe this movie could be much better served/improved as an “episode” edit. What I mean is, maybe editing this like the “In Thy Own Image” or “V’Ger” edits. Throw in TNG original sound effects, music, scenes etc. Just a thought. *****

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
7.6
Audio/Video Quality 
 
7.0
Visual Editing 
 
9.0
Audio Editing 
 
9.0
Narrative 
 
8.0
Enjoyment 
 
7.0

I disagree with a previous reviewer that this was the “Star Trek V” of the TNG films. In my book, “Insurrection” takes that honor. It was much more an extended tv episode as opposed to a feature film.

With that said I really enjoyed “Nemesis – Recut”. All the BS is cut and the film now skips along at a nice pace. It never drags and remains interesting throughout. Is it a great film? No, but then one can only do so much with the source material.

Two things I would like to see if Suizo ever decides to revisit this project: cut the final scene with B4 leaving Data’s death more tragic, and try to incorporated the deleted scene. With the Blu-Ray out now, that scene might be of higher quality and matting a star-field onto the green screen might be easier.

I did notice a few stutters of the picture quality, most noticeably in the very beginning and the end. Some other shots were a little soft, but nothing that was distracting. The audio is stereo and I really would have liked a 5.1 mix.

Overall I give this 7 stars.

User Review

Do you recommend this edit?
Yes
Was this review helpful to you? 
6 results - showing 1 - 5  
1 2