Star Trek – Kirkless Generations

Updated
 
8.5 (25)
4766 0 1 0 4

User reviews

10 reviews with 7-9 stars
25 reviews
 
56%
 
40%
 
4%
3-5 stars
 
0%
1-3 stars
 
0%
Overall rating
 
8.5
Audio/Video Quality
 
8.2(6)
Audio Editing
 
9.2(5)
Visual Editing
 
8.2(6)
Narrative
 
8.4(5)
Enjoyment
 
8.7(25)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Back to Listing
10 results - showing 1 - 5
1 2
Ordering
(Updated: September 15, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
7.0
Review by kerr — November 19, 2010 @ 8:58 pm

*This rating was given before reviews were required*
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 15, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
7.0
Review by Kevinicus — September 6, 2010 @ 6:03 am

I didn’t know about this edit until about a week ago, and just watched it today. I always thought Generations was my favorite Star Trek of the Next Gen batch, and I think I remembered it a lot better than it really was. I was curious about this fanedit, because I thought the ending would be a little difficult to work around, and wanted to see how it was handled.

My concerns were confirmed when it got to the climax. While it’s not done too bad, it was pretty noticeable to me. Also, the fade effect thing to get out of the Nexus, while it technically works, just came across a little iffy to me.

Really, removing Kirk didn’t do anything for me since I never really minded him much to begin with, and I felt something was missing with all the references to the older Enterprise. There were however a lot of parts (particularly with Data) that I found myself wishing had been removed.

Overall it’s okay, and the movie being a lot cheesier than I remember doesn’t help. Perhaps it’s the stark contrast to the most recent Star Trek that makes this a pretty bad movie in comparison.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 15, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
8.0
Review by DwightFry78 — May 8, 2010 @ 12:05 am

*This rating was given before reviews were required*
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 15, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
8.0
Review by stubbs20 — June 21, 2009 @ 9:26 am

*This rating was given before reviews were required*
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: October 14, 2012)
Overall rating
 
8.6
Audio/Video Quality
 
9.0
Audio Editing
 
9.0
Visual Editing
 
9.0
Narrative
 
9.0
Enjoyment
 
7.0
Review by spelledaren — June 15, 2009 @ 11:03 pm

This edit certainly improved on what was a badly written movie, but the sad truth is that it’s still kinda crappy. Boon has done the right choices throughout, for which I’m happy. But it’s still just so stupid!

There was one audio transition that was highly noticable around the end fight, something I did not expect due to my earlier viewings of cbb productions.. I assume that the fight was the hardest part to edit, and that it was the best way out. The hand knocking down Soren doen’t really look like it fits, but I’ll buy it.

I’m not entirely pleased, yet impressed by other parts. I’m rating this 8 out of 10, as I don’t think it stands up to other edits that have reached a 9 from me..

If you missed that part: this is better than the original.

Update Oct 14, 2012.

Added ratings for the categories. Enjoyment down to 7.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
10 results - showing 1 - 5
1 2