Space Consecution

Updated
 
7.3 (19)
2770 0 1 0 3

User reviews

19 reviews
 
11%
 
68%
 
16%
 
5%
1-3 stars
 
0%
Enjoyment
 
7.3(0)
Back to Listing
19 results - showing 11 - 15
1 2 3 4
Ordering
(Updated: September 25, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
7.0
casmirradon - dec 31 2009

*This rating was given before reviews were required*
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 25, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
7.0
Rock Savage - Dec 29 2009

Space Consecution: A Review by Mollo

As the DVD menu opens there is a really brilliant opening title sequence to the menu. This sets the tone for the project perfectly.

First up is:

Wall-E Fantasy by TMBTM

There is quite a contrast in the production design of Wall-E and Final Fantasy but the editing is very good, seamless. There are some excellent special effects created by TMBTM, which integrate the two sources very well. As for story, it is slight and felt like it ended too soon. That is a good thing right? 8/10

Alien Elements by ThrownCpr

A lingering opening credit starts an atmospheric short. The arrival to earth is done perfectly. Also the ending is beautifully cut. The opening Predator introduction where it talks feels a little rushed. Also the Predator POV’s felt odd. Over all a good effort that shows moments of real perfection. 8/10

Humans Are Limited by Adabisi

I was expecting some more radical changes but there are none. It feels like a very long teaser trailer for the original. Still the editing is crisp and it has a story to tell. The ending worked well but some more time could have been spent on an opening and ending credit sequence. 6/10

Aggressive Negotiations by Uncanny Antman

Not being familiar with these animated films posed no problems. This is a fun an action-packed addition. It is seamlessly cut and more importantly I enjoyed it. The Jedi do seem totally invincible against all that hardware, so an element of threat is missing. I mean after the opening battle they are not even out of breath. 8/10

Star Wars: Episode II.I by Gaith

Is this the first documentary to make a Consecution? There are syncing issues and I am not sure what the point of the short is as the asteroid chase is featured in the theatrical? I am unsure how to rate this but as a part of Space Consecution it feels out of place. 2/10

Mayflower Madness by M77

It is always nice to has some comedy injected into the proceedings and I think it is harder to pull off. There are a few rough edits and most jokes fall flat in my opinion. The ending was what was needed. The decision to do an out and out comedy was a good one. 6/10

Klone by Elbarto1

This begins very well. I like the credits, very subtle, nice font and seamless. This short FanEdit grabs you and sucks you in. It works on a higher level and I really enjoyed it. I loved towards the end the dream and the integrated footage from Sunshine. The sound design was faultless too. Great ending. Great work Elbarto1, you should be very proud and pleased with yourself. Your skill and talent is ever growing. 10/10

Humans Are Limitless by Blueyoda

…and so to the last of the short FanEdits. Very nice opening logos with brilliant sound design. This begins so well and then turns into MTV?!!!? Maybe a better song would have helped but I think not. What am I watching? I struggled through but it simply appeared as a collection of images strung together with endless music and sound bites. Logic appears absent. Then Blueyoda purposely throws a spanner into the works by using his own icon. The final credit bears no repeating and is hard to take, for that alone I feel that this is the real shocker of the set. Still very good technique and sound design. A story would have helped. 5/10

As a whole this is not a bad collection of short FanEdits. It shows a lot of evolving talent particularly by ThrownCpr, Blueyoda and Elbarto1. Uncanny and TMBTM continue to prove their mastery of this medium. The brightest star for me is Klone by Elbarto1.

I enjoyed Space Consecution and that is the main thing isn’t it?
R
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 25, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
8.0
spelledaren - dec 29 2009

Great work you guys. This makes 4/4 consecutions that I have really enjoyed watching. 8 / 10 for the whole project.

Wall-E Fantasy: Sweet! I was so pleased that the FF parts worked so well! Nicely done sir! 8 out of 10 for excellence in editing, even if the story is somewhat lacking.

Alien Elements: Hehe, funny start, even if parts of it didn’t look exactly right. Really good choices from the AvP movie I think. A little rushed, a little weird, but totally enjoyable. 7/10.

Humans are Limited: I like this, but it’s basicly just a parrt of the movie. I mean, it’s a great great part, and has a different ending (that I like), but I like it when people try to do something more of their own. 6/10 for me.

Aggressive Negotiations: This works really well as an episode in the series. It feels complete! Not a big fan of the animated SW though, and it’s not creating something new. But I really liked the feeling we got from it all, so 7/10.

Star Wars: Episode II.I: Odd…not a short story! And sync issues. Sorry. Liked a little bit of it, for 2/10.

Mayflower Madness: hehehehe…had some laughs, and it tells a story from lift off to ending. Still felt like scenes don’t always tell a cohesive story, and Striker just is there suddenly. The new end made me smile! 6/10.

Klone: I was really digging this, but got a little confused. This might be the intention, but I lost that good feeling I had. In total I settled for 7/10, just missing out on an 8 for me.

Humans are Limitless: I think I’m a BY fan. I just love what you do with some shots, but at other times you’re so damn weird! I wonder if this could have been shorter? More to the point? 7/10 anyway!

Menus – awesome, extra info on the editors was fun too. Good work everyone!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 25, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
6.0
sunarep - dec 29 2009

Well that’s the second consecution I am going to review and first things first: it cannot touch the Batman Consecution.

I have to agree with on of the previous posters that a consecution should be more than a collection of compressed movies, a consecution should combine different elements (like Infodroids fabulous “Bruce Wayne: Depths of Darkness” or even if it is a recut it should be like “Mayhem and Mistletoe” where you experience two different scenes from a movie as one styled up in a sin city like fashion.

Overall I’d give this consecution 6/10 even though i would like to rate it higher (special congrats to the menu design, it was great) but there are a few gripes i have.

now to the fanedtis:

Adabisi – Humans Are Limited

While technically flawless this was an edit i more or less skipped through, since in essence it is just a compressed version of a scene from 2001 – so it wasn’t that interesting to watch. Compressing a scene should be done if the movie itself is flawed because of pacing/bad humor etc,. all the michael bay problems one can think of – since 2001 is more or less a perfectly shot/balanced/paced movie – any cuts or separate scenes might be nice to look at – only way to tackle movies like 2001 is to either remix it (looking at jorge :D ) or grindhouse them (TMBTM) or something i will adress when i come to the next edit

6/10

Blueyoda -Humans Are Limitless

This is an edit I’m really torn over – i can’t say I enjoyed it, but the concept at the beginning, this idea got me so excited that I beg blueyoda to start a full featurelength fanedit mixing Transformers and 2001! Please Please Please!
The beginning was very weird with the computergraphics about optimus prime, but the whole idea of combining the monolith with the allspark was funny and an interesting concept. The Music Video was not really a great addition and after a while the whole thing fell apart. While Megatron/hal is a funny idea it was more like a fun video but not like a real fanedit that changed the story – Megahal 9000 was proclaiming his reign during the interview and nobody reacted

5/10 – but the concept would get a 10/10

Gaith's Star Wars: Episode 2.1 - Attack Of The Phantom

I don’t think i understand this edit … well the audio was a little messed up and while i enjoyed the interviews at the beginning, where Lucas and Company where basically talking about what we guys here at fanedit.org do, the whole “deleted scene” stuff was just.. meh...

4/10

M77 - Mayflower Madness

Haven’t watched this one yet, but I have the same problems with it that i have with “humans are limited” – a best of ... well that’s the stuff for clipshows not fanedits. but i’ll give it a try, maybe it will work

ThrowgnCpr - Alien Elements

Now here the fanedit spirit starts to shine through. While AVP is not a good movie it can be edited to an enjoyable one. The beginning was a great blend between AVP and Fifth Element and the Alien Symbol in the middle as the “fifth element” made me smirk. The Predator appearance is a bit choppy, it is an interesting thought, but there probably wasn’t that much footage. I liked how the editor avoided the whole arctic plot and just said “a pyramid was discovered” – i was a little disappointed that the predator didn’t talk to lex at the end, would have been a cool idea to insert some lines from fifth element

I didn’t like the predator vision especially in the beginning

7/10

Uncanny Antman - Clone Wars - Aggressive Negotiations

It’s uncanny antman, what do you expect? This was a way better star wars experience than the initial “episode”/”movie” of the clone wars and having the whole “snips” etc. talk removed really helped the experience. I’m still no fan of the cartoony “obi wan drinks tea while negotiating” but there’s only so much an editor could do.
I must say the ending was perfect, using the dialog to make it anakins decision to take asoka is just great, it felt more natural and to the star wars geek in me this is the official version of the asoka meeting now

10/10

TMBTM - WALL-E Fantasy

Well well well...

This was the first short i watched and at the start i was a little pissed, because I thought the editor would just cut wall-e down to 10 minutes (i didn’t read the description on the page). Then the movie got a little darker and i thought “is this deliberate or is there an error with the color filter and even though one could tell that the dark “evening” atmosphere was added by an editor it was still neat – when the final fantasy ship landed this edit became a “holy *peep*” experience and yeah what can i say: this is the true spirit of consecution fanediting. Congrats to this great piece of editing.

And while i can understand some people complaining that it felt chopped of, i was so happy with every second of editing that everything past the spaceship landing was a treat

Congrats to TMBTM!

Elbarto 1 - Klone

Very enjoyable yet again suffering from the compressed-edit problem, but the mixing with the sunshine footage was well done and it felt a little more rounded than the 2001 edit

7/10
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 25, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
6.0
adabisi - dec 29 2009

Wall-e Fantasy
Nice little short and well edited, but it felt like it ended halfway through the story. 7/10

Alien Elements
Lots of motion blur in the video. Nice idea and well edited, but no real central characters to speak of or care about really hurt this one. A few nagging inconsistencies that bothered me as well. And the whole thing takes place on Earth. Which, I guess technically, is in space… 6/10

Humans are Limited
Not going to rate my own edit.

Aggressive Negotiations
Well edited, but the narrative can’t stand on it’s own and would be fairly confusing without knowledge of the greater Star Wars universe. 5/10

Star Wars: Episode II.I
Audio was out of synch with the video. Switches to black and white randomly. Not sure what the point of this one was. 1/10

Mayflower Madness
This was great. Provided some much needed comic relief. Lots of continuity mistakes but that’s part of this type of comedy. Fits perfectly, whether it was intentional or not. Some of the editing could have been better, though. 9/10

Klone
Very well done. Nice condensed version of Solaris. Loved the ending. Unfortunately, more motion blur in the video and dialogue coming from all 5 channels instead of being isolated to the centre. 8/10, but easily a 10/10 without the technical issues.

Humans are Limitless
More blurry video. At this point I’m starting to think the issue is somewhere in the authoring process. Made me laugh in spots and I liked the general concept but it felt more like a bunch of youtube clips mashed together than a cohesive narrative. The music video at the beginning felt horribly out of place and I hate that song (but considering this is blueyoda I’m guessing that’s the point) and the cut-off -in mid-sentence ending is just strange (again, I’m guessing that was the point). Good editing but 5/10 because it made me angry (which I’m sure was the point).

Menus
I liked the old school Atari 2600 look to them, but the font was so small it was barely legible and there was a lot of blank space that could’ve been used.

Overall, I’ll give the project a 6/10.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
19 results - showing 11 - 15
1 2 3 4