Review Detail

7.3 19 10
Shorts August 16, 2012 4255
(Updated: September 25, 2012)
Enjoyment

ku7uk - dec 28 2009

Firstly, let me say thank-you to everyone that contributed into this project. While I may be an unknown on this site, I work as an independent film-maker. So I would like to offer my insight into this great collaborative work. I warn you that its not all good comments, but I admire your contribution and thank you for your work. The opinion expressed is my own and I only say them in hope that it can be of use to you as constructive criticism to improve your next works.

Wall-E Fantasy
This short started amazingly, and the blend between Wall-E and Final fantasy was superb. The editing was flawless and I was immediately taken into the world of the editor. However, being a fan of both films, it was difficult to get past the lack of an ending. You want it to go somewhere but just doesn't. I know the editor only had so much footage to work with, but maybe he could have stuck the Titan AE opening on the end and blew up the planet just to finish things off?

But in the end, this is what I believe fan-editing is about. Taking two completely different stories and integrating them together to create a whole new story. That is its strength and for that reason, this is the short that takes top marks at successfully completing the main goal.

Alien Elements
It's an interesting project and as a shortened version of AVP, it works very well. Unfortunately the other films spliced in seem fruitless and only drag the story, rather than add to it. The talking Predator was probably not needed. However I liked what you tried to do, I just think it was too similar to the original movie.

Humans are Limited
I never liked the original movie, and this condensed version didn't sit with me at all. It was slow and I fast-forwarded through it, sorry.

Aggressive Negotiations