Soul Music: The Imp Y Celyn Story

Faneditor Name:
Original Movie Title:
Fanedit Type:
Original Release Date:
Original Running Time:
Fanedit Release Date:
Fanedit Running Time:
Time Cut:
Subtitles Available?
Brief Synopsis:
A young harpist, Imp Y Celyn becomes the greatest musician on the Disc, meanwhile Death (The Grim Reaper) has disappeared and someone else needs to fill in. Here it i presented as more of a Biopic. No time travel, no alternative universes just the basics of the plot with as much of the humor intact as possible.
Terry Pratchett is almost impossible to successfully adapt to visual medium because his humor comes from the way things are written, not just word play but descriptions themselves, which get totally lost when being adapted. More so here because it's the 3rd book in an arc.
Special Thanks:
Special thanks to the following;
ArtisDead for approving the fanedit, which included tracking down the DVDs to review.
ArtisDead for the poster design, including 3 unused versions.
ArtisDead for help navigating the forum, including answering questions regarding filling out this form.
ArtisDead for the avatar design.
ArtisDead for the explaining how to edit an approved submission form.
Release Information:
Cuts and Additions:
Episode 1 opens with the credits, then the band members meeting at the musicians guild, everything before this has been cut, scenes have been rearranged to introduce the band, the concept of guilds, The Death of rats, Death's disappearance and then Susan and her parents death, no flashbacks at this point, all is happening in the present day. This episode ends at the 11 minute mark.

Episode 2, 3 and 4 are very interwoven: Susan finds out who her family are while the band prepare to play their first gig. It's here the university the librarian is introduced and we find out that death has joined the foreign legion.

We get some of Susan’s back story here in flashback. Susan starts her job, sees the band and Imp Y Celyn is not killed by the axe etc. The librarian runs off and the Wizards are introduced by the 30 minute mark at the breakfast table the following morning.
The Band members take new "more appropriate" names, more stoney too..... but not rolling stones.

The Wizard’s then decide watch a concert and trap music, Susan tries to warn Imp Y Celyn and episode 4 ends at about the 50 minute mark.

Episode 5, 6 and 7 are more or less the same but with all alternative timelines and time travel removed, rearrangements due to cliffhangers, there are loads of little trims to help with the flow and pacing. The ending is changed because of the removal of alternative timelines and time travel. Simplifying an overly complex bunch of subplots which are not fully explored due to being adapted from the 3rd in a 5 book "Death arc" down to it's basic premise, even Death can't prevent death.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account