Running Scared – True Crime Edition

Updated
 
8.7 (12)
2375 0 1 0 0

User reviews

12 reviews
 
8%
 
92%
5-7 stars
 
0%
3-5 stars
 
0%
1-3 stars
 
0%
Overall rating
 
8.7
Audio/Video Quality
 
8.0(1)
Audio Editing
 
10.0(1)
Visual Editing
 
9.0(1)
Enjoyment
 
7.8(12)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Back to Listing
12 results - showing 1 - 5
1 2 3
Ordering
(Updated: September 12, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
9.0
Review by walls83 — April 29, 2009 @ 9:26 pm

*This rating was given before reviews were required*
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 12, 2012)
Overall rating
 
8.5
Audio/Video Quality
 
8.0
Audio Editing
 
10.0
Visual Editing
 
9.0
Enjoyment
 
7.0
Review by boon23 — March 21, 2009 @ 12:32 am

Running Scared – True Crime Edition by Elbarto1

review by boon23

Prologue:
The original Running Scared (2006) entertained me, yet it was a mixed experience of great moments and scenes that did not work too well and pulled me out of the movie. I though liked it and was pretty much interested in how this fanedit would affect the flow of the movie.

Since I had the honor of previewing the first release, I skipped through what was changed now, so I did not watch this complete version. I might have missed a glitch or a little error, but my checking pretty much completed my impression.

As for all my reviews: this is just my personal opinion of this fanedit. I cannot tell anybody else, if he or she will experience it in the same way or the opposite. So my review is not objective and does not reflect the opinion of fanedit.org.

!!!!This review contains heavy spoilers!!!

The edit:
Starting with a nice self created intro I directly got into the mood for this fanedit and it takes off pretty fast and very to the point. The original beginning intro was a good choice to remove. And that is true for about all the other choices as well, the pacing is great and makes the entire movie a lot more consistent. Especially taking out the pedophile scene was an important one. I was really happy to see that all the issues I had plotwise with version 1 have been corrected in this version, even the final shootout is now a lot more bearable.

The drama ending and to never reveal the undercover cop thing is still a bold choice and works a bit so-so IMO. It does not make the movie worse than it was before, yet this drama finale turns the movie into an all-the-effort-for-nothing-experience and I think this does not really support the mood of the movie. The original ending is a bit lame, yes, but it is consistent with the flow of the movie.

The original: bad – good – bad – good – bad – good (bad things happen and are turned into better situations resulting in a happy ending).

the fanedit: bad – good – bad – good – bad – very bad (bad things happen, the character struggle hard to improve on their situations, which works, until more bad stuff happens and they work on it again and then finally all fail).

Edit-wise the ending works and it also reveals no plothole (nice still :)). It just left me in a strange mood. The entire editing job was really well done. I did not notice any hard audio or video cuts. The music choices were great. This was a good fanedit and I enjoyed watching it.
editing: 9 of 10,
entertainment: 7 of 10

Image and video quality:
The video quality was vastly improved from version 1, but is still not perfect. Especially in the beginning there are some ghost images and a bit of stuttering in movements, but it’s not too annoying, just noticeable. The image was sharp and clean (did you recolor that icehockey scene?).
Video quality: 6 of 10

Audio editing and audio quality:
The audio editing was very good. It is 448 ac-3 6 channel surround sound and as that it was perfect.
audio editing: 10 of 10
audio quality: 10 of 10

presentation:
The DVD comes with an animated main menu and offers scene selection as only extra. The main menu looks ok and fitting, the scene selection menus are a beauty. All menus are with great sound that put you in the right mood to watch the movie. Some people don’t like it, when there are scenes that reveal parts of the movie, but it did not bother me. The fanedit comes with cover art and disc art, both are beautiful.

DVD menus: 8 of 10, cover and disc art 10 of 10, extras: 1 of 10 (none included), existence of menus, chapters and cover art: 10 of 10

This results in a 7 of 10 rating from me for presentation.

Final result: 8 of 10.
This is a good fanedit. It indeed does improve on the original and makes it a nice and thrilling watching experience. People who like crime and action movies (with an emphasis on ACTION) should not miss this one. Congratulations, elbarto1 and thanks for sharing it and letting me enjoy it.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 12, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
8.0
Review by joebshmoe — November 2, 2009 @ 2:51 am

Undercover cop-ness is still present, but not obvious or mentioned. I did like the change and thought this was executed well. Congrats.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 12, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
8.0
Review by Tubes — April 29, 2009 @ 10:02 pm

*This rating was given before reviews were required*
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 12, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
8.0
Review by kboy930 — May 14, 2009 @ 1:23 pm

*This rating was given before reviews were required*
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
12 results - showing 1 - 5
1 2 3