9.2 33 10
TV-to-Movie April 05, 2011 20289
(Updated: September 08, 2012)
Overall rating

Audio/Video Quality

Enjoyment

April 15, 2011 @ 2:03 am

“Who killed Laura Palmer?

In 1990, this question was heard by everyone. As I was a freshman in college I was often busy with, well, other things so I never watched a moment of the show, but there was never any denying its appeal as the common room was always packed on Twin Peaks night.

So for 20 years I have actually wondered to myself, who DID kill Laura Palmer? Since neither my wife or I had seen the show, we were eager to watch something so ambitious and see if it could be successful. We felt we were the perfect test subjects.

Picture and sound were excellent on this project, as emphatic has noted, the re-framing into 16:9 is beautiful. Not once did I feel that I was watching something where I was missing something or that it fit poorly. Easily 10/10 for me.

Editing was also top-notch in my opinion, this fit well both for audio and visual cuts. rarely could I detect the hand of the editor in the project, and when you consider the task on hand, mixing together elements of so many episodes, that task alone is stunning.

Story however, is really what matters here. Without the baggage of knowing all of the storylines that were cut-out, without attachments to specific characters, in-jokes and subplots, would this still feel like a coherent story, and would it be entertaining?