Jaws The Sharksploitation Edit

Updated
 
9.0 (63)
4412 0 1 0 10

User reviews

63 reviews
 
76%
 
19%
 
5%
3-5 stars
 
0%
1-3 stars
 
0%
Overall rating
 
9.0
Audio/Video Quality
 
8.7(11)
Visual Editing
 
9.3(12)
Audio Editing
 
9.4(12)
Narrative
 
8.4(11)
Enjoyment
 
9.2(63)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Back to Listing
63 results - showing 1 - 5
1 2 3 4 5 6 ... »
Ordering
Overall rating
 
9.7
Audio/Video Quality
 
9.0
Visual Editing
 
9.0
Audio Editing
 
9.0
Narrative
 
10.0
Enjoyment
 
10.0
TMBTM's edits are really quite excellent, aren't they.

I rewatched Jaws the night before watching the Sharksploitation Edit, and was reminded why the original film is so brilliant. But then, along comes this crazy edit and pretty much turns the tone and stylings of Spielberg's masterpiece on its head to great effect.

Congrats TMBTM, this edit was great fun - MOAR SHARK ATTACKS! MOAR BLOOD! And the ending? brilliant work.

10/10
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 17, 2012)
Overall rating
 
9.3
Audio/Video Quality
 
10.0
Visual Editing
 
10.0
Audio Editing
 
10.0
Narrative
 
9.0
Enjoyment
 
9.0
February 2, 2012

This was hilarious and often brilliant. It has a couple flaws, but it’s very entertaining (BIG SPOILERS follow).

Technical quality – 10/10 – can’t really comment on A/V issues as they were supposed to be there.

Editing – 10/10 – just incredible.

Presentation – 10/10 – the cover art was great and the menu was nice. Brody at the theater was a clever and idea and pulled off well.

Entertainment – 8/10 – so brilliant. The added scenes from Jaws 2, the tourists arriving, the redesigned beach attack, the flashbacks during the scar discussion, Jaws shaking the shark cage, that orca whale at the end that took things personally, the new music, and all the other stuff I haven’t mentioned… just brilliant! There are only two things I didn’t like: firstly, sometimes when songs played or even at other times the sound effects were muted. Regardless of whether this is something that is in “grindhouse” movies, it’s very annoying. Secondly, the music during the beach attack. Just didn’t work for me. Otherwise, incredible job. You had brilliant ideas and you transferred them to the screen even more brilliantly.

Overall – 9/10
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 29, 2012)
Overall rating
 
9.3
Audio/Video Quality
 
9.0
Visual Editing
 
9.0
Audio Editing
 
10.0
Narrative
 
10.0
Enjoyment
 
9.0
February 23, 2010

Finally watched it and I was very pleased with what I got. Great feeling for what works and how it could play out…just so entertaining. And the fact that this really feels like a new movie is something special. And both this one and the original are worth seeing more times! Won’t give the full 10, as it wasn’t perfect, but a 9 and a work that TMBTM should be damn proud of.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 12, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
9.0
August 4, 2010

Watched it! Loved it!

I thought I would hate this Edit when I first heard of it, as Jaws is one of my favourite films, but I absolutely loved it. A great way to merge the deleted scenes without drawing too much attention to their lower quality. I always liked the deleted scenes and it’s good to finally see them in the film.
I also loved the music choices and how they were used, all except one. As much as I love Unforgiven III, I didn’t think it fit. Maybe after seeing it a couple more times I’ll change my mind on that.

Overall this was great. An excellent take on a classic film. Thanks The Man Behind the Mask.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 12, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
9.0
June 27, 2010

Behind the times as usual, but my goodness was this worth the wait. For this review, bear in mind that I watched WotS first. I do know this one was released first but…what can you do?

As with War of the Stars, a lot of the cuts here worked fine. The only scene I remember missing was the whole “You yell barracuda…but you yell shark” scene, but everything else flowed fine. The opening credits to the first attack was very effective. The end, which I won’t spoil (since it wasn’t his sled) floored me…I disctintly remember being ready to fall asleep (not because the edit was boring…it was quite late when I watched this) and the end had me cheering. I really wasn’t sure how you were going to end it, but it was brilliant. I’d also like to applaud you for the placement of the missing reel…that was really the only scene I didn’t like in Jaws, and now it’s gone. Cheers!

Two additions I didn’t really care for: the scene with Quint harassing the kid in the music store and the alternate version of Hooper’s arrival with the guy babbling all over the dock. The first didn’t really add to the story, and the second was just annoying. The version that was used in the film was better in my opinion.

Overall, an excellent effort. The presentation was great, video and audio were suitably crappy (in a good way). As with War of the Stars, if the original Jaws had been released in a similar form to this, it still would have been a decent film. Maybe not the summer blockbuster it had become, but still a damn fine effort. Speaking of which, a damn fine effort from TMBTM once again,

9/10
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
63 results - showing 1 - 5
1 2 3 4 5 6 ... »