Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade: Unholy Edition

Updated
 
8.8 (24)
2544 0 1 0 2

User reviews

8 reviews with 7-9 stars
24 reviews
 
42%
 
33%
 
25%
3-5 stars
 
0%
1-3 stars
 
0%
Overall rating
 
8.8
Audio/Video Quality
 
9.5(4)
Visual Editing
 
9.5(4)
Audio Editing
 
9.5(4)
Narrative
 
9.3(3)
Enjoyment
 
8.1(24)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Back to Listing
8 results - showing 1 - 5
1 2
Ordering
(Updated: September 12, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
8.0
September 5, 2008

This is a very bold edit, due mostly to ID leaving out the opening Young Indy sequence. This decision works well for those of us who didn’t particularly care for it to begin with, and takes you right into the movie very quickly (Perhaps a little too quickly for some, but not much could be done about that.) His use of footage from the Perfect Storm is inspired and blends in very nicely with the Last Crusade footage. Nice job integrating the new credits, very slick.

All the little cuts he has made throughout are well done and serve their purpose. The only real holes are 1) at the castle. How did they get in if it is a secret Nazi stronghold? Of course, given Spielberg’s original solution, this certainly can be forgiven. :) and 2) is during the attack on the German convoy. How and why did Marcus and Henry get into the tank?

There still one or two lines that could go (IMO), but other than a few minor qualms, this is a very fine edit. No audio / video issues, great presentation.

I’d say ID has achieved his intention with this fan-edit.

I give it a 4 of 5. Great work. ID is a fan-editor to watch out for, for sure.

Let me add: I especially liked the excising of the “No Ticket” bit (funny, but unnecessary) and the plane in the tunnel (not funny and unnecessary). It took some nads to cut out such memorable (for better or worse) pieces. Kudos.
J
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 12, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
8.0
May 16, 2009

I just would have kept Sean funny lines during the planes chase. They always make me laugh I must confess… Other than that you pretty much saved this movie for me. There was so much one liners and lazy ideas to get our heroes out of trouble (like when Sean sits on a chair and a secret passage magicaly opens…) that I almost fall asleep each time I watch this movie now. GREAT edit!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 12, 2012)
Overall rating
 
8.4
Audio/Video Quality
 
9.0
Visual Editing
 
10.0
Audio Editing
 
8.0
Enjoyment
 
8.0
February 24, 2009

great execution. the opening scene works even though it feels a bit rushed (because of the lack of young indiana) but otherwise works great. the new title sequence works well and is pretty fun (as well as the end credits, good job).

most of the edits were of superfluous, silly or unfunny bits – however, i think that a few should be left for continuity. (in addition to removing some bits that seemed to be “missed” in cutting.

i missed a few scenes and their removal was distracting… like: “my soul is prepared, is yours”, the dogfight scene, no ticket, and his dad’s speech at the cliff, when it comes down to it, i think the last crusade HAS to be >slightly< slapstick for it to work, however, clearly a lot of folks have found in this edit to improve on the original, but it is just too drastic for me. perhaps it is just nostalgia… ?

other than that, the continuity issues (how did indy get in the castle? what happened to the planes tail? where is the second plane? why are henry and marcus in the tank? etc.) ARE distracting.

edits that i REALLY liked were how the fireplace scene is reworked, elsa’s character is minimized and the more annoying bits from henry/sean connery are eliminated. however, i think this could easily be improved.

entertainment 8
fanediting 10
video 9
audio 8 (it seems to go quieter at times and the dialogue is way too low ?)
original 8
fanedit 7

7/10
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 12, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
7.0
February 22, 2009

*This rating was given before reviews were required*
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 12, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
8.0
September 13, 2008

*This rating was given before reviews were required*
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
8 results - showing 1 - 5
1 2