Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade: Unholy Edition

Updated
 
8.8 (25)
3224 0 1 0 3

User reviews

25 reviews
 
44%
 
32%
 
24%
3-5 stars
 
0%
1-3 stars
 
0%
Overall rating
 
8.8
Audio/Video Quality
 
9.6(5)
Visual Editing
 
9.4(5)
Audio Editing
 
9.6(5)
Narrative
 
9.3(4)
Enjoyment
 
8.1(25)
Back to Listing
25 results - showing 21 - 25
1 2 3 4 5
Ordering
(Updated: September 12, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
8.0
September 5, 2008

When I was a kid, I thought “Crusade” was an awesome movie, and the best of the Indys. It had all the action of “Raiders”, and was a good deal funnier.

This is what Spielberg was aiming for: after getting a well-deserved scolding for the violence and oppressive tone of “Temple of Doom”, “Crusade” was a mea culpa of sorts. His first priority was to make a kid-friendly film, not to make a tonal match to “Raiders”.

But that IS Infodroid’s intention. Watching this edit made me feel like a kid again, because this ‘unholy’ “Crusade” is considerably more awesome than the theatrical version. Like the Phantom Editior, who rightfully excised the unnecessary but popular asteroid chase from “Attack of the Phantom”, Infodroid proves his gutsiness by leaving out the too-cute ‘young Indy’ sequence. The rest of the cuts are subtler, but they do their job well.

On the tech side, everything looks great and the menus are fantastic. Look for a very cool homage to the cast part-way through the credits!

Those with small kids will probably want to show them the theatrical cut… but for those who love “Raiders” a good deal more than the other movies, this cut will almost definitely become your go-to version.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 12, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
8.0
September 3, 2008

*This rating was given before reviews were required*
T
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 12, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
6.0
September 1, 2008

*This rating was given before reviews were required*
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 12, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
10.0
August 25, 2008

InfoDroid is my own personal savior. His cut of Last Crusade ROCKS! Everyone can agree that Raiders of the Lost Ark is a perfect film but there are few definite opinions when it comes to the sequels. Most hate Temple of Doom (whereas I love it) and think that Last Crusade is a “return to form.” I, however, have always found the third entry to be overly silly and an insult to Marcus Brody. Thankfully, ID has saved us all that embarassment with this marvelous, and now definitive, cut. Seriously, can we petition Spielberg and Lucas to release this version on Blu-ray? No matter what you think of Last Crusade, you owe it to yourself as an Indy fan to check out this cut. ID has made the bold choice to cut the Young Indy stuff, and it’s hardly missed. It was just a shortened pilot for the awful TV series anyway. But, as mentioned before, ID’s most important contribution to the world of Indiana Jones is his treatment of Marcus Brody. Why Spielberg and Lucas felt it necessary to push Brody to the ground and kick him continuously is beyond me but ID has extended his hand and lifted him up, giving him back (most of) his dignity. I still wish the line about him getting lost in his own museum were gone but beggers can’t be choosers. If this cut is any indication of ID’s power, I wholeheartedly await his inevitible Crystal Skull edit because while Last Crusade is flawed, Crystal Skull is downright insultingly bad. If anyone can give Indy back his dignity, it’s Infodroid. In fact, despite my love for all things Temple of Doom, I think I might even check out his cut of that film out of respect for this gift he has given us. Thank you, InfoDroid … and thanks for the shout-out on the DVD menu.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Overall rating
 
9.2
Audio/Video Quality
 
9.0
Visual Editing
 
10.0
Audio Editing
 
10.0
Narrative
 
9.0
Enjoyment
 
9.0
July 29, 2012

Another excellent InfoDroid Indy edit. Highly enjoyable and top notch editing.

User Review

Do you recommend this edit?
Yes
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
25 results - showing 21 - 25
1 2 3 4 5