Friday The 13th: The Legend Of Crystal Lake

 
7.8 (15)
1969   0   1   0   1

User reviews

15 reviews

 
(3)
 
(9)
 
(3)
3-5 stars
 
(0)
1-3 stars
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
7.8
 
8.5  (2)
 
9.0  (2)
 
9.0  (2)
 
6.5  (2)
 
7.7  (15)
Back to Listing
15 results - showing 1 - 5  
1 2 3  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
9.5
Audio/Video Quality 
 
9.0
Visual Editing 
 
10.0
Audio Editing 
 
10.0
Narrative 
 
8.0
Enjoyment 
 
10.0

This was a fantastic fanedit. The faneditor puts a unique spin on the first 2 Friday the 13th movies. Video/audio quality was fine, standard definition DVD5. The editing was great, especially the way the two movies are seamed together. The only negative part of it to me is that it can't help but feel like 2 movies stitched together. The story shifts to a whole new group of teenagers and a brand new protagonist halfway through. It could have been way worse though so it didn't dampen it too much.

Bottom line, I loved it.

User Review

Do you recommend this edit?
Yes
Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: September 06, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
9.0
Enjoyment 
 
9.0

Link feb 22 2009

*This rating was given before reviews were required*

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: September 06, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
9.0
Enjoyment 
 
9.0

Istvan6 may 24 2009

*This rating was given before reviews were required*

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: September 06, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
8.0
Enjoyment 
 
8.0

jokersmailbag apr 8 2009

Although I enjoy an occasional slasher movie, I am by no means an expert. Put it this way: I had no idea Jason wasn’t even really in the original FTT13th and didn’t even wear the hockey mask until part 3. Basically I remember some very small bits of Part 1, that’s it. And my feeling about what I did remember what that it was a bit dull. My girlfriend, though, owns and loves all of these guy’s movies: Freddy, Jason, Micheal Myers. So I thought this would be a good opportunity for a two pronged review for this edit.

I should mention that this is the SL version created by Boon , I believe. Cool static menu, nice picture quality. Thank you very much for creating it, or I would have been unable to watch it. Very much appreciated.

Opens with a title card with the editors name, fits the look of the film well, suits the purpose. Minor complaint that the Main title does not include the Fanedit’s subtitle- would have been nice. Story-wise it is a lot zippier than I remember, moves at a good clip. I cannot detect any plot holes. I quiz my girlfriend and she knows there have been things cut out, but cannot place them. So obviously nothing that needed to stay for this edit. And the killings happen much quicker, which I liked. Thumbs up there. Great blending of the first and second parts also. We both found it convincing. Part 1 actually becomes a sort of prologue in this cut, Jason’s backstory. This was a very good approach and really nice work condensing it too. I easily followed the whole story the whole way through and was engaged by it, something I could not say previously. My girlfriend really enjoyed it as well. She said it would not replace her originals (of course) but she thought it was really cool. Me too.

One more minor complaint about titles: The end credits were not custom, merely part 1 and 2 credits shown chronologically. This works fine actually, the music flowed and they were cut seamlessly- but I always like to see the custom ones, they always earn an extra point from me if done well.

I did not wear headphones when watching this one (my usual method- hey I am an audio guy, sorry!) but I did not notice any blending weirdness, volume trouble or hard cuts on the tv speakers. The video cuts were unnoticeable.

Overall, great work! It looks like one that both casual and rabid slasher film fans can enjoy.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: September 06, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
8.0
Enjoyment 
 
8.0

rmania may 28 2009

I enjoyed this fanedit, Combining both and making a different movie worked great. I just had to forget everything I watched from the 1st 2 movies and went with your flow. Good job

Was this review helpful to you? 
15 results - showing 1 - 5  
1 2 3