Star Wars - Episode VI: Return of the Jedi – The Spence Final Cut

Updated
 
8.3 (40)
4746 0 1 0 5

User reviews

40 reviews
 
40%
 
55%
 
5%
3-5 stars
 
0%
1-3 stars
 
0%
Overall rating
 
8.3
Audio/Video Quality
 
8.9(14)
Visual Editing
 
8.6(14)
Audio Editing
 
7.7(14)
Narrative
 
8.2(14)
Enjoyment
 
8.2(40)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Back to Listing
40 results - showing 31 - 35
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
Ordering
(Updated: September 09, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
9.0
Review by Omaru1982 — March 20, 2011 @ 9:01 pm

Very Enjoyable, I’d forgotten about Old Ben’s mentor talk until I read it in the above review o_O
Some stuff can’t be completely edited like the Ewok cute factor but it was greatly reduced from what I remember (Having Leia appear at the village is plausible, I don’t need the scene of her befriending wicket.)

I liked the different opening, I think it works better this way, and the ending seems to have a degree of sadness that I always felt was missing previously.

I give this a solid 9/10
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 09, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
9.0
Review by kaine23 — March 20, 2011 @ 1:38 pm

*This rating was given before reviews were required*
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 09, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
7.0
Review by p3jedi — March 20, 2011 @ 3:29 am

A very enjoyable edit with some well thought out trims. My most favorite moment was the addition of music underscoring the speeder bike chase, and ultimately making it that much more exciting. I applaud the editing of Luke and Leia’s talk in the Ewok village, although I feel it could have still used a few snips. Luke’s line of having never known his mother still implies that Leia did. But, that’s a minor quibble.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 09, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
8.0
Review by Brumous — March 19, 2011 @ 3:04 am

This is good, it is worth a watch. I think the best thing about this edit is the overall rearrangement of the storyline. Spence wanted to generate some tension in the plot that would get the viewer more involved, and this edit does accomplish that.

I never like the original very much, and there were no scenes in the original that really drew me in. Spence’s Final Cut has some highlight scenes that you can now actually enjoy. Jabba’s Palace – very good. The bike speeder chase – much improved. The final meeting of Luke, Vader and the Emperor – excellent.

Another great thing is how this edit moves right along. It zips from scene to scene with alacrity and the 93 minute length feels more like 33. The new musical backing tracks are terrific, well choreographed to the action, and add a lot of emotional punch.

Getting down to small details, there were some technical flaws. Maybe it’s my computer system, but the dialog was a little out of sync in most of the movie and there were some audio clicks at splice points. Some of the scene cuts felt a little mistimed.

Spence really was successful at making this Luke’s story, and this edit reveals that Hamill’s acting is up to the task of carrying the story. I can now buy that Luke is a fully trained Jedi.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 09, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
9.0
Review by Rogue-theX — March 19, 2011 @ 1:27 am

*This rating was given before reviews were required*
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
40 results - showing 31 - 35
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8