Echo

Updated
 
9.0 (16)
2520 0 1 0 0

User reviews

16 reviews
 
63%
 
31%
 
6%
3-5 stars
 
0%
1-3 stars
 
0%
Overall rating
 
9.0
Audio/Video Quality
 
9.3(3)
Visual Editing
 
9.7(3)
Audio Editing
 
9.7(3)
Narrative
 
8.7(3)
Enjoyment
 
8.8(16)
Back to Listing
16 results - showing 1 - 5
1 2 3 4
Ordering
(Updated: August 30, 2012)
Overall rating
 
9.3
Audio/Video Quality
 
10.0
Visual Editing
 
10.0
Audio Editing
 
10.0
Narrative
 
9.0
Enjoyment
 
9.0
joebshmoe mar 6 2019

this is a great edit and almost completely removes “the michael bay-ness” out of this film. with “echo” this film is now a faster paced and more mysterious reveal of “the island”. all of the creative decisions in removing fluff are spot on and SEVERAL of them are actually quite necessary to make this a more interesting movie (tom calling merrick biotech, lincoln telling his plan to jordan, minimizing merrick, and all of the goofs in this movie… several…).

a few bits that i think would make this a bit stronger would be including the bit about the agnates sex drive and then including the sex scene between lincoln and jordan. i realize that it was poorly done, but i think it is important to see the change they have gone through.

entertainment 10/10
fanediting 10/10
video 10/10
audio 10/10
original 7/10
fanedit 9/10

9/10
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: August 30, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
9.0
casmirradon aug 31 2009

I am so very happy to report that before watching Echo a moment ago, I had never seen the Island, I didn’t even know much about it. This is wonderful because I had the joy of seeing your edit without any memory of the crap that you excised (I bet you’re envious).

I can say that your edits, if not perfect, are at least undetectable for a new viewer such as myself. And although my attention to detail is nothing compared to yours, I am picky, and I do usually pick up on awkward cuts and lacking continuity.

I made the wise decision not to read any of your edits before watching. I trusted your vision completely after seeing T3 The Coming Storm, and it was a real treat to read what I was “missing” after the fact. And you are right, it was in fact funny seeing the maid’s outfit in McCord’s closet without knowing about his wife. If the filmmakers had had the idea for that joke they would have ruined it, but as it was it was subtle and worth a laugh.

What else can I say, your list of edits could very well be my list of reasons why I am happy right now. Good work.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: August 30, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
9.0
havok1977 sept 28 2010

*This rating was given before reviews were required*
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: August 30, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
9.0
jjrdias mar 4 2009

*This rating was given before reviews were required*
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: August 30, 2012)
Overall rating
 
8.6
Audio/Video Quality
 
10.0
Visual Editing
 
10.0
Audio Editing
 
10.0
Narrative
 
8.0
Enjoyment
 
8.0
white43 dec 26 2010

Nice work UA. Been a while since I saw the original, so this is one of those occasions where you can’t quite remember the exact detail, but your editing was top notch, no glaring unseemless edits.

Flowed really well and I didn’t note anything you’d cut. I remember something to do with Laurent and him ‘freeing the prisoners’ or something, but I only remembered that after the show!

It just goes to show that this “cut the crap” kind of edit totally works, because nothing is missed and it just gets on with it. Extraneous fight scenes aren’t missed either. I’d forgotten there was a big conflict with Lincoln vs Merrick.

Total improvement. It’s still not a great film, but that isn’t your fault is it?

10/10 for the great editing and sound work.
Film now sits at a 8/10, rather than 6/10.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
16 results - showing 1 - 5
1 2 3 4

Leave a Reply