Dune (1984) – The Alternative Edition

Hot
Updated
 
9.3 (31)
9132 0 1 0 3

User reviews

31 reviews
 
74%
 
13%
 
10%
3-5 stars
 
0%
 
3%
Overall rating
 
9.3
Audio/Video Quality
 
8.8(4)
Visual Editing
 
9.8(4)
Audio Editing
 
9.8(4)
Narrative
 
9.8(4)
Enjoyment
 
8.9(31)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Back to Listing
31 results - showing 21 - 25
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Ordering
(Updated: September 02, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
10.0
December 24, 2008

Thankyou spicediver, for me you made Dune actually hang together rather than just wash over me! Quite a bit of thought went into into this. And when I watched it again I noticed all the little changes with your edit too. The visions and hallucinations seemed more, well, mysterious when I heard less of Pauls thoughts on the soundtrack.
S
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 02, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
10.0
December 16, 2008
*This rating was given before reviews were required*
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 02, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
10.0
October 29, 2008

The definite version of David Lynch’s Dune to go with. Period!

If the world were to end in 3 hours (or something) after initially abusing my neighbors and taking a heavy hit of psychedelic substances I’d surely (and gladly) dive towards the Eschaton with this baby in my DivX-player rollin’ and my eyes wide gazing.
Having seen a handful of other Dune versions this is definitly the one to enjoy if you have any form of sensibility towards the Dune Universe’s atmosphere.
What a marvelously weird movie this is and how marvelously weirder it got after Spicediver put his alchemical fingers on this thing.
Make no mistake friends this is the philosopher’s stone – it’s gonna turn your mind into gold if you can digest it.

All hail SPICEDIVER, Emperor of the known Dunieverse! 5 Stars

Mati

PS: Yeah it’s a little bit much to say but you deserve it pal for making me enjoy this unyielding leviathan one more time…
S
1 reviews
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 02, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
1.0
October 14, 2008

Sorry, Spicediver, but dumping Princess Irulan in favor of keeping that shite prologue from the TV version makes for a fan edit I’m not interested in watching. You should restore the Alan Smithee credit and remove Lynch’s name. Nice editing, but you really should bill this thing as “the new and improved TV VERSION.”

ADM’s version is closer to the ideal I’d want to see, but his has seriously problems with the video quality of the deleted scenes and with retaining so much of the Toto Muzak which plays randomly beneath every scene of the TV version. Ever notice that Eno’s name is still in the credits of the TV version but his Prophecy Theme is nowhere to be heard?

A better starting point would be to keep EVERYTHING from the theatrical release, extend it where possible, and do whatever can be done about the Muzak problem with the TV footage.

More Dune fan edits are required. We’re not there yet.
J
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 02, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
8.0
October 7, 2008
*This rating was given before reviews were required*
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
31 results - showing 21 - 25
1 2 3 4 5 6 7