Dune (1984) – The Alternative Edition

Hot
Updated
 
9.3 (31)
9132 0 1 0 3

User reviews

23 reviews with 9-10 stars
31 reviews
 
74%
 
13%
 
10%
3-5 stars
 
0%
 
3%
Overall rating
 
9.3
Audio/Video Quality
 
8.8(4)
Visual Editing
 
9.8(4)
Audio Editing
 
9.8(4)
Narrative
 
9.8(4)
Enjoyment
 
8.9(31)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Back to Listing
23 results - showing 11 - 15
1 2 3 4 5
Ordering
(Updated: September 02, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
10.0
June 13, 2009

Thanks a ton. This is a great one. I prefer the Irulan intro as it ties in better with the book and, poor Virginia Madsen doesn’t have much else to do without it. :) Regardless, this was very well done and what I wanted the Universal disc to be when the last version came out. Here’s hoping someone goes back and fixes the blue-within-blue eyes some day — even the original needed touch ups here and there.

Thanks, especially, for including the “He gives water to the dead” scene and Thufir’s finale. Both are essential (IMHO).
I
1 reviews
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 02, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
10.0
May 6, 2009

I have only read the first Dune novel by Frank Herbert, but what introduced me to the novel was surprisingly Spicediver’s fanedit cut of the film. The film ranks as one of my all time favorite films, alongside Blade Runner, Kingdom of Heaven, and The Lord of the Rings. V1 was my favorite cut, though now seeing V2, it’s been swiftly replaced. Personally, I’m very happy that the missing/deleted/rare scenes were reinserted back into the films narrative. Some say it detracts, but I personally can’t watch any other cut without missing those scenes. =) In my humble opinion, this is the best cut of Dune out there. 10/10 for a fine piece of work.

Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 02, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
10.0
May 18, 2009

I saw Dune when it first came out. Awesome work imho, though critics panned it. And now, this work, by spicediver is, to me, the best version I have ever seen. Mind you, I own a copy of the original and still watch it a couple of times a year. But from now on, I will be watching spicediver’s version. Totally awesome!!!
P
1 reviews
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 02, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
10.0
April 27, 2009

I read the book and saw the movie when it came out. In the day it was a cult classic. This version was immensely entertaining to watch and was a noticeable improvement over the theatrical release specifically because if you had not read the books, the theatre version would not make any sense as far as continuity or even plot for that matter. Well done, and btw the noticeable cut scenes were unavoidable and not in the least detracting from this, a true work of art.
S
1 reviews
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 02, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
10.0
April 2, 2009

Complied with love, this was loooong but very rewarding.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
23 results - showing 11 - 15
1 2 3 4 5