Chase Consecution

Updated
 
7.9 (12)
3749 0 1 0 2

User reviews

7 reviews with 7-9 stars
12 reviews
 
33%
 
58%
 
8%
3-5 stars
 
0%
1-3 stars
 
0%
Enjoyment
 
7.9(0)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Back to Listing
7 results - showing 1 - 5
1 2
Ordering
(Updated: September 24, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
7.0
January 10, 2010

It’s a mixed bag with Stuntman Mike and Fast Blood being the big stand outs, as noted above.
I enjoyed viewing this for the most part but LIttle Marathon Man didn’t do anything for me except for leaving me confused.
7/10
Z
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 24, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
7.0
October 10, 2009

*This rating was given before reviews were required*
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 24, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
8.0
October 6, 2009

Here’s my quick thoughts.

Fast Blood – This was a highlight for me. Besides, how did you know that I had been meaning to watching First Blood again, but didn’t feel like sitting through the whole thing? It takes a lot of skill to condense such a narrative into 18 minutes, but I enjoyed it a lot.

Phil vs Phil – I started out wondering why I was even watching this. Video quality wasn’t so great during high motion scenes, and I was reminded of how much I didn’t like these parts from Caddyshack. Then it switched to Groundhog’s Day, and I groaned wondering how this was going to be tied together. But actually, it was impressive, and I came out liking this quite a lot.

Stuntman Mike – Actually my first ever fan-edit was of Death Proof. It was never released because despite all my work, I never quite figured out how I wanted to present some aspects of the plot. I enjoyed it quite a lot, especially the removal of the multiple takes of the head-on car crash, and the tightening up of this whole section of the movie. Worked well, even though I (and possibly only I), miss the girls turning the tables on Stuntman Mike.

Little Marathon Man – I’ll admit. I never saw the original. I’ll also echo Uncanny Antman’s wondering why the car chase needed to be included. It was really confusing, and I would have preferred if a shorter edit was made, that was a little more clear cut in present the kidnapping, torture, and escape of this poor poor guy. Still, I liked parts of it, and it was certainly a good chase to present.

Two Minutes – Another standout, I liked what the original was doing, but was terribly dissapointed by many of the film maker’s decisions. Sadly I was dissapointed by this consensed edit having essentially the same ending as the orignal movie (which was one of the worst parts for me). Still great to watch though, and it’s not like I have a better idea for an ending. As a side-note, my girlfriend watched it with me and had never heard of the original. She liked it, but was confused when he was able to see his girlfriend on the news more than 2 minutes in the future, and when he eventually flashed all the way back. I suppose this was confusing in the original as well, but left her wondering what had happened. I suppose in fan edits we are often being blamed for inconsistancies in the original plots, since the audience assumed there must have been more explanation in the original.

THX 1138 – Not sure what to say. I never saw the original. While I thought somce parts were interesting, in the end I was mostly either confused or bored. But of course it is hard to judge an edit when you don’t know what it used to be like.

Don’t Mess with Leon – Lots of fun, even though there was a little too much reliance on text exposition, and it was the least chase-like of the bunch. Mostly it was confusing that what the text means by “his identity was discovered” and why this leads to such a dramatically aggressive attack from the police. Still, Leon doing his thing is always enjoyable.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 24, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
7.0
September 29, 2009

Thanks for bringing us another consecution! The DVD presentation was outstanding.

Stuntman Mike was entertaining, but I didn’t understand why the part with the police needed to be in there. That Mike survived could in some way have been explained by him proclaiming his car to be “Death Proof”. Didn’t feel really like a story, but was entertaining, and had a great ending. 6 / 10.

Little Marathon Man confused me. Sure it had a chase, but story? Coherency? It’s a freaky trip, that didn’t land to well with me. The final chase scene is a great one no doubt, but doesn’t save it. (and the middle part with the chase? Funny, but huh?) 5 / 10

Fast Blood. TMBTM tells the story of Rambo really effectivly in this short time. The ending made me smile, and brought this up all the way to 8 / 10.

Phil vs Phil. I really like the idea, and it gives us some much needed humour. It’s clearly a chase, so it fits on the DVD. I experienced some video issues with this one, sadly (I see this happened to others than me too). For that reason I’m rating this one 5 / 10, could have been higher.

THX 1138 was my favourite entry! It’s gotten quite bad ratings so far, but I thought it was really good. It tells a full story. It’s entertaining and a little scary. The ending is awe-inspiring. And it’s a chase from early on to the final minute. Went with 8 / 10, was a little too freaky for my top ratings :)

Two Minutes sure had chases, but I didn’t feel like we got a full story. There was a´sort of an ending, but what about the nuclear bomb? In all, this one didn’t get me interested. 5 / 10

Don’t Mess with Leon has awesome scenes, but I don’t think that there was any chase in this one. I didn’t like how the story was moved forward, or what the different scenes had to do with each other. I’m disappointed in this one. 3 / 10

Interesting takes on the “chase”, making for a fun collection. I’m rating the full DVD a 7, and I think everyone here should watch it.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 26, 2012)
Enjoyment
 
8.0
September 27, 2009

I don’t like to be negative if I can help it, but I think Chase is my least favorite Consecution so far. No offense intended to any of the editors involved, but what worth is there to a dishonest review?

The only two shorts I enjoyed properly were “Fast Blood” and “Two Minutes”. I liked portions of “Little Marathon Man” and “Phil vs Phil”, and enjoyed small parts of all the others, but was frequently taken out of the stories by my own confusion and indifference.

Random questions that popped into my mind during viewing: “Marathon...what’s with this seemingly unrelated car chase in the middle of the story?” (There’s a foot chase at the end, so the car sequence wasn’t needed, in my opinion.) “Does the Leon short even have a chase?” (I’m sure some will argue about semantics, but for me a firefight is not a chase.) “Why is Brian Dennehy such an asshole?” “Why can’t Phil tell the difference between a gopher and a groundhog?” (Okay, those last two didn’t bother me so much. :) )

Great menus and info pages. Lots of effort put into that, clearly. Kudos.

I still always enjoy each Consecution, and I hope they continue for a long time to come.
U
Top 50 Reviewer 69 reviews
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
7 results - showing 1 - 5
1 2