amazingspideruntold_front
Extended Edition November 27, 2020 9371
Overall rating

Audio/Video Quality

Audio Editing

Visual Editing

Narrative

Enjoyment

This is my first time writing a review about a fan-edit, so bear with me as I tackle the things I feel elevated The Untold Extended Edition when compared to the theatrical cut, and the things I feel could use some improvements/tweaking.

The majority of Masirimso17's additions to the narrative are excellent. The deleted scenes from The Amazing Spider-Man that were left on the cutting room floor in particular have been integrated with a lot of care and attention to detail. Those deleted scenes really give the movie the heart that I feel Marc Webb wanted for the theatrical cut. This is especially true for Dr. Connors who, through the addition of deleted scenes, becomes a character that is a lot more easy to empathize with (aside from the whole turning the citizens of Manhattan into lizard-people thing). That newfound empathy I had for the character made it all the more tragic when he gives in to his weaknesses and twists his dream into something truly monstrous.